VIP Industries : Luggage

To further understand the changes occurring in the industry - one could consult the Samsonite AR which is very detailed. India sales for Samsonite are fast growing at 23.2% over last year, again indicating a robust performance in terms of sales for the entire sector.

The other thing in terms of strategy that is mentioned in the AR is the focus on DTC biz of Samsonite, where the growth is the fastest. In terms of split - wholesale contributes to 77% of the net sales of Asia while retail contributes to only 23%. However, reaching out to customers directly seems to be a key focus area - as margins are higher but the effect will be fully seen only in the longer run as there are setup costs as well.

http://www4.samsonite.com/_investordocs/20190415141029_E_Annual%20Report%202018%20(Final%202019-04-15).pdf

Sourcing infrastructure that luggage players have is one the key determinants of their success along with how well they match demand and supply. Sourcing luggage from China on a high scale and matching it to demand through multiple channels and at multiple price points entails a substantial distribution cost which is typically in the range of 30-40% depending upon how efficient you are. For Samsonite its 31% and for VIP its 35-36%.

There are 6 bag manufacturing hubs in China Guangzhou, Yiwu, Baigou, Quanzhou, Pinghu and Cangnan. Each of these hubs specializes in the manufacture of a particular category of luggage and costs vary dramatically across these hubs. For e.g Guangzhou hub specializes in the manufacture of Leather and Artificial Leather bags. When it comes to high end leather bags it is the clear leader commanding enormous supplier power. Within Guangzhou there are these groups who manufacture specifically for a brand e.g

Quanzhou hub is the choice if you want laptop bags, sports bags etc. There are several powerful suppliers here as well - Twinkling Star for e.g

Sourcing multiple products from these hubs and these groups at a cost structure that makes sense is a source of competitive advantage.

Along with that you have to spend on communication which is another 5%. So, Gross margins while high are consumed by these expenses even for the most efficient sourcing cos.

Growth in the overall sector poses another challenge as customer acquisition costs have to be incurred whether you like it or not. So there is a lot of fronting of costs in an Industry like luggage which is witnessing a lot of growth.

Chinese are already selling their luggage here through various luggage cos , however the retail trade is still 1/4th and the industry is dominated by wholesale trade which work with only a few brands. So maybe if the split becomes more even one can see other brands selling more and encroaching on the competition. As of now, the oligopolistic nature of the business is driven by supply side dynamics and not demand side dynamics.

FY19Q4 Earnings Call Notes

• Quarterly revenue growth 20% split into volume growth of 25%. And because of change in product mix, there was 5% reduction in realization. Lower priced and lower margin products are selling more (Aristocrat & Bagpacks). Q4 sales highest in entry level products.
  • Have taken price hike across the portfolio (by June or July effectively will total to 8% hike), introduced new products with which hoping for better product mix, and negotiated contracts with Chinese vendors.
  • Higher Inventory: soft luggage inventory has shot up. Were more optimistic because of better H1. Taking corrective measures to bring it back under control. Margins compressed because of duty and rupee depreciation.
  • Higher Debtors: CSD contribution for higher debtors. Payment received in current financial year.
  • Operating Leverage not kicking in despite higher sales growth: higher sales incentive and hiring more senior level employees.
  • Feel company grew more or less in-line with the industry for Q4.
  • Higher cost finished inventory should get done by June quarter.
  • Expecting Aristocrat & Skybags to grow north of 20% in medium term.
  • Aristocrat is the only entry level brand that is being advertised.
  • Increasing WC is one-off, and it should come back to average WC (20% of sales).
  • Bangladesh:
    • Very important to grow B’desh as it reduces dependence on China
    • No import duty from B’desh. We buy raw materials for B’desh in dollars compared to buying finished goods from China.
    • Higher import duty + rupee depreciation impacted gross margins on purchases from China.
    • Targeting to double B’desh in current year FY.

Some pointers from me:

1. Please go through the Samsonite AR FY18 and look at the geographical distribution of revenues in Asia. Look at developed countries like Hong Kong and South Korea whose population is very low compared to India. This demonstrates the run-way we are going to have in this industry.

