Rajeesh's Portfolio

Hi Everyone,

I have started investing 1 lakh a month in equities, PF and Gold. I would really take help of the members in making my stock portfolio streamlined. I’m 30 years old and all of my stocks are for long term

This is my portfolio

Company Name Avg Trading Price % weightage % profit
ITC 435.27 7% 20%
SAMHI 195.11 2% 4%
Tata Motors 958.19 5% 4%
Natco Pharma 1213.74 11% 16%
Trent 4858.77 3% 61%
Electrost.Cast. 207.51 2% 4%
KNR Construct. 278.63 1% 21%
Indus Towers 314.20 6% 25%
Guj Pipavav Port 183.92 4% 19%
United Spirits 1268.10 2% 26%
C D S L 1445.67 1% 1%
VBL 624.61 2% -3%
Tata Steel 170.89 1% -3%
Vodafone Idea 15.82 0% -33%
Infosys 1615.46 2% 18%
Zomato Ltd 261.31 3% 6%
Nippon India Nif 19.73 1% 21%
South Ind.Bank 29.34 1% -16%
Quess Corp 721.16 2% 9%
Balmer Lawrie 248.75 5% 10%
Larsen & Toubro 3577.91 1% 4%
ZAGGLE 398.72 3% 11%
HDFC Bank 1612.44 2% 9%
Lemon Tree Hotel 120.13 0% 2%
Aditya AMC 680.78 2% 8%
Jio Financial 352.21 3% 2%
Titan Company 3662.67 1% 4%
L T Foods 234.55 2% 69%
ITD Cem 402.48 1% 35%
Bharat Electron 274.69 2% 7%
BLS Internat. 410.40 4% -9%
Pricol Ltd 487.63 2% -3%
Manappuram Fin. 184.48 3% 10%
ICICI Bank 1174.75 3% 11%
Bharti Airtel 1437.83 4% 21%
Amara Raja Batt. 854.99 1% 63%
Epigral 1336.51 2% 67%
Nippon I Silver 84.02 1% 5%
Indian Hotels Co 692.38 2% 3%

I know its messed up, but any help is appreciated. My investment journey started just 9 months ago, this is my 10th month

I think you should reduce number of stock.You have to spend lots of energy and time to manage this portfolio.You may choose your one best stock from one sector instead of buying two or more stocks from same sector.

A portfolio of around ₹1 crore can ideally have a maximum of 33 stocks but i see you have 39 approx. However, if you’ve been investing for 9 months with ₹70k per stock, I would suggest starting with around 15 stocks initially. Once you’ve reached about ₹3 lakh per stock/ if in equal percentage, you can gradually diversify further. But even with diversification, it’s best to cap your portfolio at 30-33 stock holdings to maintain a balanced and manageable approach.

Also VP is good forum to discuss. However if you are investing your hardearned money, please also study on the side from YT or do some good courses.

Good start -

Subscribe to daily letter of Finshots, Groww Digest etc.

Follow some YT channels namely - Vivek Bajaj, Vivek Singhal, Sahil. They are enough to make you self established. And also below course is an add on.

Hi rajeesh ji, even I am a novice and have a lot to learn but I actually believe you have too many stock in your portfolio about more than 30. It’s tough to track and even for example you have a 1%allocation in ITD Cem and just let us say it’s stock price goes up 50 times, which is an incredible thing. Your portfolio will only go up 0.5 times, which does not change much, my suggestion even if you are a conservative investor keep only the number of companies you can track, ideally speaking less than 15. And the diversification you want can be high quality companies across a number of industries and not concentration in one industry. That will give you nice exposure. And this I am suggesting for the long term.
Sincerely,

Thanks for that , it will be really helpful.

