Websol energy system ltd

Websol Energy Systems Ltd

The company is one of the leading players in the solar photovoltaic cells and modules manufacturing segment. The Company enjoys a prominent presence in this sector due to its vast experience of two-and-a half decades. The Company commenced its business as a fully export oriented unit, mainly serving Europe (specially Germany and Italy) and US. The Company manufactured quality products for exports and its panels have been successfully functioning for the last 26 years.

Business analysis

The company enjoys protection from Cheap Chinese goods and tariff was imposed to protect it.

Fy21

“The government announced an increase in customs tariff that becomes effective from April 2022. We believe that this will make it possible for much of the country’s long-term appetite for cells, panels and modules to be serviced from within, a validation of the country’s Atmanirbhar Bharat (Self-Reliant India) commitment.

The result is that what was a pricing differential between the landed cost of Chinese solar products and our price of 25% a few years ago is likely to decline considerably by FY2021-22.”

The question needs to be asked is why tariff protection is needed for it to sell its goods if the company enjoys any competitive advantage.

The company enjoys certifications from its customers and due to a long time in the industry it has been able to create relationships

FY21

:”The Company’s product certifications and strong relationships lead to sustainable offtake. The Company is ranked as one of the largest and most competitive solar photovoltaic manufacturers in India with the cost of production being among the lowest across all Indian PV manufacturers. “

The company faces poor demand scenario time and again as we see in various places of its AR

Fy20

“WHAT WAS A 25% PRICING DIFFERENTIAL BETWEEN THE LANDED COST OF CHINESE SOLAR PRODUCTS AND OUR PRICE IS LIKELY TO DECLINE TO NIL DURING FY 2020‑21

During the year under review, your Company could not utilise its full capacity because of overall industry scenario and lack of demand. Also there was huge pressure from China on pricing end. After implementation of Safeguard Duty and other positive measures taken by the GOI we expect that your company will perform in FY 2020-21. We are hopeful that support from GOI will be continuing to green energy”

Further it is reliant on Government support for selling its products.

We see similar problems in FY 19 as well where it faced both volume and price pressure. The company faced high raw material cost of 84% as evident from screener. Also there was Exchange fluctuation loss of 5 crores. It seems whatever could go wrong for the company went wrong. Also we see that the company has not been able to pay undisputed Delhi Vat.

Fy19

“Lacklustre demand and heightened price erosion on account of increased product dumping by China comprised the main challenges that had an adverse impact on our financial performance. The company’s revenue from operations declined []% to Rs. 68.56 crore in 2018-19, from Rs. 183.27 crore in 2017-18. Other income grew by []% to Rs. 17.29 crore during the year. Lower revenues and higher fixed costs depressed EBIDTA to a negative Rs. 7.29 crore, from Rs. 26.79 crore reported in the previous year. This impacted profitability, with the company slipping to a net loss of Rs. 28.90 crore in 2018-19, from a net profit of Rs. 1.83 crore in the previous year. Aiding by positive government policies, the company is taking a number of measures with a view to restore profitability in the near-term.”

Further this loss would have been higher if not for sundry balances written back of 13 crores.

We see similar challenges in FY 18 as well where Chinese prices led to deterioration of business of the company. Further we see that the company had to enter into settlement with lenders.

Fy18

“The scenario is challenging as well. Over the last few years, some of the largest Chinese manufacturers commissioned some of the world’s largest solar cell and module capacities, a competitive positioning that made it possible for them to sell at progressively lower costs. As a result, there has been a virtual meltdown in realizations. This decline has made it imperative for manufacturers like us – and across the world for that matter - to match Chinese prices.

During the year under review, your Company was not able to utilize the manufacturing capacity at its optimum. During this financial year, the Company completed OTS with all banks and their total dues were paid. A loan with ARC is outstanding and will be paid in installments as per their sanction with no interest payable on the outstanding loan as per the terms of the sanction.”

In Fy 17 , the situation was not as bad and it was able to utilize capacity. And it proudly proclaimed that it did not default on its FCCB bonds, but it neither paid them off.

Fy17

“During the year under review your company was able to utilize the manufacturing capacity at its optimum. During the year your company has settled all NPA bank accounts through OTS. Your company has also been able to improve the efficiency of the output of its finished goods. Addition to the installed capacity to the production facility during the year has added to the earnings of the Company.

