Indian Energy Exchange (IEX)

Q2FY20 CCT Notes Q2FY20.pdf (268.1 KB)

This one was very informative about the business segments and opportunity and is a must-read to understand the business.

Jan 1, 2020, launch date for real-time trading. The sizeable opportunity of 30-40 BU in the bilateral market which is 3-4 months contracts.

When demand is low, overdraw is minimal and hence DSM volume is less. With RE the uncertainty in availability is more. And more you overdraw you are charged 100% of DSM price. So conversion to spot will happen when real-time starts.

We are present in the LT (within the ST market) till the time the market is there. We expect it to shift to the shorter term.

Real-Time, long duration and the cross border will become a reality by FY end. The volume in these markets is bigger than what we do today. Green TAM will not be a reality this FY. In long-duration, we will have to work out the margin profile differently from where we are now. RT and CB will be similar to current.

Open Access has seen good growth this year due to good price discovery on our platform and this will bring in more liquidity and improve price discovery further. RTM will not wait for NOAR National OA Registry by POSOCO as CERC has agreed.

We have also seen a lot of traction in the weekly market as well because sometimes what happens is distribution companies when they procure power through DEEP platform under bilateral, we try to convert them to the spot market, so some distribution companies get converted directly into the spot market. Some take time and in between they want to try weekly market also because this gives them an opportunity to buy power in fixed quantum for week as a whole so once or twice, they buy there, and they start comparing their prices with the spot market and then they try to shift to the spot market also. So, we have seen traction in all the segments and overall growth.

The gas exchange market is as big as electricity. The market for gas is in fertilizer, CGD and some power producers. The situation is where electricity trading was 10-12 years back. We are leading the initiative to introduce this and this excites us.

Past growth was driven by growth in the overall electricity market and LT PPAs not being signed. We are calibrating ourself to the macro GDP picture and dealing with it. We are launching new products to increase our TAM and customer base.

Growth drivers - new products, new tenures, the shift from DSM, DEEP, 24/7 power, saubhagya, industrial growth with OA.

We welcome competition in the market as we are currently alone in trying to expand the market segments. Currently, we are at 4% in trading market and ST at 11% if it goes to 15-20 everyone will benefit.

Competition is for bilateral volumes, DSM not going to compete as we are trying to take through you.

Running of Business - Your first question was about how we guarantee, what we are doing is as you know the market is open at 10 in the morning and then the published final schedules are filed in by evening. Once the final schedules are published our job is over. Now all these regional load dispatch centres and state load dispatch centres will publish these results and the consumer is aware how much unit he has to draw from the grid. So open access consumer typically have supply from their own distribution company and parallelly they are also buying from exchange to take advantage of the lower prices. What they do is, some part they are buying from the exchange and some other part they are drawing from the grid, so the quantity that has been scheduled they will draw and they will pay to exchange and for the remaining part, they pay to the distribution company. Whatever decisions are there on account of distribution companies, they will settle it with the distribution company. So there is no risk on that front. Whatever final schedules are there they have to abide with and they have to follow that schedule. They have to meet those schedules. I think we should clarify the part as if sellers are defaulting electricity system, is a bit different from others. I do not know whether you are taking reference from gas. Here in this case if the seller is defaulting it means that he is not able to deliver, then he pays his deviation charge to the system operator, so we will connect with the state, then he handles then the system operator in the state like SLDC, settles with him the penalty for the deviation or the imbalance created by him. If he is connected to the interstate grid then the RLDC comes in, it is totally independent. In case SLDC schedules are issued to the seller is to be maintained by the seller and scheduled issued to the buyer needs to be maintained by the buyer and if the seller is defaulting there is no impact on the buyer.

OA is favourable in Gujarat, Haryana, TN, AP, Telangana and RJ. Open charges are not very high and we are seeing an increase in participation.

Medium-term PPAs auctions were floated in Mar 19, not a single PPA has been signed. Price discovered was Rs. 4.41. And everyone knows our prices. Last year volume growth was due to coal linkage problem.

Last FY Ecert was 11.5 lac. This year we expect 5 lacs in H2. The overall number is expected to be much bigger than last time but we do not know whether we will happen in Q3 or 4 or spillover to next year so we are taking only a part of it.

On CB final procedure approval is pending from CEA.