I appreciate the help, thank you so much. MY only problem which I face right now with respect to this portfolio is, for almost all the stocks I have a solid reasoning, selling half off them would be tough (not impossible but tough). Let me come back with a condensed portfolio with hypotheses for all of them. I want to hold all of these & do SIP on stocks until portfolio until it reaches a corpus of say 50 L or so and hold them for a very long term (15 year or above) & continue diversifying asset classes as per the risk appetite at that age. Right now I have 70% exposure in equity, 10% in debt, 10% in liquid funds, 10% in gold (physical)

Rajeesh ji, I know you have a solid research, but I would stress on the fact that you can choose which 15 or so you would want or have a stronger conviction than the others , because after a while the transcripts, annual reports, analyzing the business models and comparing its peers of 30+ companies is laboriously tough.
As Charlie munger says -" The idea of diversification makes sense to a point - if you don’t know what you’re doing. If you want the standard result and don’t want to end up embarrassed - then of course, you should widely diversify. But nobody is entitled to a lot of money for holding this view."

I understand, I dont have much time for managing these many businesses as well in my portfolio…To be honest I always had that FOMO of seeing the posts which goes like if you had invested Rs.10000, it would have gone 10x or 20x. I have to let go of few scripts then and reconstruct, stock picking and portfolio building are 2 different art then.

Okay let this be a start of a new journey then, making a mistake, reconstructing and travelling all along.

Planning to offload

Trent - Too small a position but I think its way too over valued, the thing is they are participating and competing in a market which is buzzed by million unbranded players, im quite sure though the indian consumption story is here to stay, I’m planning to divest

Gujarat Pipapav port - Highly manipulated stock, I bought it out of a SEBI registered investor advice but this is a collateral damage where I could not monitor the movements because of too many stocks in a portfolio

KNR construction - Government dependent business, promoters are decreasing their holdings and their Stocks Underperforming their Industry Price Change in the Quarter

Vodafone idea - No brainer. Just loss harvesting which will give me enough time to concentrate on other businesses

Silver ETF - I’m already investing on gold, owing to which im divesting and it has too little weightages

ITD Cementation - A fantastic company just offloading owing to too many picks in portfolio

L&T - Too big a company and its already covered in my ELSS MF portfolio

Infosys - Company is going through distress, the pipeline of projects are dry and would rather prefer to pick smaller IT companies or IT bees to leverage rupee losing value

Lemon tree hotels - Investing in IHCL and Samhi hotels in alternate

Aditya AMC - Unable to concentrate right now and not interested in their business to be more honest

Balmer Lawrie - I have spent good 10 months in this stock, even in the all time high, this stock is not going anywhere. Rather would invest in more convicted picks

Amara Raja, HDFC, ICICI, South indian bank - There are better Large cap players for all of these sectors whose growth is yet to begin

EPIGRAL - Meghmani finechem, has already given a good run up, and I am more convicted in taking a position in Natco rather

BEL - A new nifty 50 entrant but not in my circle of competence

Titan - Too little a position to even consider meaningful returns

This brings the list from 38 to 20

Great progress Rajeesh Ji, I was doubtful of KNR Construction, Vodafone and Gujarat Pipav Port when I initially saw it in the portfolio.

If you don’t have time to mange stocks, then best thing is to invest through mutual fund. Go in for 50% in large cap funds and balance 50% in mid cap, small cap, defense etc. There is no point in holding such a large portfolio and get totally defocussed. As an experienced investor I always tell people not to invest more than 15-20 stocks whatever may be the value of your portfolio. Maximum investment in one stock should be not more than 10% of your total portfolio value. Invest in stock only if you are able to give lot of time for due diligence initially, then once you have the stock in your portfolio to track their quarterly performance in order to ensure they are on track so on & so forth. Just because others have stocks in their portfolio, you should not be jumping into investing in stocks. Mutual Fund are there for people like you who can’t spend too much time in investing in stocks or who don’t have the experty in investing in stocks. So take the route of investing in funds and start investing in equity only if you have time & required knowledge to invest in stocks. These are my advise to you

Right now i have many stocks in my portfolio. The problem is portfolio allocation/ construction. So, Yes mutual funds is an option but i prefer direct equity. Because honestly I dont believe any active fund managers. I’d rather go down direct Nifty 50 or Nifty next 50 funds.

I’ll try focusing more on how to get this into a good shape in terms of trimming down and narrowing the focus