Heritage Foods Ltd

Good results but stock has corrected 10%. That’s why earning alone is not enough and one needs liquidity to move stock at high valuations and right now the liquidity is quite tight in the market.

But after 20% corrections from ATH in June and 2 subsequent strong quarters of earnings, now valuations look a lot better than they did a few months ago.

And given continued strong execution by company I will definitely be more bullish about stock than I was in June at 50+ P/E when stock was attracting a lot of attention.

Interesting that when stock was at 700+, there was a lot of desire to buy the counter at a highly unreasonable valuation. Now that stock has corrected close to 35%, don’t see much enquiries around it. If a stock is a good buy at 700+, it should be a steal at 450+ if nothing has changed on fundamentals side.

Disc- Have started to accumulate at 460 levels.

The interest in June was due to election results, which was bound to subside gradually. That said, valuation certainly has become quite reasonable. Not only has the P/E come down to the 25X range, this is a business where the cash flows are consistently and significantly higher than PAT. So P/E can be discounted even further by that proportion. Working capital cycle is in single digits, and investment in fixed assets is also not very high. If the sector tailwinds persist, the business is capable of throwing out a lot of free cash. Industry has taken a price hike in Tamil Nadu recently. Of course, the usual risks remain but current valuation offers a decent margin of safety. I have also taken a position recently, Let’s see how it goes.

Any updates on the stock? Result seems decent and valuation appears reasonable now. Also Budget can bring further positive news. Pls share your views.

Heritage Foods -
Q3 FY 25 results and concall highlights -

Company’s Infrastructure -

Milk processing capacity @ 2.83 MLPD
Milk chilling capacity @ 2.4 MLPD
18 Milk processing plants
Daily milk procurement from over 3 Lakh farmers. Daily avg procurement @ 1.8 Million Lit per day
199 Chilling centers
7200 + distributors
1.8 lakh retail outlets
859 Heritage Parlours ( owned )
352 Happiness Points ( owned )
Selling online - on 16 E-Comm websites
Serve > 1 cr consumers on a daily basis
Milk procurement from - 9 states
Milk sales into - 17 states

Last 3 Yrs Milk procurement growing @ 8 pc CAGR
Last 3 Yrs Milk sales CAGR @ 5 pc
Last 3 Yrs VAP sales CAGR @ 24 pc

Q3 financial Outcomes -

Revenues - 1033 vs 941 cr, up 10 pc
EBITDA - 74 vs 52 cr, up 43 pc ( margins @ 7.2 vs 5.5 pc - significant margin improvement )
PAT - 43 vs 27 cr, up 60 pc ( margins @ 4.2 vs 2.9 pc )

9M FY 25 financial outcomes -

Revenues - 3086 vs 2043 cr, up 9 pc
EBITDA - 251 vs 139 cr, up 80 pc ( margins @ 8.6 vs 4.9 pc - massive margin improvement )
PAT - 150 vs 66 cr, up 127 pc ( margins @ 4.9 vs 2.3 pc )

Percentage wise breakdown of sales -

Milk - 59 pc
Fat - 8 pc
VAP - 30 pc
Others - 3 pc

Organised sector’s mkt share in Curd, Ghee, Paneer continues to be < 20 pc. This is a huge opportunity

Investing aggressively behind media advertisements to drive Heritage branded VAP sales

Indian per capita milk consumption is @ 81kg/ yr vs over 200 kg/ yr in Developed markets

Q3 saw Among the VAP products, categories like - IceCreams, Paneer, Cheese, Drinkables are growing @ > 30-40 pc CAGR ( although on a smaller base )

IceCreams revenues in Q3 is at 16 cr. On an annual basis, company sells about 115-120 cr of Ice Creams ( skewed towards Q1 )

In Q1, the share of VAP are highest vs other Qtrs ( specially Lassi, Buttermilk, Ice Creams ). Cheese, Butter, DoodhPeda are not so seasonal. Q3 is very heavy wrt Butter and Ghee as the demand for Butter and Ghee - boosted by festive demand

Company intends to take its VAP share to 40 pc of sales. However, company still intends to maintain its long term EBITDA margins in 7-8 pc band. They intend to keep spending on marketing, sales promotion and advertisements ( still, there is likelihood of upward pressure on the margins as the VAP contribution keeps improving )

Adding 35-40 Heritage happiness points / Qtr

Company has not increased prices in last 18 months. In Q3, product wise volume growth is as follows - Milk by 5 pc , Curd by 12 pc, Cheese by 60 pc, Paneer by 71 pc, Drinkables by 23 pc, Sweets by 38 pc !!!

