Kotak Mahindra Bank - Low Cost Liability Banking Franchise

additionally - kotak bank pat has been increased from 7,200cr to 18,200cr in last 5 year (thats 20% cagr growth) and EPS 37.5 to 91.6 in 5 year.
P/E has been crashed to 40 to 18.9 in last 5 year
similarly, P/B has been also crashed from 5.1 to 2.7 times in 5 year
and Book Value has been increased from 264 to 654.

For me, in Bluechip companies we should only focus on valuations. Its better to not go in-deapt analysis specially for bluechip companies because management is far more experienced then us. and they have more skin in the game then us.

As per my analysis, Banks are going to see 13-15% credit growth in coming 3 years, and i believe kotak bank can give 16% cagr growth from here.
FY24A PAT - 18,200cr
FY27F PAT - 28,400cr roughly.
Current Mcap - 3,53,000 cr
Current P/E - 19
FY27 Forward P/E - 12.43

disc - invested

Unlike other major banks, Kotak Mahindra Bank has unlisted major subsidiaries. Ideally kmb should get better p/b value compared to all other big banks.

I liked this statement. I have seen that, when large cap / blue chips with long history of proven management capabilities trade at discount to their long term P/E or P/B, generally the valuations revert to the mean over a period of 3-5 years. It takes some time and tests investor patience, but eventually it happens.

Many investors (including me) spend lot of time in finding negatives about such large cap stocks and often hesitate to invest or invest 50% or 60% of full amounts, often to find ourselves wrong after 3 to 5 years.

We can check this ourself by looking at stock price charts of ITC, BAJAJ AUTO, COAL INDIA in the recent past 5 years.

Having said this, it is also necessary to book profits after those 3-5 years, once the undervaluation is converted to overvaluation.

I may be wrong in my analysis.

Disclosure : Invested in Kotak Bank.

yes, Look at Bank Nifty EPS growth, it grows from 450 to 3450 in last 5 years (it’s 50% cagr) growth.
but bank nifty has 28,000 to 50,000 (not even 2x).

5 years ago was a depressed base as PSUs and Some private banks were dealing with very high NPAs. Some showing losses or negligible profits.

yes but now, pvt banks has lowest npa in decade and improved asset quality.

Yes. My point was to look at Bank Nifty EPS growth in last 5 years as 50% CAGR can be wrong. This CAGR is optical illusion due to suppressed nature of profits.

NPA provisions continue to rise sequentially in Q2 amid seasonal weakness - The Economic Times - NPA provisions continue to rise sequentially in Q2 amid seasonal weakness - The Economic Times

If we trust Kotak management for long term performance and ethics, then below table is very compelling and is self explanatory.

Across time horizons, stable return ratios, consistent growth and consistent PE / PB derating… Will it mean revert? If not, Why?

Disc: Holding and adding.

Will valuations mean revert, my expectation is, most probably it will not.
Will the stock generate returns for shareholders from here, probably yes.

I feel valuations will not mean revert because if we compare valuations of the top 4 private banks, HDFC and Kotak enjoyed high valuations as compared to ICICI and Axis. The reason for that is HDFC and Kotak were consistent in growth, profitability and NPAs, while ICICI and Axis had their own issues. Now, all 4 private banks are almost on par. Hence HDFC and Kotak will not enjoy the valuation premium going forward, so no mean reversion.

Having said that, if our economy continues to do well, all 4 banks will participate, and if they are able to grow their earnings, then the share price will follow the earnings growth.

ICICI trades at 4 P/B, and they still have ethical issues such as ICICI securities fiasco (against minority shareholder)

The same goes for Axis recently, they had Axis capital issue, their ROE is no where near to be consistent as those two (HDFC & Kotak) , ICICI has been consistent just for three years which is when even PSB’s themselves performed well, when the cycle turns, which it will, then only we can state that they are on par with these two or not, until then

Sharing interview of Mr. Ashok Vaswani.

A bit disappointing for me. He didn’t give any specific milestones or timelines in the interview. Looks like there is no concrete update on RBI embargo as well.

