Midhun's Investment journey and Space to organize investment ideas

Valuations wise
The company has still lot of fire in it

Future outlooks seems soo bright
TAM for kusum yojana only seems to be around 1.5 lac crores

Even excluding kusum,the business looks soo lucrative considering market position and patents available.

Another important thing is the management attitude towards their business

Cancellation of a 2000 cr order speculating that money payable might not be swift shows how calculative the management is apart from trust in their business to bag other orders

Portfolio Update :

Bought Addictive learning, Macfos, Tembo global, Axiscades, Zaggle Prepaid and Kernex Micro.

Sold Bikaji Foods , Annapurna Swadist , Waaree Energies, GRP , Epack durables and trimmed 30% of Gufic Bio.

Need to trim stock count to max 20 ASAP :pensive:. Portfolio currently at ATH levels.

Will share the reasoning on each of the new buys and sells in a seperate post.

Stock Date of 1st Purchase Avg Invested price Current Price Dec 24 % Weightage
Neuland Labs Jul-21 2067 14009 12.49
Websol Energy Oct-24 1168 1813 8.38
IRIS business Sep-23 128 446 6.00
KPIT Mar-19 40 1433 5.97
Shakti Pumps May-24 415 1011 5.82
TechnoElectric Nov-23 656 1618 4.50
Gufic Bio Feb-22 230 436 4.23
Navin Flourine Sep-19 680 3388 3.88
Anant Raj Jul-24’ 517 819 3.86
ZEN Technologies Jul-24 1700 2560 3.77
IFB INDUSTRIES Jul-24 1711 1833 3.46
Danish Power Nov-24 936 1170 3.31
Frontier Spring Aug-24 2358 2421 3.20
E2E Networks Jul-24 2537 3847 2.99
Rategain Travel Nov-23 580 705 2.94
Kernex Micro Dec-24 1439 1380 2.80
Polyplex Corporation Nov-24 1221 1290 2.74
Cartrade Aug-24 940 1592 2.44
Macfos Dec-24 1216 1487 2.10
Pennar Industries May-24 141 196 1.94
Tembo Global Dec-24 783 779 1.84
TRIL Oct-24 824 1066 1.76
Addictive Learning Dec-24 377 368 1.74
Emerald Finance Jul-24 89 136 1.73
Zaggle Prepaid Dec-24 563 537 1.55
Tejas Networks Oct-24 1369 1237 1.28
Axiscades Mistral Dec-24 560 586 0.97
Cyient DLM Oct-24 691 664 0.88
Advait Infratech Aug-24 2078 1582 0.75
Cash 0 0.70

Equity smallcap and midcap has been the stand out performers in 4 out of the last 5 yrs. Even gold and silver has fared well !!

:crossed_fingers: Musings On the year gone by

This post is directed to myself more than anyone else. This is how I reflect and evaluate the year gone by and my aspirations and hopes for the current year. I must say I was inspired by the posts of @phreakv6 Phreak's Thoughts, Ideas and Opinions but as they say in the bible " I am not worthy of untying the straps of his sandal".

Last year has been a tumultuous rollercoaster ride on the personal front and exceptional on the pf front. I accepted a job abroad after working for 22 years in my home state , worked for a few months and then quit abruptly. I turned a full time investor post that . Only time will tell if my decision was right. Pf did exceedingly well , raked up 100% returns this year with very small cash infusion. I am pretty sure this kind of returns will never happen in the years to come and its a case of “rising tide lifts all boats”.

• Few of the stocks that did phenomenally well were Neuland labs, IRIS business, Shakti pumps , PGEL, HBL Power, Gujarat Themis,Techno Electric Engg etc : Most of these were picked up last year and year before and I continue to hold most of them except PGEL and Guj Themis. I sold 2/3rd of Neuland labs after Q2 commentary of flattish performance for the rest of the year, to my eternal dismay :frowning_face:
    Similarly I sold PGEL at c. Rs 650 to see it soar another double from there ! Some lessons learned on the supremacy of markets

• Few of the average performers in the portfolio include : Gufic, KPIT(bought in 21) , Navin (I bought in 2019), Bikaji, Annapurna , Waaree energies , GRP . I continue to hold Gufic, KPIT and Navin .