Company is expanding its Ice Cream manufacturing facility. Should go operational by Dec 25. Company adds aprox 1200 freezers / yr to keep expanding their Ice Creams distribution

Expecting Rs 1.5 to Rs 2 hike in blended procurement prices over next 1-2 Qtrs ( across Milk + Buffalo milk, across states )

In Q1 FY 24, company’s avg milk procurement price was Rs 44.8 vs Rs 41.9 at present. Company basically saw a relief of almost Rs 3 / lit in milk procurement prices over last 6 - 7 Qtrs

As the milk procurement prices go up again, company will pass on the same to consumers in a calibrated fashion

Disc: holding, added recently, not SEBI registered, not a buy/sell recommendation, posted for educational purposes only

Heritage Foods -

Q4 and FY 25 results and concall highlights -

Q4 outcomes -

Revenues - 1048 vs 950 cr, up 10 pc
EBITDA - 80 vs 70 cr, up 14 pc ( margins @ 7.6 vs 7.4 pc )
PAT - 38 vs 40 cr

FY 25 outcomes -

Revenues - 4134 vs 3793 cr, up 9 pc
EBITDA - 331 vs 209 cr, up 58 pc ( margins @ 8 vs 5.5 pc )
PAT - 188 vs 106 cr, up 77 pc

Company’s Infrastructure -

Milk chilling capacity @ 2.5 MLPD
Daily milk procurement from over 3 Lakh farmers. Daily avg procurement @ 1.7 Million Lit per day
195 Chilling centers
7200 + distributors
Own 2000 + vehicles for distribution
1.8 lakh retail outlets
352 Happiness Points ( owned )
Selling online - on 16 E-Comm websites, 25 Modern retail chains
Milk procurement from - 9 states Milk sales into - 17 states

Last 3 Yrs Milk procurement growing @ 10 pc CAGR Last 3 Yrs Milk sales CAGR @ 5 pc

Company has been spending very aggressively on marketing and sales promotion. So when the consumption patterns in the economy improve, Heritage should benefit disproportionately

In Q1, the share of VAP are highest vs other Qtrs ( specially Lassi, Buttermilk, Ice Creams ). Cheese, Butter, DoodhPeda are not so seasonal. Q3 is very heavy wrt Butter and Ghee sales

Adding 35-40 Heritage happiness points / Qtr

FY 25 vs FY 22 product mix -

Milk - 57 vs 66 pc
VAP - 32 vs 26 pc
Fat - 8 vs 5 pc
Others - 3 vs 3 pc

Company aims to take the share of VAP to 40 pc by FY 28. Urbanisation, shift from unorganised to organised sector, higher disposable incomes are driving VAP sales

Breakdown of last 3 yr’s CAGR of VAP sales -

Foods @ 21 pc CAGR
Drinkables @ 38 pc CAGR
Sweets @ 23 pc CAGR
IceCreams @ 44 pc CAGR

Fat sales have grown by @ 31 pc CAGR over last 3 yrs

Organised mkt shares for IceCreams @ 40 pc, Curd @ 14 pc, Paneer @ 4 pc, Ghee @ 19 pc - are all quite low and offer huge growth opportunities

Q4 FY 25 highlights -

Procurement volumes peaked to 1.76 MLPD and procurement prices increased to Rs 42.9/L (3.1% higher), however FY25, average prices declined 3.7% YoY to INR 41.7/litre, driven by improved sourcing efficiencies and favourable flush season availability

Milk Sales volumes peaked to 1.16 MLPD up 4.5% YoY, The average selling price increased to ₹55.6/litre from ₹54.8/litre last year, reflecting stable market positioning and pricing strength

Value-Added Products (VAP) segment, achieving a 19.3% increase in revenues, reaching Rs. 3,362 million. The contribution of VAP to total revenue rose to 32.5%, up from 30.1% in Q4 FY24

When including consumer packs of Ghee and Butter, VAP revenue reached Rs. 4,198 million, up 19% YoY. This segment now contributes 40.6% to total revenue in Q4 FY25, compared to 37.7% in Q4 FY24

Q4’s PAT was adversely affected by an exceptional charge of 8 cr towards impairment in value of plant, property, machinery of company’s fully owned subsidiary - Heritage Novandie Foods Private ltd ( it was earlier a JV ). This plant near Mumbai makes Curd and other VAPs

Company’s renewable energy capacity now stands @ 12 MW

Company took a price hike for its Milk portfolio in Mar 25 ( @ Rs 1.6/lit ). Most of the Industry players took a price hike after Heritage ( in Apr / May ). Company is currently comfortable with the pricing. May still take up some hikes in VAPs

Employee costs have increased @ 14 pc vs Revenue growth of 10 pc for FY 25. Company aims to reverse this by accelerating the revenue growth and moderating the employee salary hikes in FY 26