Gateway issue for RT market: It is sort of handled. The market model which they prepared about a year back when it was 100% only a paper where they were talking about the model itself they have made certain corrections so the initial model was this market would be one hour. It would be on hourly basis four-time block, so now they have reduced it to 30 minutes, which is two time block to address some of the concerns, which are related to gate closure, but the entire thing is still not covered in that, but I think the initial feelers that states are more or less okay with this and since the correction from 60 minutes to 30 minutes has been done they are sort of accepting it and we are expecting it to start very soon. Because of the Discoms concerns on the gate closure, which they said that right to recall should be very close so that part for taking care of that part only they have made it now half-hourly trading. Earlier they thought that will trade 24 times in a day and for each one hour and for every 15 minutes in one hour. Now they are reducing it to half an hour. The purpose was to take care of the concerns of the distribution company on right to recall period. Gate closure should not be a hurdle to the entire market.

IEX Vs DEEP

Also, how do you differentiate versus DEEP because I was just thinking DEEP gives the Discoms an option that you can pay after say 60 days or 30 days, but in your case, they will have to pay upfront, so why would a Discom want to shift to you?

We have various contracts in fact. One would be like DEEP also. We are thinking and we are also working on contracts, which are like our weekly contracts, so these are more standard contracts where you can have high participation coming from both buyer side and sell-side. I will give you one example. Suppose you are aware that there is a contract available for procurement of power for the month of December and it is going to close on this particular day so you will have participation coming from various sellers as well as various generators as well as various distribution companies. This is not happening on the platform. It is more of an RF through the sort of a thing where one distribution company is placing their bid and then multiple generators are coming and the price is being discovered and the reverse option is done and then these are executed. So ours would be more of a standardized contract and standardized product similar to what we have in our weekly market and globally also if you see it is like this only. More standardized and more liquidity. This is how it happens. Now your second question was whether the settlement would be done on a monthly basis, no. In our case, it would be done on a daily basis. We will take an advance, but that would be one day in advance. We will not ask them to make payment for 30 days in advance. They will make payments for the only day in advance and on a daily basis settlement will be done and then the value would be because there will be no financing cost. There will be no risk because today you have seen that various distribution companies when they come to DEEP the price discovered for all these distribution companies are very different, where their creditworthiness is not good they get very high prices. Some other distribution companies like Gujarat they get low prices. When you are coming to exchange you are treated at par because the entire risk is being absorbed by exchange, so the exchange is taking responsibility of paying to the seller and then the value would be reflected in the lower price that will be discovered at the exchange.

For instance, there is an overanxious customer and he pays some additional charges because of these additional surcharges and infrastructure and other things and so says for example gone for a long-term contract I mean less than one year contract and there is a change in the regulation so who bears that risk? Is it on the customer itself or that is on you for sure?

Not really. What happens is in all those contracts the price discovered is at regional beneficiary and we are responsible for that price only. All those charges are to be borne by respective whether it is generator or Discom their side of charges will be borne by themselves.

Uploading all previous CCTs in one place:

Q1FY19.pdf (277.5 KB) Q1FY20.pdf (366.7 KB) Q2FY18.PDF (289.9 KB) Q2FY19.pdf (331.3 KB) Q2FY20.pdf (268.1 KB) Q3FY18.pdf (286.9 KB) Q3FY19.pdf (344.1 KB) Q4FY18.pdf (313.7 KB) Q4FY19.pdf (355.8 KB)

Potential disruption rising in the horizon. Currently only limited to P2P renewables.

https://www.powerledger.io/our-technology/#energy-trading

Please correct me if I am but isn’t Blockchain a new method for settlements? Why cant an exchange use Blockchain?

Well they certainly can. Blockchain is a distributed trust system, while visa, mastercard, exchanges, banks, money transfer are centralized trust system. They are just different ways of enabling the same function. Have thought of the same question that you asked about NSE, BSE & MCX. Exchanges are highly regulated businesses, I think it would require a proof of concept and approval from the regulator to change the settlement mechanisms. While privates can adopt new technologies and deploy it in niches operations. In case of exchanges the threats is difficult to determine as it can be real in terms of technology disruption and could be illusory due to regulatory protection.

But the threat of disruption to current business is very real if the regulator sides with the disruptor. Take the case of NSE adopting digitization before BSE. The results were disastrous for BSE, a newcomer just uprooted them.