2. While comparing margins of VIP vs. Safari, it is also important to factor in A&P costs. In PAT margins, VIP stands at 8-9% and Safari at 4-5%. But VIP spends 6% of sales on A&P while Safari spends 2%. When the tide turns badly, VIP can reduce their A&P expenses to save their cashflows. But Safari doesn’t have that safety. However, during good times, Safari might give better returns assuming its margins will expand, which I believe is not easy as they are only into value segment + didn’t yet start producing their own luggage. They plan to start in next one or two years maybe, but to increase it to reasonable % like 40 or 50 will take a lot of time while VIP is already quite ahead.

Have read through the conference call transcripts and tried answering some interesting questions.

Why was Caprese not a big hit? What does management think about this brand? What actions are they taking to scale it up?

Caprese reached 100 crores sales in five years. Caprese brand break evens and has higher margins. However, management’s initial goal was to reach 500 crores or something of that sort. Currently the organized ladies handbag market is very small and management is finding it difficult to scale it up. Some steps they have taken is reduce the price of the bags from Rs 4000-5000 range to Rs 2000. Radhika has acknowledged that at this price point, she is seeing the growth “properly”. They have launched value segment bags in Caprese as well. Management is also trying to push Caprese even into Hypermarkets. They are not in hypermarkets as the company does not have a product at a price point which would be suitable for the hypermarket consumer and same for dealers. Probably, they are going to push the value segment of Caprese here. Currently they sell handbags only in Department Stores, Online and Company outlets and management thinks it is not sufficient.

Good thing is lots of employees who started with Caprese brand at VIP Industries are still working on the same, as per LinkedIn search. This brings some confidence that the employees believe in their work and see the potential. Another point worth mentioning is that Radhika herself mentions that she is not happy with Caprese’s performance and wants to be more aggressive and doesn’t wait for some analyst to press on the same.

What are management’s plans for the Bangladeshi plant?

Management says it is very tough to operate in a country like Bangladesh with poor infrastructure. The company couldn’t find appropriate land to setup its factory in top two cities Dhaka and Chittagong and hence settled with a relatively remote area.

Having said that, they still plan to double the capacity as they believe this is very margin accretive since we also benefit from the manufacturing value-add. For FY19, Bangladesh business’ PAT margins are 13.5%. The scope for this PAT margin number is much higher as in Q1 management said they had a lot of opex. I think another reason for such high margins are they have tax holiday for seven years. Even after doubling this capacity, the proportion of Bangladesh to VIP’s soft luggage sales will still be very low as the overall company is growing at 20%+ numbers.

What are the sales numbers for each of the brands / distribution?

Though management never gave proper breakup, they sometimes slip their tongue and gave some partial info. So I have come up with some “BALLPARK” distribution of sales :slight_smile:

VIP: 700 crores
Skybags: 500 crores
Alfa + Aristocrat: 400 crores
Caprese: >100 crores
Carlton: <100 crores

CSD: 400 crores
E-commerce: 200 crores
Modern Trade: 600 crores
General Trade: 600 crores

Why is Carlton Edge having good prospects against premium player Samsonite?

Carlton Edge’s lifetime warranty has no competitor. It is difficult for Samsonite to enter this segment because Samsonite is an international company with most of its sales in premium segment. If they introduce a product with lifetime warranty, they will have to introduce it across the whole globe and not just India which comes with more logistics / bureaucracy. Well, large companies have their own problems! However in terms of our investment, we can’t expect this to drive our returns too much as it is still a small part of the company.

How is the backpacks business?

Backpacks is growing super-fast. It forms around 20% of the company’s sales. Management believes this is a much under-penetrated market compared to the luggage market and hence sees higher growth in this segment compared to luggage. They also say ‘As many motorbikes in India, we should sell that many backpacks. There is a long way to go’

What is human procurement expense in other expenses section? It forms 2.5% of sales!

Human procurement expense is for the large number of store associates or in-store merchandisers. Services of them are outsourced.

Why is VIP brand stagnant? Any triggers to revive its growth?

