Tata Motors - On the way to world Automobile leader?

Dear Sir PLease guide me from where you received the calculation about dvr conversion and tax deduction? I have tried to contact linked in to get explanation but they have advised me to log in swayam portal and log in and make request. I am trying for that but most of the time server is not responding and I come back to circle back. I am NRI and I had 300 dvr shares and was allotted 140 instead of 210. My broker sharekhan also unable to give explanation and he says contact RA. I got credit of 1134.68 from tml securities on 25 sept 24 but no mail from tata motor dvr so far.
I will be great help to me to understand the conversion .

Dear sir, I will appreciate if you could give reference or link or excel calculator sheet which can be used for understanding the conversion.
I am NRI and I had 300 dvr shares and was allotted 140 instead of 210. My broker sharekhan also unable to give explanation and he says contact RA. I got credit of 1134.68 from tml securities on 25 sept 24 but no mail from tata motor dvr so far.

Thanking you again

I got the following in email

But unlike deemed dividend no TDS has been deducted on the capital gains for Indian residents, in 26as only on deemed dividend 10% tds is there. Wondering if we should pay the 12.5% to avoid interest in delayed tax payment. Advance tax date is Dec 15th.

Seems the tagline for JLR is Less is more

Are they going the Kim Kardashian route in creating an event that seems negative but has everyone talking about it?
The campaign was anything but a neon peacock. The models even more
Seems like everything was built to get the most eye balls on it
Also I’ve read somewhere that corporate has been trying to get American dealers to give up their Jag showrooms for bigger allotments of Defenders
The company is taking the brand more upmarket to compete with the likes of Aston Martin and Mclaren the latter of whom never seems to have enough vehicles for sale
On the homefront Tata Motors seems to be churning out banger after banger with the Sierra and other models . Will this work? Remains to be seen

Could you specify the models with which they are trying to compete with Aston Martin and Mclaren? The primary reason from what I read for the lack luster sales of Jaguar was just outdated tech and performance on the cars. Benz, BMW just offered better value prop.

This also highlights the importance of R&D in the sales of the high end cars. This could be a risk factor in the longer term.

On the home front, they are well poised. I am personally looking forward to the launch of the Avinya EV cars which I believe is based on the Jaguar platform.

The idea of using the platforms of JLR to build cars for the domestic market is a great play as it brings economies of scale to the platform.

They have not disclosed the details of the models yet but the plan seems to go upmarket. Fewer models but pricier. The latest prototype is called 00

They May focus on their rich heritage and develop something along the lines of an XJ220
They did well with their 2 door sports cars but I feel suffered with their commercial models like sedans and SUVs that competed in a crowded market.

Seems they want to be in a room full of Bentleys and Astons. Might help as the Range Rover customer is similar

The growth story though seems India with what Tata is developing with their SUV lineup and Land Rover now being built in India. If they are able to reduce prices to the 47-65L for some models they should do better in India (Range Rover)

In Europe Land Rovers and Range Rovers do not have very good reputation for reliability but they are still popular

This is a reputation they have everywhere :grinning:

PV is only 12%. Sales in Jaguar and LandRover is dipping. That could be the reason for the stock price decline.

PE of 8 and PEG of 0.09. Is it a value buy? (In 2020 also, it was painting such a gloomy picture)

For cyclic businesses like Auto, it might be a good idea to look at P/B instead of P/E.

Few months back, Tata Motors was trading at P/B of > 7.6 which was way higher than its Median P/B of about 3.3, from 5 years history.

P/B of 7.6 was unsustainable for cyclic business which has high dependency on auto revenue which is cyclic in nature.

May be, now it is looking more reasonable at P/B of less than 3.0, but an investor also need to look at future EPS growth from all its revenue streams.

EPS has zoomed from -38 to +99 in the past 2-3 years so P/E may look optically low, hence looking at other valuation parameters could be a reasonable approach for deciding fair value of Tata Motors.