• Few of the stocks that didnt perform : Sanghvi movers, tarachand , Basilic/Digikore/Phantom, Shivalik . I have exited all these names .

• Some of the stocks that I entered this year and continue to hold : Websol,Anant Raj, Zen Tech, Cartrade, TRIL, Danish Power, Zaggle, Tembo Global, Macfos, Pennar industries and Addictive Learning.

Learnings and Aspirations

• I picked most of the stocks based on the excellent quarterly performance . Prabhakar Kudva talks about it here…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUXi07HAzIk . I guess in bull markets that strategy will work even though the markets would have priced in the expectation of good performance quite a bit. Even if you have to forego a good bit of initial moves, this has given me good returns . Stories like PGEL, GRP, Websol , Bikaji etc were identified so. I want to study technicals this year so as to identify stories even before those reflect in numbers . I dont think I will ever be a pure technical guy but I feel a technofunda approach lopsided towards fundamentals would suit me. Another second order consequence of this was that I looked up almost all companies that came out with their results in Q2 and Q3 . While this is not an easy task , this I believe is in the spirit of Peter Lynch saying " *The person that turns over the most rocks wins the game * or Buffet saying " Well start with the A’s ".

• Value pickr is a gold mine and cant thank enough the role it has paid in generating new ideas, building conviction etc. When I see the quality of the investors participating I realize how much more harder I need to work and that keeps me motivated. I have long looked up to the senior boarders and mentors like Hitesh Bhai, Ayush bhai, Pratyush bhai, Abhishek dada, Donald ji , Bharani bhai, S Patel ji and Rupesh ji among many others. This year I want to write and contribute to this forum more. I believe the more we selflessly share the more it comes back to us. Thats a rule that holds true in life, relationships and compounding of knowledge and wealth alike. I really like the idea of Guy Spier of selfless giving and equating value investing with living a virtuous life https://fs.blog/education-value-investor/.
    Part of the reason why I left my job and jumped into the uncertainty of jobless life was because of the endless monotony of meaningless meetings and corporate politics.
    I also would want to be part of a group of like minded investor friends whom I can sound out ideas and learn and grow together this year.

• Avoiding FOMO and Panic is probably a big part of investing success. Equanimity, self belief and courage are virtues that will hold me in good stead. I believe bear markets / sub optimal return periods are around the corner (But no one knows when). Selling is something I am very poor at. I want to learn more on selling strategies . I like the ideas of Rajasekhar Iyer on selling and am trying to build a system of selling around it.
    I also want to pursue meditation this year to improve concentration and overall mental wellness. I am realizing now that full time investing is an individual sport and you need to constantly back yourself. There are constant chances of relapse , lethargy and drudgery and you need to motivate your self constantly especially in the times of negative markets .

• Position sizing and trimming the positions : Position sizing is something I need to learn and implement . I have around 28 stocks currently in my pf and that I realize is a bit too much . Eventhough 80% is held in top 15 stocks and rest are foot in the door kind of bets , I need to strive to make the pf 15 at best for more concentration, deeper study and meaningful positions. Selling is a painful process and I guess thats the reason why I hold so many positions. I guess one of the mantras for this year would be Go Deeper and avoid the shallow. Deeper research probably builds better conviction, lets you connect the dots and possibly makes you a better investor.

• On a personal front the aims are to eat healthy, workout more, work on mental health and be grateful more. As the saying goes "to finish first you need to first finish ".* Its important to lead a healthy life both mentally and physically. Plan is to eat more protein ,avoid sugar , refined carbs and processed foods as much as possible . Workout , mobility and strength training for 5x a week . Other endeavors are Chain /guide the mind monkey , worry less, be less angry , forgive easily and take responsibility and pray /meditate more. Need to build a habit of daily journaling , pen down the buy/sell decisions. (I started last year but have been erratic ). Another goal is to read more books . In fact I have read much lesser since turning full time than previously . Lack of general/broad reading makes me feel hollow which I intend to correct in '25.

Apologies for this long monologue , but this serves as a sign post of my thoughts and aspirations in 24-25. I wish you all a great new year !!!