VIP has become an old brand and the company is finding it difficult to change the perception of the brand among consumers. Ad with Hrithik Roshan was not successful. Moreover VIP was mostly selling in the general trade segment and CSD segment which again were kind of stagnant until GST. VIP started growing a bit (not much) after they started introducing it in the modern trade. But post GST, general trade segment for organised brands started growing as well and hence VIP brand’s growth is reviving. Hopefully, the new “Hello Holidays” campaign with Saif, Kareena and family will provide further growth.

VIP brand also had the traditional polypropylene suitcase segment which is declining fast. Though Polycarbonate hard luggage is replacing these sales, they are replacing across multiple brands and not VIP alone. Another reason why the growth rate of the VIP brand looks dampened.

Do we supply our bags from a single factory / company in China?

Chinese supply is not a contract-based business. It is more of a relationship-based business. The company is working with most of the suppliers for years. They have complete flexibility to change from one vendor to another and using that they maintain the competitive pressure. Company currently works with 15 suppliers out of which 7 players supply the most, as of 2016.

What needs to be tracked in the next few quarters?

Revenue growth is already prosperous with GST effect kicking off and rising air-traffic. However, margins are a huge concern. With the unorganized moving to organized, most of the business is going to happen at the value-end. So Aristocrat and Alfa will be driving the growth for the company in the coming years. Management has acknowledged that these brands have lower margins and their “top priority is to increase their margins in the value-end”. Previously management said they will bring Skybags margins in line with VIP and have done it. So this will be a key monitorable for FY20. If the ad on VIP brand with Saif, Kareena and family plays out well and VIP brand’s product grow a lot, that would be margin accretive too. Personally I believe their targeting was very good in the campaign.

Some other reasons management gave is rupee depreciation for poor margins in Q4FY19. However I expect this factor to normalize if you take few years of horizon. You can see that rupee is already coming back strong with respect to both USD and CNY.

Another reason is increase in customs duty from 10% to 15%. Don’t think we can do much about it.

Management also alerted on the consumption slowdown for Q1 which almost every other management is talking about now.

Disclosure: No holdings but Bullish from a long-term perspective. Might start buying. Not a buy / sell recommendation. Not a SEBI registered advisor.

Hi Rahul. Went through your ppt on investment journey. In case of VIP, gains due to PE expansion looks minimum and PAT margin growth also seems to be in range as per discussions above. So dependence will be purely on revenue growth? Is there any factor which I am missing?

Very good point. Agree that returns can be derived going forward only from revenue growth.

After discussing with lots of people during the baithak, I have realized I’m focusing too much on smallcap and midcap multi-baggers without first building a quality core balanced compounding portfolio.

In the quest for multibaggers, I felt there are lots of “closed” cards in the smallcap and midcap companies I’m currently invested. Closed cards can come with shocks.

Quality largecaps and midcaps (especially with resources for conf calls) have all the cards open and you can gain a lot of conviction.

So my next focus is on building a core portfolio first which can take upto an year and get back to hunting the smallcaps.

Onto VIP, I’m convinced that it will give you 20% CAGR on revenue front for couple of years (just need to check on consumption slowdown). Will buy 1% of portfolio in coming week. If margins of Q1 and Q2 are retained, I’ll load up as that will give some confidence to 20% Profit CAGR. Assuming no action on PE, I believe 20% compounding of a branded company and good management can fit into my core portfolio.

I might replace VIP with a better compounder as my circle of competence widens which is pretty narrow now.

IMO the biggest threat to VIP Industries is the Chinese Wage Inflation:

When I valued the company, I assumed that the company will be able to successfully migrate most of its production of Bangladesh (Which is what the company had indicated in the con-calls too). But it looks like there are teething problems with ramping up manufacturing in Bangladesh.

When several global companies are shifting production out of China in a hurry, it begs the question of what will happen to those who don’t. I obviously don’t have enough information to answer that question right away. But those who are interested / invested in this counter should attempt to come up with answers of their own.

Notes from VIP Annual report
AR 2019

Rate of growth on account of air travel has slowed down in the last few months, as compared to past few years due to operational shut down of some airlines. This has affected the demand led by air travel commuters.