Another pathway is that incumbents can acquire the technology if they find it difficult to deploy it organically. Something like car manufacturers will not be disrupted from electric vehicles.

Given all the forking future possibilities thats why I said potential disruption ahead that should be watched.

They are notoriously slow for huge data. Generally any technology can disrupt incumbent in ideal conditions. But from practical utlity and ease there needs to be lot of commitment and condusive environment

Investor presentation08f65ae6-ef95-41ea-9ff5-ddb01fd82a87(3).pdf (2.7 MB)

renewable energy trading … https://cointelegraph.com/news/largest-indian-state-to-pilot-blockchain-based-solar-energy-trading

"Recently, the Assam government had asked the Centre to pay ₹1,000 crore to NTPC to help it get out of a deal to buy power from the 750 MW thermal power plant in Bongaigaon. This is because power exchanges, with their one-day and up to 11-day contracts, have allowed utilities to lower the cost of power procurement.

The price at which electricity can be bought at exchanges has gone down to ₹3 KWh, which is lower than the rates under many long-term PPAs signed with power producers. This move to link all the regional power grids with a single national grid has allowed surplus power from one region to flow to other regions where demand is higher. It also gives reliable data on the electricity rates at which a State power utility can buy from exchanges.

Now that there is surplus power being generated in the country, and with the rise of cheaper renewable energy over the years, State utilities have realised that they are now stuck with expensive PPAs. They are using every chance they get to buy power from exchanges."

hi All. This thread has some incredible posts.

Adding my observations here -

I have been grappling with this one question - Does IEX have a sustainable competitive advantage?

We can clearly establish that the economies of scale are inherent in the business since marginal cost of revenues is near zero. However, does this business qualify for network effects? Both sides of the network, the buyers and the sellers, grapple with pricing issues – private buyers are restricted due to high open access charges, with the buyer pool limited to 55 discoms when the price of electricity shoots up. Sellers, on the other hand, are the distressed generators who have not yet been able to get a PPA for the electricity and are selling power at marginal cost (eg. The breakeven point rate for coal generators is INR 5 per Unit, much higher than the price discovered on the exchange). So long as this strenuous conditions do not go away, network effects, where both user networks benefit, do not seem to emerge.

The grey bar, which is the volumes cleared on exchange has been steadily increasing as a % of potential bids which indicates improving price discovery on the exchange.

Will IEX, in the current dynamic, remain in my high quality universe? It’s a difficult question, but for now, I would go with Yes. Any reforms in power transmission and distribution are bound to help IEX increase its volumes and the short term market is here to stay, with more contribution from renewables and lower number of PPAs. In short term market too, IEX is poised to be the best platform since it’s the only one that offers counter party guarantee and also collects money upfront, in a sector wracked by bankruptcies and trust deficit. With regulations a major risk to the company (CTT almost broke MCX’s back), the margin of safety I can count on is buy the business at its steady state value.

I have made detailed write up covering the sector and the company here -

Do let know of your views, if any.

I don’t think top 10 sellers on IEX in day ahead market (which is biggest segment of IEX as per current) are distressed generators. These seem to me state generators, which are using IEX to sell extra electricity. In one of the recent investor presentation, IEX had put a case study of how Punjab is using IEX to manage its varying electricity demand and saving money.
Top 10 sellers and buyers on IEX:

Contribution from top 10 sellers: 40%.
Contribution from top 10 buyers: 60%

Refer CERC annual report on short term power market for more data.

How does it matter whether the top customers are distressed or not. So long as they are not going to offer credit on the receivables, does it matter…

hi @jhasuraj

thank you for your points and charts. i was incorrect in assuming that only the independent generators are selling power on IEX. i tried and further looked up on some of the biggest sellers above.

Teesta Urja, a Sikkim based Hydroelectric company has defaulted on its loans and one of the reason for the same is under recovery in tariff by selling on the exchange. They have a long term PPA but state discoms have not been procuring any electricity and thus they are selling on IEX under duress.
Teesta Urja -R-07012019.pdf (206.5 KB)

further, even sembcorp energy made losses on a standalone level in 2018 and 2019, while their consol profits were quite low. (their IEX exposure is 15% of total sales)
Uploading: SEIL Annual Report_2018-2019.pdf…

with regards to state discoms, are they selling the PPA contracted extra power on IEX? if that is the case, would this supply not reduce once PPA supply and state demand match?

thanks again!