Further, the Company had Foreign Currency Convertible Bonds (“FCCBs”) amounting to US$ 16,800,000 and interest accrued thereon is US$ 11,680.000 which matured on November, 2012. The same were neither converted into Equity Shares nor was any payment made for their redemption. However, the Company, in Extra-Ordinary General Meeting of its members held on May 26, 2016, has obtained the sanction of its members to re-structure the FCCBs on revised terms and conditions including reducing the value of FCCBs to US$ 12,000,000 and complete waiver of accrued interest. The re-structured FCCBs are scheduled to be redeemed latest by May 1, 2021 if not redeemed or converted earlier than that date. Consequently, the Company is not in default on account of borrowing through FCCB route.”

We further note that the Capital reserve has made by writeback of loans. So company conveniently claims its debt as its equity. Further we see that in Audit report over the years repeatedly no confirmation is received from parties

We see that the company has been always bullish about the prospects of renewable energy over conventional sources. However in 2016 it admitted that coal is here to stay. This points out that we can never be sure of what company projects about the future of its industry. We also see in 2016 that undisputed dues are not paid by the company.

FY16

“Finally, a large part of the solar system cost is import linked. A scenario where the INR depreciates very significantly would lead to a rise in solar costs for India relative to coal. This would delay the rise of solar. For the same reason, it is important for the government to plan a hedge against this scenario by adequately encouraging localisation and the creation of a domestic ecosystem.”

In 2015 we see that the company had better prospects which led to profits. We see that the prospects of the company are cyclical with some good years and some bad years. We also notice that company is talking about protective duties since much earlier which happened only in 2021. Also we see that at optimum capacity also the company has not been able to generate profit.

Fy15

“During the year under review your company was able to utilize the manufacturing capacity at its optimum. Sales have increased, there by company was able to make cash profit amounting to ` 376.51 lacs. The concerned Government department is in the process of initiating the imposition of anti-dumping duty on imports of solar cells and modules and has at the same time outlined the requirement of domestic content under various solar schemes to revive the industry. These positive steps will help your Company to augment its sales and profitability.”

We also notice the precarious condition of the company when in audit report it was mentioned:

“As regards delay in payment of undisputed statutory dues mentioned in para 11(f)(i) of the Annexure to the Auditors’ Report, it is submitted that it was due to the adverse financial condition as well as non-realization of receivables in time and that the same will be paid in due course of time together with applicable interest, if any. b. As regards the delay in the repayment of the principal sums and interest thereon to the banks / financial institutions mentioned in para (ix) of the Annexure to the Auditors’ Report, it is submitted that it was due to continued losses incurred by the Company, however the co is under the process of OTS with the Consortium banks. c. With reference to point no 11(f)(iii) of the audit report it is hereby clarified that the delay by a month in transferring the amount to IPF was purely unintentional. As the transfer involve other outsiders and intermediaries in the same and so the whole process of transferring the said amount was delayed due to some procedural requirements which took an exceptional amount of additional time in getting due clearance. d. As regard FCCB, mentioned in para 11(e) of the Auditors’ Report, the bond holder is still holding the bonds which were expired and his status is now unsecured creditor. Company is approaching RBI for negotiation for settlement with the Bond Holder.”

This shows that the poor condition of the company in the past where it defaulted on government dues and also on its debt. Also the company was referred to BIFR

We see that even with capacity utilization , the company was in losses. This shows the brutality of the industry.

Fy 14

“During the year under review your company was able to uƟ lize the manufacturing capacity at its optimum but the sales realization continued to remain lower thereby resulting in losses for yet another year.””

We see the volatility in the prices prevalent in the industry in 2013 where the finished goods, raw materials and INR depreciation wiped out the company.

“During the current financial period of nine months (ie. 2012 – 13) as well as the last financial period of fifteen months (ie. 2011-12), we witnessed a significant decline in the global prices of the raw materials and finished goods coupled with the devaluation in the Indian Rupees vs US Dollar which resulted in a sharp decline in profitability leading to erosion of entire net worth of your Company.”

Again there was a crash in RM prices which led to crash in realizations , forex loss and demand reduction. This is again proof of industry economics.

