IDFC First Bank Limited

Well the major assets on a telcos books would be licenses etc. Not sure how their value would go down even in the case of bankruptcy? Maybe you could clarify?

I don’t think that is the case. At least not according to data released by RBI. Credit cards? Yes, CASA? No.
IDFCF:

month debit cards change
december 2666051
january 2773581 107530
february 2858871 85290
march 2935878 77007
april 3003620 67742
may 3038754 35134
june 3109070 70316
july 3191765 82695

HDFCB:

month debit cards change
december 35499961
january 35969705 469744
february 36455346 485641
march 36695799 240453
april 37041375 345576
may 37259604 218229
june 37791657 532053
july 38305455 513798

I don’t want to upset anyone by comparing with HDFCB :grin: actually wanted to compare with ICICI because of management pedigree but something weird is going there (closed inactive accounts?):

month debit cards -8640472
december 45379093
january 43621647 -1757446
february 39195525 -4426122
march 39001364 -194161
april 39073158 71794
may 39120487 47329
june 39111158 -9329
july 36738621 -2372537

Anyway, if we ignore ICICI data, one can conclude that rate of issuing new debit cards is a function of number of branches rather than of interest rate. Seems to be because bank employees proactively solicit new accounts. I would be interested in knowing how many customers spontaneously opened CASA accounts. If that number is low we can expect opex to remain high for the foreseeable future.

We can observe slowdown during second wave in April-May when lockdowns restricted movements, not only lockdowns but I suspect many employees unfortunately were affected or someone close to them did, and this happened across lending organizations. I’m following another small lender who said ~8% of employees tested positive, and that increases NPAs because it affects collections. One can only imagine how many borrowers themselves were affected and their livelihoods. Second was much worse than the first, anecdotally I know only 2 people personally who tested positive last year but this year more than 10.

The only thing I was disappointed with so far was high opex, I thought was it really necessary to aggressively expand during a pandemic after going through multiple big ticket losses in the midst of a merger. This data justifies high opex to some extent, other players are not going to sit around doing nothing waiting for IDFCF to fix its issues.

Disc: largest holding

Hey, can you please include the source in the post also? :v:

Sure Reserve Bank of India - Bankwise ATM/POS/Card Statistics

I didn’t post because this was already covered in the thread earlier. IMO every investor new to a company should go through all posts thoroughly. You’ll get to see bull and bear cases discussed and make an informed decision. This especially important in the case of IDFCF because it’s story so far is interesting, and that’s an understatement :smiley:

Edited wrong link

Actually credit cards is one of fastest growing segment for IDFCF. What is also surprising is that their credit card spends are far better than most companies.

See this:

Raw updated data for July & june

Bank Month PoS Transactions Value of Transactions (in Lac) Outstanding cards Transaction / card Value / Transaction Spend / card
IndusInd Bank June 3560605 257051 1569485 2.268645447 7219.306831 16378.04758
July 4274124 332221 1590723 2.68690652 7772.844213 20884.90579
Avg 3917364.5 294636 1580104 2.479181434 7521.281208 18646.62073
IDFCF June 1247150 59461 386801 3.224267776 4767.750471 15372.50421
July 1536823 72483 425260 3.613843296 4716.418221 17044.39637
Avg 1391986.5 65972 406030.5 3.428280634 4739.41378 16248.04048
American Express June 3603920 179357 1482771 2.430530406 4976.719794 12096.06878
July 4113708 223532 1469540 2.799316793 5433.832445 15211.01841
Avg 3858814 201444.5 1476155.5 2.614097228 5220.37341 13646.56366
HDFC Bank June 40002494 1753372 14828277 2.697716936 4383.15671 11824.51609
July 47343310 2083302 14763662 3.206745725 4400.414758 14111.01121
Avg 43672902 1918337 14795969.5 2.95167559 4392.510944 12965.26733
Citi Bank June 10369231 302718 2603989 3.982056376 2919.387175 11625.16432
July 12284152 362214 2599024 4.726448082 2948.628444 13936.53925
Avg 11326691.5 332466 2601506.5 4.353897059 2935.243712 12779.74896
ICICI Bank June 28302499 1188705 11034268 2.564963892 4200.000148 10772.84873
July 33450669 1434095 11239598 2.976144609 4287.193778 12759.30865
Avg 30876584 1311400 11136933 2.772449471 4247.231494 11775.23471
SBI June 31096314 1221507 12044135 2.581863621 3928.140808 10141.92385
July 36729081 1434172 12242481 3.000133796 3904.731512 11714.71698
Avg 33912697.5 1327839.5 12143308 2.792706691 3915.464112 10934.74282
Axis Bank June 14465088 519105 7136582 2.026892986 3588.675022 7273.860232
July 16912127 615854 7229303 2.339385553 3641.493468 8518.857212
Avg 15688607.5 567479.5 7182942.5 2.184147722 3617.143841 7900.376482
Kotak Bank June 4307469 150400 2355745 1.828495444 3491.609574 6384.392199
July 4942016 183821 2388819 2.068811408 3719.554935 7695.057683
Avg 4624742.5 167110.5 2372282 1.949491039 3613.401179 7044.293216
Federal Bank June 32377 819 14803 2.187191785 2529.573463 5532.662298
July 63331 2001 20687 3.061391212 3159.59009 9672.741335
Avg 47854 1410 17745 2.696759651 2946.462156 7945.900254

Working sheet:
IDFC Bank .xlsx (149.5 KB)

Some conclusion

Bounce back from 2nd wave visible in growth in both spend per transaction and transactions per card. IDFCF is growing fairly well compared to most banks with exception of federal which is on much smaller base.