Due to reduced gap between organized and unorganized players on account of GST implementation, the consumer upgradation from un-branded to branded luggage has been witnessed. The reasons for shifting to branded luggage is due to reduction in the price gap between branded and unbranded luggage and consumers are willing to spend a bit extra to carry a brand as well as get peace of mind with the warranty offered by the branded luggage.

Personalisation of luggage is mostly observed and every member of the family is keen on travelling with his/her own luggage instead of common luggage. Luggage need has also become occasion led. For instance the business travel luggage is generally different than the long holiday travel or the short weekend trips.

New luggage categories like Polycarbonate uprights and backpacks have registered very good growth whereas traditional categories like PP hard luggage suitcases continue to decline. This is happening across all geographies including the country’s heartland, which used to be the stronghold for traditional luggage. The shift is due to change in consumer preferences towards the convenience of light and wheeled travel products as compared to heavier luggage.

Introduction of Duffels at competitive price points led to a very strong growth in the duffel segment. Polycarbonate luggage and duffel/duffel trolleys were important growth drivers during the year.

Soft luggage uprights continue to be the major contributor for the sales growth along with backpacks. Daily usage mainly by students and bike commuting office-goers is increasing and thus leading to strong growth in Backpacks. Consumer preference for trendier backpacks which suit their persona has led to an increase in purchase frequency of backpacks.

Channels

E-commerce channel witnessed a very significant growth.

The Hypermarket channel continues to witness the strongest growth amongst channels suggesting that Indian consumers are showing preference towards affordable luggage and convenience of modern shopping formats which are clean and air conditioned.

Brands :

Aristocrat, the value brand of the Company, saw an extremely good year and was the fastest growing brand for the Company. Awareness levels for Aristocrat were at all-time high due to advertisement of the brand with leading cricketers Rohit Sharma and R Ashwin. With the consumer shift happening from un-branded to affordable branded luggage, it was right time to build salience of Aristocrat in consumer’s mind. This initiative has paid rich dividends as the brand was one of the fastest growing brands for the Company. In future too, we see big potential in capturing the value segment through Aristocrat.

Carlton Edge was launched with lifetime warranty including airline damage in the first quarter of FY 2018-19. This launch was supported by an advertising and outdoor campaign. There is a dedicated helpline for Carlton Edge consumers. A strong backend network is created to support the Carlton Edge launch. Specialised training programs for sales staff to improve personalized selling of Carlton Edge paid rich dividends. Carlton brand is for the new-age business traveler.

Caprese, the ladies handbags brand, has registered extremely good growth. Robust advertising campaigns, along with differentiated and relevantly priced products tailored for each distribution channel have fueled the growth during the year.

To bring focus back in the premium handbags from Caprese, this year saw the launch of exclusive Alia X Caprese line which was launched with a fashion show wherein Alia walked the ramp for its launch. These products were carefully selected by Alia herself.

Continued association with Lakme Fashion Week (5th season of association) has helped the brand to be at the forefront of its high fashion values.

OUTLOOK

The weakening of INR against USD continues to put pressure on margins and profitability. The Company is taking measures to mitigate these challenges by way of cost optimization and increase in consumer price. The overall macroeconomic slowdown and the reduction in aviation supply is resulting in some slowdown in demand for luggage, which we believe is short term.

The Indian rupee has weakened against the US Dollar over the last few months, which is expected to continue to create pressure on sourcing costs for handbags and soft luggage including uprights, duffels and backpacks. Soft luggage contributes around 70% of luggage sales of the Company.

The strength of the Company’s brands and its dominant market share in the Indian luggage industry will help the Company to take price increases to offset increase in input costs. The Company’s ability to negotiate with suppliers will also help the Company during cost pressure. Capacity enhancement at Bangladesh plant will also help in mitigating the price increase in China.

Disclosure: Not invested

Some of us are wondering what is happening to the stock price.

Recent correction is a classic example of how investors behave in a stock with high growth expectation and likely miss in growth in coming quarters.

So what should one do now?

My sense is that one should focus on trailing earnings (which may be becoming more reasonable after correction) and fathom if growth longevity remains despite near term miss and what is the potential 5th and 10th year profitability of the company to arrive at ballpark target multiple for the stock.

