Advanced Enzyme Technologies Ltd - The Enzyme company

Conference call highlights

 Management maintains its topline target of 2x in the next 4-5 years, driven by greater adoption of probiotics and biocatalysts, deeper penetration of enzymes in the baking industry and recovery in Animal HC going ahead, along with incremental opportunities.

 Management continues to see strong traction in Human healthcare, mainly under biocatalysts and probiotics. On the other hand, animal nutrition and industrial processing shall remain under pressure due to Covid-19 uncertainty. B2C sales in US touched USD5.27mn in FY21.

 Large part of decline in Animal Nutrition (Rs475mn in FY21 vs. Rs536mn in FY20) was registered in the domestic market (Rs300mn vs. Rs370mn in FY20).

 Gross margin contraction was on account of a substantial hike in input prices (commodities such as soy flour and corn), while opex and other expenses have marginally increased due to the consolidation of SciTech Specialties. If the hike in RM costs turns out to be permanent rather than transient, the company will pass on the costs to customers.

 EVOXX revenue for FY21 stood at Rs282mn vs. Rs264mn in FY20, while EBITDA stood at Rs62mn vs. Rs58mn last year. JC Biotech sales came in at Rs504mn in FY21 vs. Rs474mn last year. EBITDA stood at Rs149mn vs. Rs119mn in FY20. Top product contributed Rs1.34bn in FY21 vs. Rs1.035bn in FY20.

 Increasing stake in JC Biotech was primarily driven by an efficient capital allocation decision and no other particular reason. For JC, management plans to reduce single product dependency and have multiple products in next few quarters.

 Recently acquired SSPL sales in Q4 stood at Rs79mn with EBITDA of Rs29mn. FY21 sales came in at Rs379mn vs. Rs306mn last year, while EBITDA was at Rs93mn vs. Rs66mn in FY20.

 R&D expenses for FY21 stood Rs179mn vs. Rs144mn in FY20.

Some of the old promoters of the company are reducing there stake in the company. Now they dont want to be identified as promoters. Why are some of the original promoters of the company are leaving?

Here are some facts ascertained by pure googling…will be happy to be corrected. The two Rathi brothers apparently had some disagreement (and that is not for the first time that two brothers have split the business in India ;)).

C L Rathi the front of Advanced Enzyme Tech, suddenly disappeared from the scene with his Son and possibly with the largest US based client and a lot of other clients as well to form a direct competing firm called “Advanced Vital Enzyme Technologies Pvt ltd” !! The Abbreviation used is Advenza.

Take a look for yourself at Advenza - Advanced Vital Enzymes

Some marque client names ( US & India) figure on their list and they have an R&D centre in Thane.

So the above explains a lot about stagnation in some areas and loss of customers as well…with time the Palm Oil Enzyme may pop up there as well !

Hope this is of help to anyone tracking this one.

Discl: Not Invested…Just curious for now

Clinical Trails update… Stock is up by 10%

PRESS RELEASE (bseindia.com)

Advanced Enzyme Technologies Limited, India has entered into a Mutually Exclusive
Distribution Agreement with Azelis Singapore Pte. Ltd. for the distribution of food enzymes
and probiotics for the food & dietary supplement industry in Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines,
Singapore, Thailand & Vietnam.

@nimeshr

Just adding to your point …
Advanced Vital Enzymes Private Limited has been decreasing there stock for quite some time now …

Nalanada securities buy from mkt purchase 708000 quantity at rate of 289.
SOURCE BSE BULK DEAL.

Nalanda India Equity Fund buys 2.68% stake in Advanced Enzyme Technologies via open market.

Setting up of a research and development (R&D) facility at an estimated cost of Rs 70-80 crore is expected to be funded entirely through internal accruals and liquid surplus over the next three fiscals. Hence, the company is expected to sustain its net debt-free balance sheet and healthy credit metrics over the medium term

Rating Rationale (crisil.com)

Anybody still tracking?
Any recent development?

Hi Parth ji, from what I understand basis numbers and mgmt. commentary up to Q3’22 results, they have been facing a lot of headwinds in growing sales as well as maintaining margins (EBITDA) to the 40%+ levels committed by them.

Their sales have grown in mid to high single digits since 2020 and that too has been largely driven by an acquisition (SSPL) they made in 2021.