Disc: Invested, biased

Right, but I was referring to new cards issued and that’s slowed down. I think in April they issued some ~60K new cards, in July it was ~38K if I’m not mistaken. This slow down is a good thing though because complete recovery will take time. I hope they don’t ramp it up quickly. Growing home loans faster would be a better choice now.

This is an expected behaviour right ? They have a decent waitlist before launching the product So, in first 2-3 months volumes will be from the leads sourced during waitlist period.

I think their card disbursements runrate is improving.

Incremental cards additions= New cards issued- Cards closed so, on higher base the incremental numbers will be tough.

Agree with the part about sourcing. That is the most likely explanation. But I don’t think there would be many closed cards so soon, especially when the interest rates are far lower compared to competitors.

[quote=“sahil_vi, post:1914, topic:3279”]
low base effect
[/quote ]

Isn’t base only relevant when using percentage changes? I don’t see how a smaller or larger base would influence absolute value changes every month. Agreed about the new product excitement. But that’s exactly the reason for the bank to be cautious, who knows how the new rates will influence consumer spending. The bank needs to continously analyze credit card behavior.

This topic is temporarily closed for at least 4 hours due to a large number of community flags.

This topic was automatically opened after 32 hours.

The points u mentioned are all true, but those are the things the management wants to see. There is a bit else which it doesn’t.

For one,

Timing of Equity Dilution.

I have read that management is not to keen on increasing the advances but turning around the quality: moving away from low yield wholesale to high yield retail advances.

Then what was the need for equity dilution which they recently did and got Rs3000 crores in the books by selling equity shares at Rs.57 per share?

From the AR:

“In June 20, even while COVID first wave was
raging, we raised Rs.2,000 crore of equity. Again, in April
21, the COVID second wave had just reared its head,
we raised Rs.3,000 crore of equity. We enjoy support of
long-term investors. Our capital adequacy is strong at
15.56% as of June 30, 2021”

They diluted twice in two years to maintain adequate CAR. Investors don’t like frequent dilutions. This keeps the share price down for long periods, till EPS growth picks up (which looks pretty distant).

And still CAR is barely adequate, probably lowest in the category. One more jolt, and they’d need more cash.

In the recent Quarter they earned a PPOP of Rs 1001. A good number, but cannot suffice to cover for provisioning and CaR, should there be any further quality issues with Assets.

Furthermore, equity Dilution is good when done at proper timing. When the stock price is soaring. That way dilution is far less. But, since it was done at such a low price, makes me suspicious whether it was a desperate move.

Someone had forwarded me this. I have used this as a motivating example to precisely estimate how much interest outgo they can save and when.

Someone has already posted this wonderful link. This gives exact distribution of the NCDs issued at high rates of interest.

Using this we can exactly estimate what impact CASA has had & will have (and when will it have) on bottomline.

IDFCF infra bonds.xlsx (16.4 KB)
Google sheets link for same sheet.

As an example: See bellow screenshot:

Shows that 75 cr has been added to bottomline between Sep 20 & now.

Additional 90 cr annual interest saving is expected by the time we reach end of FY23.

Note that all of this data is ONLY for interest saved on the NCDs covered by indiaratings link, which were a total of 20000 cr in Sep20. Total savings of 800 cr is expected with majority being realised by around FY25 end.

This data posted by Sahil on NCDs presents an idea for IDFCF CFO. The average rate on NCDs is 9%. The incremental liability rate for IDFCF is 5%. If they were to pass on part of the differential benefit to the bond holders as an extra incentive, say around 1% per annum, for premature encashments before 31 Dec 21, most of the NCDs would probably get encashed. It would be a win win for both the parties. My knowledge about bond markets and bond players is zero. I speak merely as a layman.

Maybe I did not understand what you said, but exchange of a 9% secured NCD for another financial instrument at say an effective yield of 6% - I assume you mean Desposits - will have to be done on an equal footing (i.e. fair value). No one is going to exchange a 9% fixed paper for a 6% deposit with the same party at the same price.

This means IDFC F buying back the NCDs at a good premium, with no gain in value. Why would IDFC F do that if instead every Rupee it has can be lent out at 14.5% as they claim?

It won’t make a difference. The bond holders would lose 1 year of interest and may want compensation of that in the form of adjusted interest rate or increase in redemption value. In either case, it won’t affect IDFC FB in so far as the time adjusted savings for it would remain similar. That’s my understanding.

And Sahil has posted some great data. With the CoF going to come down further with redemption of these NCDs in the next 2/3 years, the NIMs should improve and hence every other operating metric (PPOP, etc.).

I feel at current valuations, market is really underpricing the future events that are likely to play out. D - Invested with 10% of PF.

Confused with this one. Isn’t it 2.5% of just provisions? Provisions + write-offs is already at ~3% (1879cr + 1400cr) right now @sahil_vi

Imagine 2 headers :

Provision
Write-off.

Each loan first comes to header 1 then moves to header 2 when it goes into some formula like 1 year overdue etc.

Meaniny it shows up in provision first, then in write-off. This is why provision + write-off (not a mathematical addition, a set union). But they can’t be added because everything in provision also includes the write-offs.

Key point from the linkedin post:-

“our retail deposits swelled by over Rs. 10,000 crores in Q2 21, highest ever! That’s the sort of customer trust in us. We dropped rates to stem the inflow, but our customers are still with us.”

:exploding_head:

Credit cost is provisions + writeoffs. So the 1,879 figure you see already includes both.

I won’t be able to attend the AGM but incase someone from here is attending do ask VV if they are sticking to their credit cost guidance of 2.5% for FY22 now that we are almost two and a half months into Q2. And secondly, the maturity dates of the Vodafone bonds and if they mature in Feb 2022. Thanks