Just a grand vision of being in top 3 by 2030 and the same jargon of customer centricity, etc! Have a look. Disagreements welcome!

True, I figured the reason might be cuz of regulatory reasons. Cannot make any forward looking statements, especially around the RBI embargo, as ultimately RBI gets to decide this, and you can’t make any predictions or promises there.

Few Stats:

America Banking penetration: Stands at 92% as of 2022
India Banking penetration expected to reach 50% by 2025

Median P/B of American banks 1.5 to 2
Current KMB P/B ratio: 2.7 (Historical median 4.1)

Banking is a boring business as it should be, the only surprise we get will be on the negative side. Doing the same old boring things day in and day out is what matters here, being conservative is synonym with past KMB

Now the investors has to ask few question to themselves in this counter, Is there a runway for growth ?
Can we trust the competence of the management (ROE Track record)

As to RBI Ban concerns, it is highly unlikely the management will be complacent especially after the PayTM crackdown.

Of all the banking institutions out there, KMB has more intrinsic value compared others due to having various successful subsidiaries, that currently hold enterprise discount.

What should the investors’ expectation be, can the bank grow beyond 15% cagr for next 10 years, the answer seems to be likely yes

is this better than other investment asset class, gold, real estate, silver, equity , debt, etc., , answer seems to again likely yes

Even at this level, even if the P/B derates the investors should still obtain 15-20%cagr over the years to come possibly decades to come.

And that should be enough for most people, having a drawdown or consolidating for 5 years is frustrating for the investors, after all we all are human beings, however, such is the nature of the market, all we can do is asses is there is major structural risk is there to this investment if not, you should hold on to it and pass it on to the next generation.

In my opinion, if that’s worth anything, we are having a bargain here that;s all I can say, just accumulate as much as you want and hold on to it , I think it’s undervalued not because of the historical PB multiple, rather it’s because of the management of the company and it’s runway of growth.
And one should actually talk to your friends and family who work in PSBs now and what’s the current situation at the branch level (regarding growth and NPA). If not now, in the next 2 or 3 quarters when the NPA cycle turns, one should be seeing and start reaping the benefit of staying patient at this counter. (Unpaid Credit card loans are at 1.8 lakh crore as of this moment, how much do you think will other bank’s share vs KMB ? ) also KMB is in/direct play on affluent India

(PS: ITC cagr is 18% over 30 years, yet it consolidated for 8 years, at least it had its own inherent risk such as the cigarette ban)

Boring is good in finance industry, patience and temperament will be rewarded

Why did KMB go for an outsider CEO ?

I have been reviewing the latest presentations and annual reports, with a particular focus on the investment banking and wealth management sectors. There is currently a significant emphasis on wealth management, especially in the alternative banking space. Kotak’s annual report indicates that they manage the wealth of India’s top 51 families. Over the past decade, we’ve seen a marked increase in the number of Indians joining the millionaire and billionaire ranks, as reflected in income tax records. Given this trend, don’t you think Kotak stands to benefit significantly? With the guidance provided by Nuvama, could this bank experience a positive revaluation of its stock, or is that potential already factored into the current price? ( I havent done a SOTP analysis yet)

Moreover, brokers, asset management companies, and wealth managers have recently performed well, prompting the question of whether these factors are already reflected in share prices. I believe these elements could drive long-term growth for the stock. We are also witnessing an increase in family offices established by wealthy individuals, such as cricketers and film stars, who are actively participating in preferential offerings, startup investments, and IPOs. This trend suggests that family office activity is likely to grow significantly moving forward.

On a related note, my work and client connections have allowed me to meet several individuals on the Forbes rich list, all of whom are clients of Kotak.

Because RBI rejected whatever internal names that kotak gave to RBI for CEO position

PPFAS flexicap changes for September 2024
Added more Kotak Mahindra bank, Holding up from 2.50% to 2.96%

great stats, any info about MCLR mix in KMB?

In today’s paper " We believe PSBs will be better capable of maintaining their margins, aided by their higher mix of MCLR rate books. We believe that unsecured loans will continue to see deterioration in the second quarter,” Motilal Oswal said."