45 Likes

Thank you so much fo sharing your journey in 2024, it is indeed motivating. Can you please pick up one stock from the list of stocks you entered this year and explain how did you come across this stock and what made you to build conviction to buy into the stock? TIA

Hi @duvvurib ,

I came across Websol when I was looking at quarterly results of companies with earning surprises on the positive side . In Q1 Websol posted the first quarter of profits after a long time.

The company does’nt do any concalls but there is a beautiful thread on VP about the company and some of the members like Iampearl and TradingWithMind have done excellent work which helped me understand the company better. I had also read about the Solar sector from Premier energy DRHP which helped connect the dots better.

The AR of Websol is quite informative which also helped to build conviction. Websol according to me is one of the few cell manufactures in India and is still priced reasonable at a forward basis. If they can execute their plans ( 2.4 GW cell capacity by FY 28 from current 600 MW cell) , I believe it has potential to be a multibagger.

Obviously there are inherent risks like govt support to Solar Cells and Modules dissipating, Technology getting obsolete (They have already burnt their hand once in migrating to Mono Perc) , dumping by Chinese circumventing the trade barriers , Company getting into financial troubles etc. But these are monitorable and as JM Kaynes said " When the facts change I change my mind. What do you do sir ".

Hope I could answer to your question.

Sharing a revert given to a fellow boarder on the thoughts on current markets and specific actions regarding sell or hold. Removing the name in the interest of confidentiality. Posting here for posterity sake.

Hi xx,

I wish I had a clear answer . I am also not able to decide the course of action . But thinking loudly, There are 2 possible approaches:

1. To take a call based on the fundamentals of the underlying stock

Or

1. Take calls based on price action : For eg : Sell the stock once it breaches the 50 DMA / 200 DMA etc or Define the threshold of loss you can take : like 10% loss at a portfolio level or so.

While it’s logical to act basis the first approach as it’s the underlying business that is important , one must also not forget the simple equation : Price = P/ E * Eps . Hence if the market perception changes from euphoria to gloom & doom, stocks which used to command 100+ PE would come crashing down for no apparent reason . One might even wonder why after a near perfect result, the stock is hitting back to back lower circuits. Case in point is stocks like E2E , TARIL etc ( I hold both in my portfolio) .

The second approach is what I wanted to follow to make sure that the pain of notional losses is kept to a minimum and you live to fight another day even though it doesn’t appeal to your chivalric senses :grinning: .
But that approach is also easier said than done. Selling your oft cherished idea is a pain , on top of it Fomo will kick in if the price rises after selling the stock.

What I plan to do is following a thought experiment. ie : whether the stock is a buy at the current price based on my valuation bench mark ( 2x in 3 yrs or 26% cagr ) . If it’s so I intend to hold or add more. If not I intend to sell and build cash. Of course it goes without saying , if the fundamentals deteriorate then it’s a sure fire sell.

Hope this helps …

Very insightful article on Chinese ability to scale technologies and beat US in its own game .

Story of unintended consequences. MAGA seems to have resulted in MEGA ( Making Europe great again ) . With enhanced defence spending and govt stimulus European stocks should outperform . With tariffs being announced and postponed for 1 month at a time lot of prestocking will happen from the likes of :cn: China , Mexico :mexico: and Canada :canada: which should also impact US manufacturing detrimentally .

Loved your post, especially the part where you talk about being generous and sharing more.

I do agree that investing can be a lonely journey at times but that is where we need to connect with fellow investors and bounce off ideas.

I believe we are a seeing a trend reversal where large producers( Exporters) of goods like China and Germany will increase internal consumption and consumers ( Importers) like USA and India will increase Production. So if we are investors in India we should look at companies that are increasing production.

Story of BYD and its elusive boss Wang Chuanfu . This week has been momentous for BYD after they released their “ Gods eye “ autonomous driving system followed by pathbreaking 5 mn battery charging tech.

Good times are in store for :ship: builders. The US :united_states: demand for new ships would be a boon for South Koreans and Japanese builders. Can Indian shipyards get some of the pie ?

Have been looking to enter this space for sometime now. Almost 6-8 months.

But there is no clear sectoral company which we can invest in apart from PSU shipyards, Any ideas you may have on possible entries is welcome.