Guess, there is another learning here- companies with potential high growth can miss near-term growth forecasts. One can patiently wait to lap up on such companies during dissapointment rather than play the momentum game.

Still am unsure what to do in this stock now. Any help?

CEO - Sudip Ghose lecture at MICA, giving an in depth overview about the way organization work and the culture at VIP.

Hi @smallcapindias

VIP is definitely the premier co in luggage with clear market leadership. Barring the main risks - exchange rate and input costs , the co will do just fine business-wise.

If you have bought the stock at high levels and can drum up the courage to average down - that would be a safe bet with these kind of quality cos as the stock price has a tendency to bounce back offering you a second chance.

High Quality companies + High Valuation = There are plenty of options

Low Quality companies + Low Valuation = There are again plenty of options

High Quality + Reasonable Valuation = Hunting ground for Investors and VIP is not cheap still …

My questioning thoughts on VIP:

Urbanization,increase in discretionary spend,migration from railways to aeroplanes, blah blah blah…Agreed, market potential is there.
Yet that is available to chew for many competitors!

Face it, the trends are visible:
this product is turning into a commodity. (there is no propriety manufacturing process)
the fearless competitive players are making this business a low margin volume fight game
new brands are beginning to chew into the pie - Mi, AmazonBasics, NatGeo and the likes
smart luggage/eco friendly - could be the upcoming new wave(s) & VIP might lose out on them

The big question I think to re-question collectively is : What is the moat of VIP?
Market leadership should not be the moat.

Distribution is one of the important moats VIP has… others being brand and scale.

Organized luggage industry in India is not very big as of now and its still in its infancy. Since its a fixed cost business operating leverage will remind you that it cuts both ways during periods of lackluster growth. However, VIP has done quite well maintaining its brand and market leadership. Whether the cos mentioned above will eat into its share or have already done so only upcoming results will confirm but the low market size combined with operating leverage makes the luggage industry difficult for new players to operate profitably.

In my opinion, the fall across the luggage sector is a plain simple case of prices exceeding the fundamentals and receding back to saner levels.

Edit

Results indicate a normal yoy growth 9-10% more in line with its historic growth rate. There is an exceptional loss item worth 45cr regarding a warehouse fire which they have provisioned for.

I attended VIP AGM on July 30, I was the only one who asked any questions. Most of the questions were answered by D G Piramal in very generic way. AGM was over in 20-25 mins.

DGP Speech

• FY19 was the best year of the company & company achieved highest ever MCap & became $1bn company for a short period. The MCap since has come down.
  • The maximum growth was achieved in Aristocrat brand
  • We want to consolidate our position in domestic market & start focusing on export markets from next year.

Questions

• What is the long term growth guidance & what are the drivers for this growth at industry level (megatrends) & what are we doing as a company to capitalize on them?
  • Sales distribution across east/west/north/south or city wise etc. & what are the markets where our market share is less the overall average & steps to address that?
  • Did we miss a trick in the Cricket World Cup in ads? American Tourister did campaign with Virat Kohli? Also we see a lot of premium stores at airports (Mumbai T2, Hyderabad) from Samsonite. Are those spaces part of your strategy to have premium stores?
  • One of the trends mentioned for growth is airline travel. But airline travel has been growing for many years & we have been growing at 10% except for FY19. Why was that & what has changed?
  • Are you looking to launch any special package for weddings like Titan did with jewelry?
  • Do you as a company understand digital? When a customer visits your website or eComm website & then visits your store, do you have data on him (Credit Bureau, Social Media etc.) to right sell ot upsell?
  • As exports is one of the focus areas of the company, can you talk about R&D program? Can you talk about some elements like - lighter material, fold-able material, newer designs, digital locks etc.?

DGP Answers

The company was started in 1971 & the company management was very good till 1992-93. After liberalization, a lot of talented people left the company & joined other big organizations. This continued till 2002. From then on management started getting better & he feels - currently the management is the best.

We break down the markets into 1000 clusters, there are 200 clusters in the Mumbai.

Today we have so many products that a 1000 sqft. shop (which is pretty decent size) can only keep 8-9% of our range.

Samsonite is present in 130 countries & they are market leaders in most major markets they are present in except India. They are present in India for 20 years & still VIP is the market leader with 50% market share for all these 20 years.