“We witnessed a substantial over 60% fall in raw material prices, which percolated down to reduce finished goods prices. The Company suffered a huge blow owing to losses in outstanding contracts, pre-order contracts and production. Raw material prices collapsed 60% between April-November 2011, moderating end product selling price from 14 per unit (three years ago) to 4 per unit now.”

Foreign exchange: Volatility in foreign exchange affected profitability with the result that we suffered a forex loss of `60 cr in 2011-12

Subdued demand in Europe: We witnessed slackening demand in the EU region on account of its economical troubles. However it is expected that this highly fragmented industry is likely to consolidate on account of increasing collaborations between Indian and European firms where subsidy cuts in key markets like Germany and Italy will result in a global oversupply of solar panels.”

Further the company had to restructure its debts and also defaulted on its dues :

Fy 12

“Debt restructuring: With prices falling drastically and capex invested three years ago, we had to renegotiate debt as interest rates remained high. In March 2012, we underwent bank restructuring in which our working capital loans were converted to term loans with a moratorium of two years and repayment period of seven years. The capex loans were also restructured with a moratorium of two years and repayment period of seven years

The Company has made delayed deposits with appropriate authorities the amount deducted/accrued in the books of accounts in respect of undisputed statutory dues including Provident Fund, Employees State Insurance, Income-tax, Sales-tax, Wealth Tax, Service Tax, Custom Duty, Excise Duty, Cess and any other statutory dues as applicable to it. As per the information and explanations given to us the following undisputed amounts in respect of the abovementioned statutory dues were outstanding as at 30th June, 2012”

We also notice an interesting aspect where all around increase in fees payable in a terrible year 2012

“Amounts paid / payable to Auditors – (a) Audit fees 3,12,500/- (Previous period 1,50,000/-), plus the applicable service tax. (b) In other capacity in respect of certification work 62,500/- (Previous period 37,500/) plus the applicable service tax. (c) For Audit under section 44AB of the Income Tax Act, 1961 93,750/- (Previous period 50,000/-), plus the applicable service tax.”

Management remuneration

Reasonable 80/90 lacs but it was taken during loss times of the company as well. This also shows promoters will use company irrespective of its financial conditions

Ratio Analysis

SSGR

We find that the company has always had a negative SSGR. This is evident when it had to default in its debt, as it was living beyond its means.

The NFAT has always fluctuated between 1 and 0.62. We see that the asset turns are low. So to achieve high ROCE, the company has to have high EBIT from DUpoint analysis. But we find the highest margins achieved in its history from screener is 11 % in 2011 and in 2021 it has 22 % operating margin, but with lower raw material costs. So if RM costs normalizes can we expect higher margins. Thus unless there is massive demand, the company will not achieve higher ROCE.

Related Party

Nothing material w.r.t size of the company

Valuations

The company trades at a PE of 35, with high margins (due to lower RM costs 56%). If we normalize the PE it will come to 40/45 range. So the company is expensive given its chequered past. But the question we should ask ourselves has the future come for solar industry. The biggies of Indian corporate have entered it and are doing acquisitions. With protective duties in place, can this be a La Opala moment for this Calcutta based company.

JV with Amp Energy India to Make 1.2 GW of Solar Cells & Modules.

Some negatives I found regarding this company:

1. Lack of growth since long duration.
  2. Fluctuating margin.
  3. Promoter has a related company, Websol Green Projects Private Limited, in same line of business and uses this company’s name in their dealings.
  4. Related party transactions shows borrowings from them but the amount is small.
  5. Regulation change regarding import duty will affect margins.

ebb86566-6e13-4244-90ec-efebfc43e42b.pdf (387.7 KB)

This is to inform you that upon receipt of in-principle approval letters from both the stock exchanges, bearing letter no. LOD/PREF/JR/FIP/2726/2022-23 & NSE/LIST/31896 both dated October 19, 2022 respectively and on conversion of outstanding loan amount of upto Rs. 11,74,91,040/- by the Promoter allottee i.e., M/s. Websol Green Projects Private Limited and further infusion of funds of Rs. 11,54,52,000/- by the other allottee i.e., M/s. India Max Investment Fund Limited, the Board of Directors in their meeting held on today, i.e, 02.11.2022, have approved and allotted 1087880 equity shares of the Company to M/s. Websol Green Projects Private Limited and 10,69,000 equity shares of the Company to M/s. India Max Investment Fund Limited at an Issue Price of Rs. 108/- (Rupees One Hundred and Eight Only) per equity share [including a premium of Rs. 98/- (Rupees Ninety-Eight Only) per equity share], on Preferential Basis.

