Portfolio Building Strategy::Need advice

Hello All,

This is my first post in VP. I am a software engineer by profession [age 29] , a naive to stock market and recently came to know about VP when I read an article in FB about Mr. Donald and Mr. Ayush Mittal.

I have been following the posts [at least 30 min a day]. Honestly I found a lot of knowledge and hard work by the members.

I need a small help from all the experts and VP members. I want to build my portfolio but have 2 major limitations.

1. Not enough knowledge on valuations and understanding balance sheets
  2. Cant scrutinize markets on daily basis.

So can any guide me on what to start reading. Basically want to build a portfolio for a long term [ 10-12 years] and revisit them may be on quarter basis not daily.

Also based on what I read so far, apart from understanding the company profile I observed that whenever people buy stocks they look out for:-

1. PE [ depending upon the sector, so pharma and FMCG stocks would have high PE]
  2. ROE [ ~ 20 % consistent for 10 years
  3. ROCE
  4. Debt to Equity Ratio [ again depending on sector , banking and financial lending stocks would have high DE]
  5. Promoter Holding :- not good if less than 30 %

If I consider the above 5 ratios , then I don’t think its right time to buy stocks like
Eicher Motors
Sun Pharma
Mayur Uniquoters
Page Ind
GRUH
Kitex
Kewal Kiran Clothing
Torrent Pharma
Symphony
TCS
HUL
etc

I am confused what to do. I am sorry If this post irritates you , I just want to explore and learn from your valuable experiences.

Thanks for your patience.

Regards,
Sunny

1 Like

Welcome to VP sunny.

Coming to your question, the answer may be different for everyone, depending on an individual’s investing practice.

Considering your readiness to commit to long term investing practice, you can enter at any stage. In the long term, with a good portfolio, you’ll make good returns.