Operating margins have dropped from ~46% in (2020 and 2021) to 28% (9M FY 23).

Reasons given by mgmt:-

On weak sales growth

• High competition faced in US market for nutraceutical enzyme they sell there (end product slowdown leading to higher RM inventory with suppliers in turn leading to price cuts)
  • Their probiotic based enzymes which showed good numbers initially are not doing as well now.
  • Their B2C products (like one for mitigating Covid fatigue) initially did well in US, but are slowing down now.
  • Even SSPL business (tablet effervescents) is now slowing down now as demand for paracetamol, Vit C tablets tapers.

On margin compression

• Increased competition in US market leading to margin pressure.
  • In 2021 & large part of 2022 RM, fuel, logistics cost were high (now stabilizing a bit)
  • Large manpower costs, at times write-offs related to their subsidiaries.
  • R&D continues to be a key focus area capital allocation wise.

Overall, my personal opinion is that it is kind of a positive that the company is attempting multiple things to one again trigger growth - R&D efforts to find/customize more molecules; pursuing product registrations in different geographies (esp Europe); attempt to build a B2C brand and so on. So it is kind of firing multiple bullets kind of thing, few of which might work in future. But yeah, hard to foresee which ones.

Disc: Not invested.

Thank you Ashish. Appreciate your views.
We will be at 40%+ margins narrative is going since couple of quarters now.
Results on 13th. Let’s see.

The anemic sales growth seems to be driven from the fact that the brothers split up around that time and one of the brothers set up a new company possibly also taking away a few customers along with him

Yes you’re right, that does seem to be a significant factor (though mgmt. has denied the outgoing brother’s company being a direct competitor, but losing their biggest customer roughly at the same time as his exit does raise suspicions).

To some extent it does show their resilience that they were able to grow back sales after having a sudden ~20% revenue hit due to exit of their biggest US customer (from FY 20 onwards).

But beyond that there hasn’t been much growth in US post that (whatever little is there, can mostly be attributed to favourable exchange rate). What has been sustaining numbers is top product (Serratiopeptidase) continuing to do well domestically (9MFY23 data showed robust growth over previous year).

Other than that, to me it seems a case of wait and watch.

Q4FY23:
• The growth in the numbers is essentially driven by animal nutrition and bio-processing segment. Pharma API in domestic markets and nutrition in international markets primarily supported the numbers in human nutrition
• There is softness in the probiotics business and demand remains subdued in the domestic as well as in the international markets.

• Animal nutrition (15% of sales): This segment has significantly and continuously improved during consecutive quarters. It grew by 36% on year-on-year basis and 17% on a sequential basis and 27% during financial year '23.

• US Business and Ebitda margins: Lower international sales, in particular in the U.S. market, affected overall margin during FY '23. US business in terms of dollars is down by 15%. (9% in rupee terms).

Margins will come back once the US business starts growing or at least comes back on par. What is happening right now is that all the fixed expenses are on the same side. And when there is the de-growth of 15% kind of remaining US because of the inflation, that just impacts on the margins.

US business recessionary trend will continue for another one or two quarters. And then there should be improvement.
Reasons for improvement – Have launched few products in the last quarter, in the last year and now are in the mode of doing some long-term agreements, but it will take another one or two quarters to really convert.

• MISC NOS.:
o B2C segment, the revenue for FY '23 to FY '22 has gone down from ₹412 million to ₹383 million.
o Top 10 customers contributed about 24% of sales as compared to 28% during the corresponding financial year FY '22.
o Top product contributed about 24% of sales.
o Pharma contributed 27% of sales as compared to 23% in FY '22
o R&D expenditure - 6% in FY '23 as compared to 5% during FY '22.
Going forward, the numbers are going to be more or less same. Probably, we might spend 1% extra. We are developing our new R&D centres, right, as we mentioned last two, three times. So that is still under progress. Probably, the new building will be finished by next year, maybe April May of next year, so yes. But the number will remain the same range in that time.