CMP IS 94.55

INVESTED … PLEASE SHARE YOUR VIEWS AND FUTURE OF THIS COMPANY

This seems to be a positive development, it will lead to reduction of debt and increase in promoter holding. Preferential issue at higher level than CMP is also good for the company.
Promoter holding is currently at a very low level.

Will try to publish some information from few learned people

Question - How will websol compete against biggies?
Answer - (Reliance, Adani, Tata Power) doing major capex to set up manufacturing capacities - in isolation the capacities in discussions give impression that Websol may struggle to compete – but that is not correct picture when one looks at overall landscape - and it doesn’t impact my investment thesis for Websol, which is to play its capex cycle.

Firstly India is seeing massive demand for Solar to reach govt targets of total installed capacity of 280 GW by 2030 (around 60 GW is installed) and which in all likelihood may further increase (China’s current solar capacity is 350GW & plans to do 600 GW by 2030).

India’s current manufacturing capacity is around 4 GW for Solar PV cell (major portion is on old tech & probably not much worthy - like Websol ripped off its old 250 MW capacity & setting up new cell & module lines for 1.8GW) while demand is 27 GW plus (220 GW in 8 years) if 2030 target is to be achieved. With capacity utilization factor of let’s say 85% - we will need more than 32 GW manufacturing capacity. Besides Indian companies like Websol exports as well being in SEZ - with the increased scale in India, our companies will get cost competitiveness globally & also the world is looking at China+1 supply chain - all this will increase Solar export from India. Total usable capacity could be in 35-40 GW figure.

Now coming to biggies, they are in diff phases of capex - TP has less than 1 GW capacity now & has announced further 4GW in Chennai to compete in next 2 years, Reliance is talking of having total 10 GW capacity by 2024 end (& then a further 10 GW by 2026) & Adani is building overall 10 GW capacity in next 2-3 years. So in next 2-3 years we may reach 25 GW and by 2026 around 35-40 GW – if there are no delays in capex execution.

At the same time, we should understand that all these companies would not assume full risk of increasing capacity beyond what they assess are usable capacities (there are various consideration which goes into this – including how much they can consume within their own EPC business; how much they can sell in India to other players where some of them are competitors – would they buy from them – no; and how much they can export) - so they will keep a tab on overall supply dynamics and tweak their plans as necessary.

With Websol, first phase of 600 MW should come soon in next few months, and then second phase may be by June 2023 - we should have more clarity on timelines in AGM & successive concalls for full 1.8 GW timelines – but even with some delays, I expect this Capex to be over within 2023 given mgmt’s messaging in Annual Reports and PRs.

So timing is the key and a major differentiator here - we get there in the line in good time while demand is still high & we will manage to have long term contracts in place with existing & new clients. I have a feeling that if this 1.8 GW capex going well & in time, they may announce more given the demand - but let’s see. Like I mentioned earlier, I don’t have ultra-long term view on Websol post CAPEX cycle is complete - will look to book profits once we are close to getting most benefit of CAPEX - perhaps few quarters after 1.8 GW is fully operational - if more CAPEX announced then will wait more (considering progress of capex for other players as well). Will continue to monitor the progress & decide.

Websol could also be a takeover candidate once it has 1.8 GW operational capacity – one of the biggies would be after this large capacity to get it to reach its capex target earlier.

Websol being a pure play in cell & module manufacturing provides the best opportunity to take benefit of this ongoing solar cell & module demand play - other biggies have big business in various segments, all when one buy shares of these biggies, you buy all businesses (Tata Power I have heard will do IPO for its renewables and its in pipeline for few quarters, but for now anyone buying Tata Power is also buying their conventional thermal power plants business etc. etc ). Of course, the risks (capex financing, capex execution, etc) are also there being a small cap company trying to execute large capex and everyone needs to do own due diligence to take individual investment calls.