Hi @hardik_shah1 ,

Other than PSU shipyards Swan defense is a possible option. But it is on back to back upper circuits with almost zero liquidity. Not sure if there are other shipbuilding operations in the private space in my limited knowledge.

Yes. You can do it through parent Swan Energy, though that firm has multiple CG issues. L&T is the only other player here.

I looked through this sector before but nothing much came to light.

Portfolio Update :

The current portfolio looks like this

The overall portfolio dropped by 28% from the top made in December 2024 . Currently it has recovered a bit but still down by 21% .

The carnage was painful to say the least with lots of gains made in the last leg of the bull phase evaporating in a matter of few days. While I was almost sure of an impending crash, true to form I was taken by surprise not by the timing as much but by the ferocity of the fall. Some of the stocks in the portfolio dropped by 30-40% in a matter of few sessions. I had resolved to keep most of the gains by following a technical approach and selling stocks once they drop below their 200 DMA / 10% of the weighted average but realized it is easier said than done. It is difficult to sell when stocks fall for no rhyme or reason ,but eventually the pain was unbearable and I ended up selling large chunk of the companies.

Few take aways and positives

1. I had always wanted to trim the number of stocks in my portfolio to around 15 and focus on the overall portfolio construction rather than individual stock performance. I could finally get the portfolio to 14-15 stocks now .

2. Time is of essence in the market. The stocks that have delivered have been held for long . It also means that you need to cut your weeds so as not to keep your duds to pull your performance down. (The dilemma of whether you have sold a stock too early due to price action/have you sold at the bottom is killing though )

3. The portfolio weightages also were lopsided as some of the stocks had run up faster than the rest . In this drop across the board I was able to rebalance the portfolio to a large extend , but still for some stocks like Axiscades etc. I couldn’t allocate enough.

4. It is very important to follow your process ruthlessly . Had I been able to follow my selling discipline , I could have had a much better outcome. (mostly these revelations happen in hindsight :slight_smile: )

5. Controlling your emotions of FOMO and panic are paramount and is a much much higher virtue than all the stock picking skills that you may amass.

6. During this carnage phase as predicted by some stalwarts including our @hitesh2710 , I could personally experience false bravado, fearfulness , panic and later capitulation first hand. I believe this experience is a costly tuition fees paid and I should take home the learnings to the future.

7. I sold lots of companies bought during Q2 and Q3 , some at a loss and some with marginal gains and got into almost 60% cash . Now I have slowly started deploying and is sitting at around 30% cash now.

8. New entries include Bluejet, Ceinsys, Yatra , Kilburn , TD power and Paramount communication.

9. Presently I am tracking and evaluating Action Construction, Force Motors, Kitex Garments , Senco Gold, Shilchar technologies, Garware Hitech, Manorama Industries, Suven pharma and Shaily among others.

Trump, Tariffs and other Musings

There are decades when nothing happens and then there are days when decades happen “. This quip is attributed to Vladimir Lenin. The last few days were such that it felt decades are happening.

There is a pattern for those who follow Donald Trumps actions. At beginning of every event involving the DON, everyone brushes it of as highly improbable even bordering to insanity, then slowly as the probability of the event increases everyone hopes that it doesn’t happen (surely better sense will prevail). Later when the dreaded event happens people are in shock and disbelief and later resort to wide spread panic and capitulation to reality. If we take most of the events like Trumps first time republican nomination, first term presidency, second nomination, second presidency, the proposed Ukraine and Gaza deal and present tariff wars we see this pattern play out again and again.

It was George Bernard Shaw who said “The reasonable man adapts himself to the world, the unreasonable man tries to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends upon the unreasonable man “.

While this is right more often than not, I am not sure whether its always progress that is the outcome of the unreasonable man. Adolf Hitler is a case in point.

Donald Trump’s demands and actions have always been preposterous and obnoxious. It is believed to have got cemented as a strategy from his days as builder and realtor in the 80’s. It’s a strategy along with hyperbole which is used by street smart and successful traders and builders. Demand the moon and back down an inch to always get what you wanted. Along with this most of his beliefs and economic principles (Most analysts believe he doesn’t have any though :frowning:) were rooted on the ideas of that era. There was an over whelming romanticizing of the pre depression era of huge tariffs, an era where taxes were not applied and govts were hands off from businesses. His favorite President is supposed to be William McKinley whose presidency was marked by high tariffs and an expansionist agenda where he annexed Puerto Rico, Guam, Philippines and Hawaii as the spoils of the Spanish American war.