TUL has signed a PPA for sale of 100% of saleable power with PTC, which will sell 70% of the total generation on a long-term basis and the rest on a short-term basis.

All their generating power are being sold in the exchange as the long term PPA is not operational. they make good amount of money while selling at the peak time and rest of the time they sell to cover for their debt servicing. its owned by sikkim govt.

Even if we assume, all the power from say almost all the generators has been signed in long term PPA. There would still be demand and supply fluctuation (both in upside and downside). Listing some of the reasons for the same here:

1. Extended monsoon can cause more hydro power production than anticipated.
  2. More number of sunny/cloudy days can increase/decrease production from solar and similar is true for wind.
  3. Extended summer, winter creates demand fluctuations.
  4. variation in demand of state electricity distribution companies in India due to geographical spread and varied climatic conditions. States with hydroelectric potential such as Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand and Sikkim are power surplus in the summer and monsoon seasons and are deficit in the winter season.
  5. Discoms who have signed PPA for 1000 MWs, is not forced to consumer X MWs daily and so suppose a discom consumed 800 MWs. Rest (200 MWs) can be sold by producer in short term market.
  6. RE sources (wind and solar power plants) would have more variation in power production as compared to coal based power. As more RE capacity comes up, they require a market where they can buy/sell this variation, as and when occur.

Due to these demand and supply fluctuations (which can not be forecasted ) there is an inherent need of a short term electricity market. For these fluctuation, it is not scalable/feasible to sign a PPA. One can not find a generator, negotiate the terms and sign a contract for the power which is required for say next day. So long term PPA is going to stay, along with short term electricity market. What will be share of long term PPA and short term market, only future will be tell. Currently short term market is 12% of total market. IEX should gain in short run from getting bigger in short term market by gaining market share from traders (like PTC), from reduction in DSM, from reduction in discom to discom buy and sell. But in the long run IEX can grow disproportionately if the short term electricity market as a percentage of total grows from current 12% to a better number (say 30-40% as in some of the developed countries).

hi @jhasuraj

this is indeed a comprehensive list of all the reason on why there would be a need to address the short term price and demand fluctuation. However, i find the exchange operations stymied on account of 2 reasons -

1. the open access charges levied to private buyers are uncalled for and have had a major impact on their volumes on the exchange -

% of Exchange Volumes attributed to –

Particulars 2017 2018 2019
Discoms 40% 67% 79%
Open Access Customers 60% 33% 21%

this decline is attributed to high open access charges which has resulted in the break even price for industrial consumers being less than INR 3 per Unit, these charges not being sustainable at all.

1. India power generators are all reliant on debt to create capacity and no bank in practice is willing to fund a generator who does not have a PPA, which is not the case in developed countries (which is why infact the growth in short term market has not been as fast as anticipated.

Further, i am of an opinion that DSM market as a component of short term market is quite different from exchanges and traders and increase in DSM operations do not necessarily translate into better fortunes for other categories.

i am more excited about energy derivatives, geographical expansion and removal of the non sensical 11 day restriction on the exchange operations.

yeah, as @bajji_s mentioned, PPAs never came to operation and TUF is totally reliant on IEX.

@rvetri - i was talking of the suppliers being distressed, not the customers. prices that one saw in 2017 (INR 2.4 per Unit) came from suppliers selling at marginal cost, not sustainable.

IEX electricity market trades 4,768MU in December’19 observing 51% YoY and 25% MoM increaseAverageprice in day-ahead market at ~Rs.2.93per unit is 11% lower than December’18 making the market increasingly attractive for buyers TAM volumes witness a whopping 347% YoY increase

Compared to Q3’18 basis TAM+DAM it should down about 8-9% in Q3’19 even though higher Dec volumes. Q3’19 DAM has fallen about 14% compared to Q3’18.

very true, last year Sept and Oct were having volumes in the range of 250-280 MUs, but this Q its been not more than 110 to 130 MUs, far lower than last year. unless and until DAM volumes does not increase, the profitability may not show drastic increase. All these news of RTM, new trading regulations will not increase the volume. the only way is for the economy to improve and thereby increase in Power demand. i feel the current increase in price of IEX is general improvement in the sentiments. The trigger will only come when we start exporting power considerably as well as restrict bilateral trades. Also Govt should allow URS power of NTPC to be sold in exchange