In my view, the alpha that a small player like Websol can generate in relatively short time in this large solar demand play, big corporates won’t be able to as they come with baggage of all the business verticals they have - some of them has sky high valuations too like Adani.

Tentative revenue estimation

1MW cell is approx 1 to 1.1 cr
And
1MW module it’s approx 2 to 2.1 cr

As per my understanding company will sell 1.2GW cell in the market and 600MW of module to AMP JV

So I am expecting 1200cr revenue from cell and 1200cr revenue from module so total revenue will be in the range of 2000 to 2200cr considering 90% efficiency

2000-2200cr turnover will be achieved in FY 2024-2025 and in 2023-2024 we might end up with 1000cr

We can consider EBITA margine in the range of 15 to 20% and net profit margin to remain in the range 6-8%…. So net profit should be in the range of 120-160cr

Diluted equity will be 50-55cr we can achieve 20-30 EPS and the rest you can calculate

Any subsidies and PLI benefits may increase bottom line

DYOR……:pray:

The power ministry has given exemptions of 2 years on duty to import as the capacity required is nota available in India.
Power Minister Confirms ALMM Exemption for Solar Projects for Two Years - Mercom India

Things should be fairly clear by the next result update!

Parliament’s Budget Session that commenced on January 31st last month will conclude on April 6. At present, the session is in recess, which will end in mid-March. In Parliament, currently, 35 Bills are pending. In this session, 18 Bills are listed for introduction, consideration, and passing (excluding the Finance Bill, 2023). Here’s a list of some important ones:

1. The Development of Enterprises and Services Hubs (DESH) Bill, 2023 – Seeks to replace the Special Economic Zones Act, 2005.

DESH act can be game changer! Why?

Websol plant is SEZ

In SEZ what ever you do import for raw materials is exempted from custom duty if you doing your final product export

Earlier their was zero custom duty on cell and module and only safe guard duty on that so websol can sell its products in domestic market easily due to zero custom duty

Now from 1-4-22 their is zero Safe Guard duty and 25% custom duty on cell and 40% custom duty on modules to reduce imports from China and other countries

Websol in SEZ can sell its products in domestic markets but with custom duty so it’s impossible to survive

Because their are lots off empty lands in SEZ areas which is unused as compulsory export in SEZ is the only option so now new DESH act will give permission to companies in SEZ to sell their products either in exports or in domestic markets( no custom duty applies)…. New act will open doors for Webeee to sell their products either in India or export and just now in India their is lots of scope to achieve 500GW target so that’s why that act is important for company

You can’t keep safe guards duty for more then 3-4 years as per WTO guidelines so government opted custom duty to reduce import of cell and modules

the passing of act itself will set the ball rolling for players having capacities in SEZ (overhauled by DESH) and looking to expand capacities (financing will be easy with act passed & future clear with lenders).

Existing capacities for all sectors located in SEZ (replaced by DESH) won’t have to pay customs duty (or very min taxes) to sell within India immediately, so production can be started to capacity if there is demand - and we know in Solar sector is huge - so impact would be immediate post passing of the act.

India Solar Energy Market Analysis Report 2023: Cumulative Installed Solar Energy Capacity Increased from 6.76 GW in 2016 to 54 GW in 2022, Expanding at a CAGR of 41.39%

The cumulative installed solar energy capacity in the country increased from 6.76 GW in FY 2016 to 54.00 GW in FY 2022, expanding at a compound annual growth rate of 41.39%.

There has been a spurt in the demand for renewable energy since conventional electricity generation methods such as thermal power plants are getting exhausted. In India, solar power is one of the most popular renewable sources of energy.

Back of the hand calculation and thesis
It’s important that all of us define our risks…
keep evaluating
Bull
Bear
and
Base Case scenarios!

Also, keep thinking what can go wrong and preparing ourselves!

The more I think about what can go wrong, the more I get sure of why a company like Websol might just be poised perfectly for a very non linear returns because of snowballing effect
and lollapalloza effect

1. Survived worst macro environment
  2. Positioned itself for capex by minimal debt on books
  3. Next decade will be about Renewables energy and has to be given the climate positioning and more importantly world commitments
  4. Huge Demand at ground level which now seems to be real and not just EXPECTED demand

Given all these things…even with an average execution and average management with 1.8 Gw we can easily achieve 1000 (45- 50 eps ) 20-25 PE
by 2025!
Which is 10X !

