Prabeesh Portfolio

I am very new to value investing and been here for sometime now.What is happening here is amazing and i try to participate in most of the discussion. I have learn a lot in how to go about investing.I am listing out my portfolio. I want most frank suggestion as it helps me better.

I have included the Invested Price(adjusted for split or bonus) for better understanding of when i had bought them.

As you can see from below i have spread it across 20 stocks and trying to consolidate or separate them into Long term and Medium term list. Also i don't have concentration on any stock of more than 9% which say my current conviction level :),i am learning daily and hope to improve my research on which my conviction will increase.

Stock

Invest Price

Percentage

Amara Raja Batt

Astral Poly Tec

Atul Auto

Balmer Lawrie

Cera Sanitary

Cholamandalam

Coromandel Int

Cravatex

GRP

Kaveri Seed Co

Mayur Uniquoter

MCX India

MT Educare

Muthoot Cap

RS Software

Shriram TransFi

TV18 Broadcast

VST Tillers

Yes Bank

1 Like

Hi Prabeesh,

You have a portfolio with nice set of stocks. Majority of your stocks are worth having in one’s portfolio. I guess with this portfolio you should be able to get a market beating return.

The issue with it is, as you mentioned, way too many stock in your portfolio. You should try to concentrate to 10-12 stock, with portfolio allocation directly proportional to conviction level.

Experience tells us that diluted portfolio tends to give lesser return, as compared to concentrated stocks with well chosen stocks. Less stocks in your portfolio implies larger research effort per stock, and hence better decision on when to entry, when to exit, when to average, when to book profit.