The hike in milk procurement prices that have happened in Q4 are absolutely normal ( and not alarming at all + they have happened after a long gap of 18 months ). Heritage took price hike in Mar. The full effect of price hike ( the benefits ie ) will be visible in Q1

Heritage Novandie should be able to turnaround its operations in 2-3 Qtrs. They will update about the same in upcoming concalls

As more premium variety of milk + VAP sales increase, the EBITDA margins should keep inching upwards ( over long term )

**Two major risks that any dairy business faces are - Weather risks ( too much rain, weak summers etc ) and Volatility in raw milk prices **

As company keeps working towards improving efficiencies in all facets of its operations + the sales of VAPs keep increasing, the sensitivity of EBITDA margins to fluctuations in raw milk prices should keep reducing

Disc: holding, biased, not a buy / sell recommendation, not SEBI registered, posted for information purposes only

Raghav: Good evening. Thank you for the opportunity. Your earlier in this financial year, you had given guidance of INR6,000 crores sales in FY '27. So what is our stand on that? And how are we going to achieve that?
Srideep Kesavan: Yes, Raghav, the guidance is a pretty strong word. We have always maintained that it’s our ambition to reach INR6,000 crores in FY '27. So, which is two years away, right? So we are working towards that. This year, we have crossed INR 4,130 crores. So, which means that we will still gun for getting to that INR 6,000 crores mark in two steps, right? Step one is FY’26 and FY '27. But I wouldn’t call these as guidance.
Ankur Gulati: Just from a strategy perspective, you guys have a brand, you have a distribution network. Any thoughts on using this platform to push non-dairy products, even if it entails using contract manufacturing? So broader strategy, any thoughts on non-dairy products being pushed through?
Srideep Kesavan: At this point in time, it is very tempting. I agree with you. But at this point in time, no is the answer. The reason is that we value opportunity loss more than opportunity that we could have. So we still have a long way to go as far as dairy is concerned. So we are not looking at any non-dairy at this point in time.

The results per se were not all that bad. Sales grew 10.58 %, gross margins improved to 24 %, while operating margins stood steady. In comparison, Dodla reported about a 11 % growth, gross margins were flat and operating margins dipped by a percent. Hatsun Agro – the market leader – in fact had slightly weaker results, with an 8 % sales growth and about a 1 % dip in margins.

(Standalone numbers)

But what seems to have disappointed the markets was the company’s decision to raise stake in the Novandie JV to 94 %, making HNFPL a subsidiary. HNFPL had gone commercial in FY21, and has consistently failed to live up to expectations. So far, Heritage has pumped in close to Rs.50 crore in the business, but the JV reported revenues of just Rs.6-odd crores this year. Does it have any hope?

The management sprang a surprise in the concall by saying they will turn it around in just a quarter or two. The plant, they said, is being repurposed to start manufacturing a broader portfolio, including curd and a diverse range of value-added dairy products. This transition aims to maximize asset utilization which will increase to more than 50 % immediately. They are also in advanced stages of closing an agreement “with a prominent player” for contract manufacturing.

All this is a good thing, since I doubt how much of a future there is in Yogurt alone. The whole market for yogurt is apparently less than Rs.300 crore, and though the market is supposedly growing fast, that is on this small base. Meanwhile, almost everyone who plays in the dairy value chain has a presence in Yogurt. Not just the primary milk players like Heritage, Hatsun and Amul have yogurt in their portfolio, others like Britannia, Nestle, Godrej etc. are also vying for a slice of the pie. In the past, Danone tried to sell yogurt, failed and exited the business altogether.

The Indian population, meanwhile, seems happy with their curd and buttermilk. Yogurt is a product that is sold, not bought, if I am getting it right. If the Palghar plant can just break even and stop consuming fresh cash, that alone will be a positive. Repurposing it to other things therefore is a great idea.

(Disc.: Invested)

Dear Mr Chandragupta, P/E is now at 19.4 ! What is your perception on the free fall since December 2024 . Is the market perceiving negative about the performance of JV ?.

Negative perceptions about the JV have always been there, I don’t think it has got anything to do with the price fall. The fall largely mirrors the fall in the broader market.

Q1FY25 results, as expected have come lower due to the unseasonal rains in the peak business months for the VAPs. Does any other Milk related company gave its results? If Yes, if anybody is tracking those companies, please share how were those company’s results. Thank you.

