Valorem's Portfolio

Hello fellow ValuePickrs,

I’m a 14 year old student from Mumbai. Valorem is not my real name, but it means Value in latin. I joined the forum very recently, but I have been learning about investing for around a year and a half now. Below, I will share about my investing journey and portfolio.

My Journey
Before I start, I must say that I am extremely grateful to my family who have supported me in my investing journey despite my young age.

I don’t remember when I first heard about investing and stocks, but I only got interested in them in late 2020. At the time, my father had taken a course on technical analysis. Having a lot of spare time due to the lock down, I decided to accompany my father in one of his courses webinars and was immediately fascinated. I started sincerely watching videos on technical analysis and would discuss my learnings and observations with my father.
Around the same time, I began learning Python (a programming language). This skill has played a key role in my journey as an investor.

By mid 2021, I was pretty good at technical analysis and was an aspiring day trader. I was using technical indicators like RSI, ADX and Stochastic to find good trades and my strategy was quite profitable (backtesting). My parents decided to support me by providing me with a small trading account to handle (I would tell them what to buy and sell, and they would do so). Unfortunately, I burned my fingers badly. At first I made a return of around 7%, but soon I landed up losing more than 20% of the original capital. I felt extremely bad and defeated.
This experience taught me the first and second rule of Warren Buffet, without me knowing who he was -

1. Don’t lose money
  2. Don’t forget rule number 1

Following the experience, I took a break from trading as my Exams were around the corner. Once they were over, I considered giving up the market - but my mother persuaded me not to give up my passion because of one bad experience.