Omkar's Portfolio Analysis and Discussion

Hello fellow investors,

After procrastinating for almost a year, I am attempting to write this post on my investment journey so far, my current status of the portfolio and my thought process. The idea is to keep this forum as a running diary and try to learn from you all with your comments and inputs.

About myself

I am a typical engineer + MBA guy from Mumbai who finds himself in the bell curve’s average range in the IT industry. With some luck and persistence, I managed to harvest currency arbitrage opportunities. Currently, I am in the UK with my wife and do not have any complaints about my work life. I started investing in the year 2014 post my MBA. After seven years, I can say with some confidence that ‘Equity Investing’ is something that interests me. Hopefully, I will persist with this “side hustle” over the coming years (and hopefully decades!)

A brief overview of my Journey from 2014 till now

You guessed it right; I was drawn to the stock market in the raging small-cap bull market of 2014 with the belief that the best way to invest is to concentrate on the next small-cap multi-bagger idea. Having convinced with my abilities to identify a so-called multi-bagger, I started building a concentrated position in one idea from 2014. I was euphoric about the company’s prospect and expecting many X returns in the next 2 to 3 years. The plot was set where Mr Market was ready to ambush a newbie, and it did not disappoint. The bear cycle in the broader market from 2018 – 2020, followed by the deadly Mar 2020 crash, challenged my temperament and thought process. The bear cycle’s emotional impact was magnified because of my concentrated position, which made me question my approach. It made me introspect about how I should think about my risk appetite and how should I attune my risk/return knobs.