NEW EQUITY Investing

Can I be guided for investing for long term, the companies to choose and allocation and number of companies.in portfolio … Whom to follow… etc…
I am Government TEACHER, teaching for classes 6th to 10th…
I am also new to investing…
I just learned about stock market (Few days back)
I am ready to take risk in my investing journey…
I Came to know about VALUEPICKR forum from SAHIL SHARMA… Whose is active on Twitter sahil_vi
Please give suggestions…
Than you

4 Likes

Dear Sir,

There are various ways to initiate your Do it Yourself Investment journey (specifically Equity investment).

Foremost being self aware that equity investment in itself carries Risk as compared to other safe investment options being available (Post office, Bank Fixed deposits etc), but over a longer time horizon (5Y and above) the rewards are good – Generally the returns expected are (Country GDP+Inflation+Alpha).

Starting point could be – read a lot, make notes and evaluate what kind of investor you are.

Reason being: in case you blindly follow and get impressed by various twitter threads on a particular company – the creator of the post might be correct from his/her point of view but he/she is not aware of my situation (elaborated below).

To make the point clear – when you teach a particular subject to Class 6 students the content and references are different as to when you teach the same subject to Class 10.

As an investor one needs to note down his income, expenditure and savings, accordingly a portion of savings can go for equity investment – for first 5 years it can be done via DIRECT Systematic Investment Planning (SIP) through Mutual Fund House/Index ETF investment, to keep the cost low.

Keep it simple.

Over a period of say 3 to 5 years you gain knowledge and the regular SIP creates a reasonable corpus. Thereafter you can take a call to open Trading (Dmat) account and go for direct equity investment.