Hi, is it not 1800 MW Cell capacity (1200 MW Monocrystalline PERC + 600 MW TOPCon) and 550 MW module capacity.

so, they may supply 550 MW module (made of Mono PERC cell) to AMP energy and Remaining to outside market 600 MW Mono PERC cells + 600 MW TOPCon cells.

Mono PERC efficiency is around 23% and TOPCon is 24.5% which will fetch higher price.
Timely execution and profit margin are key to success of this thesis.

Quite possible, hopefully we see good news soon

Any idea how they are managing the capex for the new plant? Also, is the new JV company formed and this new capacity coming up in april is coming in the JV or listed company?

Loan is awaited from either IREDA or some private entities but should be there soon. Currently they are doing from their own but let’s wait for official disclosures

PLI Tranche II winners announced by Govt. AMP Energy got 500 MW eligible for PLI benefit (approved manufacturing capacity is 1000 MW). Websol and AMP have announced JV in 2022 but there is no clarity on the beneficiary Company. Official statement from AMP or Websol is expected.

SECI Document
638155988723467696.pdf (513.0 KB)

ignore these announcements…pli is applicable only for 1 gw or above, currently focus on loan and machinery

The answer for loan and machinery is lying in this announcement. I will explain here. Under PLI scheme, there are two terms. Manufacturing capacity (Govt’s aim to promote local manufacturing) and eligible capacity (Incentive on sale of goods to attract investment). Any applicant should apply for min.1 GW or above capacity to be eligible under PLI scheme. So, AMP energy applied for 1 GW, However, As per PLI scheme only 50% of the applied capacity will be accepted for benefit but Govt. accounts complete applied capacity as the outcome of PLI scheme. So, out of applied 1 GW, they are getting PLI benefit for 500 MW.

An extract from PLI tender document is as follows;
A Bidder, including its Parent, Affiliate or Ultimate Parent or any Group Company shall
submit a single bid undertaking to set up a Manufacturing facility of minimum 1,000
MW capacity (1,000 MW each for all individual stages included in the SMM’s
proposal). For eg., in case a bidder quotes 1000 MW capacity under the RfS for
P+W+C+M category, the committed manufacturing capacities in each Stage, to be
eligible for grant of PLI, shall be as follows:
Stage-1: 1000 MW
Stage-2: 1000 MW
Stage-3: 1000 MW
Stage-4: 1000 MW
The above criteria of Stage-wise break-up of manufacturing capacity will not be
applicable for Bidders committing to set up a Fully integrated manufacturing of Thin
Film plant or a fully integrated plant of any other technology.
5.2 The maximum capacity that can be bid for, i.e., the manufacturing capacity that a bidder will set up under this RfS, will be 10 GW for P+W+C+M and 6 GW each for W+C+M and C+M categories. However, the maximum capacity that will be awarded to a single bidder under the PLI scheme, i.e. the maximum capacity which will be eligible for grant of PLI, will be 50% of the capacity to be set up by the Bidder. This awarded maximum bid capacity will include any capacity awarded as per LoA issued by M/s IREDA under Tranche-I of the PLI Scheme for High Efficiency Solar PV Modules

in this case, The JV was formed foreseeing this outcome and they got it. So, Factory premises and labour is from Websol and Investment of machinery for Monoperc line of 1.2 GW is from AMP energy. in return, AMP will offtake 550 MW modules from this JV and Websol would sell 650 MW Cells/Modules in the open market preferably export market.
As very few information available in public, this is my Interpretation and it may be wrong. referred PLI tender document and below attached article.
https://www.mercomindia.com/websol-amp-energy-form-jv-manufacture-solar-cells-modules

For a Solar Cell or Module manufacturer calculate the max possible revenue. Profitability can not be calculated as price volatility has been high in recent past. So for valuation purpose revenue calculation would be more helpful. In my observation Solar EPC will make more money then Solar Module Manufacturer. For the Solar biz to be profitable these module manufacturers must do EPC also.

Disc: Not invested, but hold one solar related stock.

this is a Solar cell manufacturer…not a module one…higher margin business