• ON BECOMING ALTERNATIVE SUPPLIER TO NOVOZYMES: Whatever is happening in Ukraine or other areas, people are looking for other alternatives. There is only one supplier in the global area for most of the products like Novozymes and people were happy in the earlier stage. Now, Novozymes has suddenly increased their prices 10%, 20% in some of the products. Because the energy cost in Europe has gone up. And this has pushed people to look for other alternatives, the sustainability. And we see a lot of traction which is coming out during the last quarter as well as this quarter is some of the people started looking for the alternative supplier. And they want to go with the second supplier as well and this is where We feature and this is where we can grab some of the market share Novozymes, the area where we are competing in.

• 15% sales Growth guidance for FY23-24. Primarily in the second half of the year.

• WELLFA (B2C Brand) launched in India
• India sales growing: So Indian geography, we had grown by 14% on a year-on-year basis, roughly. And all of the segments have contributed. Yes, I think all our segments have contributed. The major contribution is coming from the human side as well as food business and bio-processing business areas.

• Two new products launched: Launched two new products, which are expected to get executed in the second half of this year. Segments are in in sugar management and weight loss area. And these two products, sugar management, weight loss products – we see a lot of traction in this market. We are getting some long-term orders also and we see these new launch products should take us back on to the track that we want.

• US Sales guidance U.S. market should be 9% to 10% of the growth this year’s number with last year’s number.

• FIXED COST VS VARIABLE COST: So I think one question that was regarding our fixed expenses and variable expenses, which we grow, say, for 15%, then how our expenses are going to go up? So I mean, the fixed expenses are generally about 45% to 50% and variables are between 50% to 55%. So as we grow our top line, the variable expenses could be in that same kind of increase in expenses. But yes, the fixed expenses will not at all grow.

• AMERICA VS EUROPE DIFFERENCE: America is like more focused on the nutraceutical area and it’s more on the human Nutrition area. While in Europe, we don’t sell much in the human nutraceutical area. Our major sales are coming from the food area. And as I mentioned, about the gas prices and other things and the cost impact that these people are facing and that is where they started looking for other alternatives. And that is where growth started coming in.

• So are we looking at selling food-related products in the American market? Or are we going to stick to the same product profile that we currently have? Mukund Kabra: We started working on it. We started building the team in the U.S. market at this point of time. But it will take some more time.

US nutrition revenues declined 9% (15%CC)

Yet company posted some growth in overall revenues for the full fy.

That is actually very commendable as their animal health segment and india business grew very well.

Or else results would have been like gland pharma , sequent scientific etc…

So we (I certainly) are not giving them enough credit to atleast pull in flat nos, inspite of big decline in their main market.

Also the management has began to deliver on previous promises like growth in animal health segment and pharma segment.

When US business normalizes (reversion to mean should happen as downcycle has been going for more than a year now), then advenz will have all its engines firing.

Plus they’re generating big free cash flows even down years ( a testament to the fundamental strength of the business)

So, long term outlook is still intact.

Disc - Invested and biased

@pranavpallod12

Past: There has been anemic revenue growth over the last 4-5 years

Present: Current year has been flat.

Future: If I look at cash flow, I hardly see any investment in gross block apart from maintenance capex. Company in fact purchased 250 cr worth of financial investments with the cash it generated. To me it is a sign that management is not able to find enough avenues to productively utilize the CFO in growing the business. I would rather get the money back as dividend and take the investment decisions myself.

Post the above, if the management is promising growth, I will take it with a pinch of salt.

There are enough signs which to me do not justify a 29 times P/E multiple. Such multiples are to high growth companies operating in high TAM areas.

I would therefore stay away from the stock.

• Human Nutrition: 67% of the revenue. Grew by 23% during the quarter.
  • Animal Nutrition: 11% of the revenue. Grew by 1% on YOY and de-grew by 23% on QOQ basis.
  • Industrial Bio-Processing: 15% of revenue. Grew by 17% QOQ and 23% YOY. Food business grew by 26% YOY and Non-food business 6% YOY.
  • Specialized manufacturing: 7% of revenue which grew by 50% YOY.
  • Geographical areas including Europe & Asia (Ex-India) saw a slight de-growth.
  • Building a new R&D center in Nasik, expected to be completed by December.
  • Cash reserves will be used for potential acquisitions and dividends.
  • Freight expenses and raw material prices have stabilized, with no significant impact expected in the future.
  • Expects growth in the probiotics segment, but it is not factored into the current projections.
  • The management expects growth in Q2 FY24 to remain flat and it will improve from Q3 FY24 onwards.