Saikat Portfolio

Dear Forum members and VP’s

I am an academic, 38 years old and have little experience in corporate and business. I started investing in 2012 directly into stocks and made losses in early investments. Since 2015-16, I started to have positive returns, but the returns were well below the mutual funds. But, I never gave up and I kept learning from books and other resources. In 2020, I found this forum, Valuepickr, and it was an eye-opener. The knowledgebase and discussions on this forum helped me to improve my stock selection, allocation and holding. I am still learning from this forum everyday – making sense of the technical charts, connecting the dots by reading the company’s prospectus, reading concalls and AGM news, and understanding the customer to market sentiments.

Objective:

My current investments are 20% in mutual funds/ETFs and 80% directly in stocks. The MF/ETF basket follows the broader market sentiment. The market works in cycles – small/midcaps before 2018, quality stocks during the bear markets, small/midcap rallies, Covid slump, small/midcap rallies again; and so on. During each cycle, I keep adding to the growing segment. For the direct stocks, I compete with the MF/ETF basket. The objective of my direct stock portfolio is to achieve a better XIRR than my MF/ETF basket – even this modest goal is much more challenging than what I initially envisioned. I started my journal entries in 2015. During the COVID slump in the 2020s, my stock portfolio XIRR became better than the MF portfolio.

Current Portfolio:

100% of my current stock portfolio is based on ideas in this forum. Thank you everyone! This is also what took me so long to create this first post – there’s nothing new to add, this is just an assimilation of what I learned from this forum. I have two baskets:
A. Value: Outlook of 2-5 years (some even more), high conviction stocks, ~85% of portfolio