The government is very reactive & they reduced GST on bags from 28% to 18%.

We do below the line, area specific, marketing + products for weddings. In Eastern sector of the country, there has to be VIP bags in every wedding. Such is the strength of the VIP brand in this economically backward area. VIP brand sells more than Aristocrat in this area.

Yes, we are average in digital strategy & a lot of improvements can be done. Skybags & Caprese has good digital strategy, other brands need work.

With regards to R&D, we opened our first tool room in 1978 which was the first of its kind in India. Later, a lot of manufacturing moved to China but we are bringing it back via Bangladesh.

Sudip Ghosh

In an offline discussion, Sudip Ghosh said - there is very large unorganized bags market in India & that will remain strong growth driver. He said there are 130Cr Indians & if one assume some 100-500-1000 as ticket size on average, the opportunity size is pretty large. On any good year in terms macro etc., we should clock 25% growth. FY20 is an exception.

On excellent Q1 margins, he said we want to under promise & over deliver.

Disc - I have small tracking position. This is not a buy/sell recommendation. Please do your own due diligence. I am not a SEBI registered analyst.

The above sentence from management is the MOAT u r looking.
Also VIP is house hold name. Common people say lets go buy a VIP suitcase.

Is it just me, or is the management’s attitude towards minority shareholders a bit condescending?

I have noticed several instances during conference calls, their attitude towards share buy back, the exhorbitant relocation cost of moving Radhika to London, the nature in which the AGM seems to have happened. It is just a gut feeling, but I’d like some other perspectives too please?

I think the company has lost its mojo/brand as it used to have earlier.
On top of it, exhorbitant 58 PE(as of today) against a median PE of 32 does not make any room for consideration in my opinion.
Contingent liabilities, promoters indifference(relocation to London with a funda that this will increase overseas presence),dependence on raw material from China,influx of too many branded(AT,Safari,Nasher Miles,Amazon Basics,Delsey,Mi) and local players are some of the reasons I feel prevent it from becoming a consistent compounder with a headway for growth.
The quality too has deteoriated with time. I ordered one recently but returned back due to quality issues.Settled for an AT at Rs 600 extra, the quality of AT was much better.

Disc: Had a minor position but exited recently based on above analysis(gut feel),so my views may be biased.

Q3FY20 Earnings Call Highlights:

Participants:

• Valuequest
  • Spark Capital
  • Prabhudas Lilladher
  • BNP Paribas
  • AUM Advisors
  • GC Investment
  • Lucky Investment
  • Unifi Capital
  • AMSEC
  • Sunidhi Securities
  • Edelweiss

Business Overview:

• Revenue for the quarter at Rs 432 crore vs Rs 430 crore YoY
  • PAT at Rs 34.2 crore vs Rs 23.8 crore YoY

ConCall highlights:

• VIP Industries (VIP) has lost market share but margin has gone up by 500 bps over the same quarter last year
  • EBITDA margin has increased from 9.4% to 16.1% over the last quarter
  • Profitability of Bangladesh operation has improved significantly. Bangladesh unit will make competitive product at good margin
  • VIP lost market share as the company didn’t participate in few specific large order where margin is very low; secondly the company has implemented new software system in Q3 which impacted the overall operation and thirdly VIP’s growth is much lower in e-commerce segment than its competitors
  • Employee cost has gone up as own manufacturing has increased substantially
  • Coronavirus outbreak in China has impacted the overall supply chain of the luggage industry, but VIP is better placed as own manufacturing contributes 50% of overall sales
  • VIP has enough inventory which can cater till April end
  • Volume growth is little bit higher than value growth; value growth was flat
  • VIP has recently launched luggage bag for woman under “Caprese” brand
  • Carlton and Aristocrat (low base) is growing faster than VIP and Skybags (high base)
  • In luggage category around 12% revenue comes from e-commerce channel and for backs it is around 30%
  • Large part of ladies handbag sales has been shifted towards e-commerce channel; earlier it used to be sold through departmental stores followed by general trade
  • VIP imports product from west of Shanghai, China
  • Share of hard luggage in overall luggage industry is increasing