Disclaimer : I do not track Tata Motors hence I may be wrong in my analysis. Also, my knowledge of Tata Motors business streams is limited.

80 percent of operating profit is JLR so obviously worldwide is very significant to its fortunes

Tata Motors | Q3 Highlights

Outlook:
We expect underlying domestic demand to improve gradually on account of infrastructure spends, slew of exciting product launches and stable interest rates.

While JLR wholesales are expected to improve further in Q4 FY25, we remain watchful on the overall demand situation, particularly in China.

Q3 FY25 Revenue at £7.5 billion (+1.5%), EBITDA 14.2% (-200 bps), EBIT 9.0% (+20 bps), PBT (bei) £523 million

YTD FY25 Revenue at £21.2 billion (flat), EBITDA 14.0% (-180 bps), EBIT 7.8% (-50 bps), PBT (bei) £1,614 million

JLR delivered a robust third quarter in FY25, with record Q3 revenue, the highest EBIT margin in a decade and a ninth successive profitable quarter

Cash balance was £3.5 billion and net debt £1.1 billion, with gross debt of £4.6 billion

Total liquidity was £5.1 billion, including the £1.6 billion undrawn revolving credit facility

JLR Outlook; Looking ahead, while mindful of the challenging economic backdrop, the Company is on track to achieve its profitability and cash flow targets in FY25, with EBIT margin 28.5% and positive net cash.

JLR Revenue £7.5b up 1.5%, EBITDA at 14.2% (-200 bps), EBIT at 9.0% (+20 bps)

Tata CV Revenue ₹18.4K Cr, down 8.4%, EBITDA at 12.4% (+130 bps), EBIT at 9.6% (+100 bps)
Tata PV Revenue ₹12.4K Cr, down 4.3%, EBITDA at 7.8% (+120 bps), EBIT at 1.7% (-40 bps)

Tata motors maintains full-year guidance for ebit margin and net cash position | Concall Update

• Expects a strong q4 to achieve its targets, given the usual seasonality – concall update
  • Guidance suggests q4 ebit of over 10%, up from 9.2% last year
  • Lower revenue targets naturally impact ebit and roce projections – concall update
  • Refrains from providing an outlook due to multiple milestones ahead

Notes that if q4 remains flat year-over-year, it would set a solid base for the next year

Watch here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH_UuAXSIz4

Earnings Call transcript released, here’s a quick summary:

• Financial Performance: Q3 revenue increased by 2.7%, with a flat profit before tax (PBT) year-over-year at ₹22,300 crores, showing a ₹3,000 crores improvement YoY. Free cash flow reached ₹4,700 crores with net debt at ₹19,200 crores.

• Key Highlights: Significant product launches included the Tata Sierra and Harrier EV. Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) reported record Q3 revenues of GBP 7.5 billion and EBIT at 9%, the highest in a decade.

• Demerger Update: The demerger process is on track, aiming for an appointed date of July 1, 2025.

• Production-Linked Incentives: Accrued ₹351 crores from PLI, enhancing profitability across Commercial Vehicles (CV) and Passenger Vehicles (PV).

• Market Outlook: Anticipated strong Q4 performance, with overall market growth projected at 6-7% for FY26, focusing on electrification and improved retail strategy.

• Challenges Ahead: Ongoing caution regarding demand in China and the impact of global economic conditions on overall sales.

Summary generated by FinDL

Talk with Tata Motors CFO.

Average age of Jaguar buyer used to 65+ and now they’re aiming for 25-40 age group. And they have already received 27k interests in less than 2 weeks since the new brand reveal in early dec. last year.

Disc: Closely tracking and currently no positions

whats Mahindra doing better that tata is lacking???

The biggest pain point is the JLR business in the UK which contributes approx 65-70% of revenue. They are going through a strategic shift from ICE engines to EVs here. Further tough competition from prime players such as Audi, BMW etc + China, where the economy is muted.

Disc: My understanding from reading the Con call, invested so might be biased.