Where to start looking for stocks?

I am new to Investing, just a year older. My journey has been good mainly due to bull market we have here, so i wont take any credit.
I want to ask knowledged persons here that from where to start looking for new stocks away from the market speculation and noise?

3 Likes

You can look at http://www.screener.in/ which is a good screening tool.

You may find the following thread useful in getting familiar with it.

You can also look at http://investr.co.in which help you narrow down to a smaller list of companies that you can focus on.

More details can be found at:

As mentioned by @mpbhat, screener.in is an outstanding tool to look for stocks and I would argue the only one you will ever need.

Chirag

Happened to saw your website today, let me congratulate for your hard work.

Two queries I have, perhaps you would have replied them before. In case let me know I will go and dig.

1. Can we build customise query on your website?
  2. Have you put only fundamental screeners or technical screeners or both?

What I am looking at is this:

Accelerated revenue, EPS growth. For last 5 quarters wise at one place.

Second same data above basis sector wise or industry wise?

Third the price momentum on each stocks as above. Say 1 Month, 3 Month etc.

Can it be done? a line or two will be appreciated.

Dear sir

Have a look at the stencil I have designed mainly taking data from Screener.in . It is an access database linked with many external excel files … for EOD, 52W high Low etc

It gives :
Quarterly Results … YoY growth of Topline PAT … % Margins etc
Annual Results … YoY growth of Topline PAT … % Margins etc
Price Momentum and Corresponding PEs
Adding few parameters whenever I have time … such as Annual High and Low PE

I am willing to share the stencil to anyone who can make use of this…

10 Likes

Brilliant stuff