Now back to the present, the countries across the world are slapped with base tariffs of 10% and most of the bigger economies, friends and foes alike are slapped with additional tariffs ranging from as high as 54% (34%+20%) and 46% to China and Vietnam, 26% to India, 24% to Japan , 20% to EU and so on.

The absurdity of it all is that a measure which is touted as reciprocal tariff was calculated based on the below formula:

(Import deficit of US v/s the Exporting nation / Total exports to US from the nation) x .5

For eg. India has total exports to the US worth $ 86 bn and US has a trade deficit against India to the tune of $ 45 bn. So total tariff imposed on India is 45/86 = 52 x .5 = 26%.

Read somewhere that this is as absurd as taxing you based on the number of vowels in your name :blush:.

The tariffs are bound to be a failure in obtaining its slated objectives like onshoring US manufacturing, bringing more jobs to the US and making Americans wealthy etc. The early indications from the market indicate that the tariffs are bound to stoke inflation, break critical supply chains and if large trading partners chose to retaliate (China has already done with 34%) will spell doom across the world and the US

There are many theories being touted by the MAGA ideologues that this is just an opening salvo of a much bigger agenda. Some of the theories include that this is a ploy to de value the US dollar by bringing every major country on the negotiating table and sign off a Mar-a-lago accord (a la Plaza accord) aimed at devaluing the US dollar, reduce trade deficits and boost US exports. Another reason touted is that this is to provide for US debt reduction and repayment which is to the tune of $ 1 trillion+ in current fiscal. Its true that US has been running a huge deficit for several years which led the world to export to the US and save and transact in the US Securities and US dollar. But this system had worked well in the past and despite all its inefficiencies have uplifted several millions from poverty and to relative prosperity.

Remember our own demonetization debacle, even when it was amply evident that it had back fired, the bhakts took great pains and to provide with wild theories and explanations of why it was a brilliant move. I remember one theory stating that the new 2000 Rs note has a tracking chip embedded so as to track it :blush:.

I believe more than anything else the current US scenario is a case of “Persian Messenger Syndrome”.

It is believed that the Persian monarch had a system of killing the messenger of the bad news. The messenger hence would take great pains not to deliver the bad news for fear of retribution and the king and court only used to hear the good news. In fact, the court was also chosen in such a way as to only applaud the good news. The checks and balances and the sane voices of the first term of Trump presidency is largely absent this time and even though some of the policy influencers in the top echelons are accomplished in their respective fields, I am not entirely sure if they have the moral compass and rectitude to call a spade a spade and deliver the bad news.
What ever is the reason for this tariff war there are going to be dire repercussions and unless it is withdrawn this would be a lose-lose war for all the parties involved. But the problem with right wing strong men like Mr. Trump is that they find it hard to reverse course and would need a strong alibi for the fear of being touted as a failure. They would let the world crumble rather than accept failure.

What does this mean for the investors at large. As John Kenneth Galbraith said “ We have two class of forecasters . Those who don’t know and those who don’t know they don’t know.
I wont venture to predict the direction of the market. The market and we the “reasonable people” per Mr. Shaw might adjust . Hence I propose to follow this philosophy for the time being.

It has been a while since I posted here. Some reset happened in professional status due to which was not active in VP .

Sharing the latest portfolio below :

Portfolio is back to previous highs after almost 10 months . New additions include Stallion India, Vintage Coffee, Dishman Carbogen , Sundrop, Indosolar & Waaree Energies (Re-entry). Some of the earlier picks like Yatra , Cartrade , Frontier Spring etc has done well.
Few of the businesses like Navin Flourine , KPIT and Neuland have been held in the portfolio for more than 5 years.

Phenomenal conviction in stoke kpit,navin etc, keepit up!

Can you please help me with your mentel model in these companies start from picking? How do you think while holding(if there is an issue)? And when do you sell?(Why)

Additionally also please let me know while picking stock what parameters you look like TAM, Management etc?