Heritage Foods -

Q1 FY 26 results and concall highlights -

Q1 outcomes -

Revenues - 1136 vs 1032 cr
EBITDA - 74 vs 94 cr ( margins @ 6.5 vs 9.1 pc )
PAT - 40 vs 58 cr

Segmental revenues -

Milk - 594 vs 562 cr, up 6 pc
VAP - 403 vs 382 cr, up 6 pc
Fat Products - 81 vs 47 cr, up 73 pc
Ice Creams - 33 vs 31 cr, up 8 pc

Avg temperature across Apr, May, Jun were lower and avg rainfall was higher - hurting company’s VAP / Ice cream sales

FY 25 vs FY 22 breakdown of sales -

Milk - 57 vs 66 pc
VAP - 32 vs 26 pc
Fat products - 8 vs 5 pc
Others - 3 vs 3 pc

Company’s Infra -

Milk chilling capacity @ 2.5 MLPD
Daily milk procurement from over 3 Lakh farmers. Daily avg procurement @ 1.8 Million Lit per day
190 Chilling centers
7400 + distributors
Own 2000 + vehicles for distribution
2.05 lakh retail outlets
421 Happiness Points ( owned )
Selling online - on 16 E-Comm websites, 25 Modern retail chains
Milk procurement from - 9 states
Milk sales into - 17 states
No milk holiday since inception
Last 3 Yrs Milk procurement growing @ 10 pc CAGR Last 3 Yrs Milk sales CAGR @ 5 pc

High growth categories / products for next 5-7 yrs include - Ice Creams, Curd, Paneer, Ghee ( most of these should be able to grow @ rates > mid teens over the medium term )

Have recently launched Heritage Livo - flavoured milk ( with attractive packaging ) in flavours like - Badam milk, Pista milk, Strawberry milk. Other new launches include - Truly Good Gawa Ghee ( Bengali Aromatic brown Ghee ), Total Curd

Avg milk procurement prices in Q1 @ Rs 43.3 / lit - higher by 4.7 pc YoY. Avg milk selling price in Q1 @ Rs 56.4 - higher by 3 pc YoY. Milk sales volumes increased by 2.8 pc YoY

VAP sales ( as a percentage of total revenue ) in Q1 @ 36.1 vs 37.5 pc YoY - due unfavourable weather conditions

Avg milk procurement in Q1 was up by 10 pc YoY to 17.8 lakh lit / day. Avg milk sales in Q1 stood @ 11.6 lakh lit / day, up 2.8 pc

Seeing good recovery in sales of VAP in July 25. Recovery started wef June 25

Company’s Greenfield ice cream plant is expected to go live by Dec 25

Bulk fat sales in Q1 @ 36 cr ( vs a total Fat sales of 81 cr )

Flush season in milk procurement starts wef Sep every year. Post Sep, milk availability should naturally become better

Because of unfavourable weather ( specially in Apr, May ), company did not take full price hikes in VAP, Milk - which they would have otherwise taken

At present, company hold a stock of 6197 vs 4586 MT ( YoY ) of SMP - due lower sales of VAP that happened in Q1. This SMP inventory is expected to normalise over Q2/Q3

Company aspires to keep growing in teens in next 2-3 yrs and in double digits for next 5-7 yrs

Company’s marketing expenses were higher by 7 cr vs Q1 LY - due aggressive media campaigns behind their milk and curd offerings

Have launched Heritage Livo Yogurt ( under Heritage Novandie ). Initial aim is to be able to sell 2 MTs of Yogurt per day ( within 1 yr ) and ramp it up to 10 MT / day over next 3 Yrs. Its distribution will be handled by Heritage’s organic supply chain with no additional requirement of feet on street / logistical assets

Total capex spends for the greenfield ice cream facility that is company is setting up should be around 225 cr

Should be able to maintain working capital days @ < 20 days for foreseeable future

Company expects EBITDA margins to inch up by 100 - 120 bps wef Q2 ( as their topline growth + growth in VAP picks up again )

Disc: holding, biased, not SEBI registered, not a buy / sell recommendation, posted for educational purposes

I believe that you are referring to JV that is Heritage Novandie Foods Private Limited . In June 2025, HFL has acquired the shares and now owns 94% . Does this improve the perception . Please refer https://www.bseindia.com/xml-data/corpfiling/AttachHis/c5ecde9f-ed58-4df6-93b1-1d54aa1d5b19.pdf. Disclosure: Do not hold HFL shares. Not SEBI registered. Not buy ,sell or hold recommendation.

Sharp cuts across the board

I think several tailwinds are coming together for the dairy sector - tax cuts for the middle class which began in April as well as GST cuts across most of the value-added products now, while bountiful monsoon would ensure good flush season keeping milk prices in check and availability in plenty. Good monsoon will also keep rural incomes elevated and support consumption. The ex-milk segment had anyway been growing in double digits last few years, and that process should get a further boost going ahead. Almost 80 % of the market is still unorganized sector, and with no / minimal GST, the gap between unorganized & organized sector prices will narrow further, helping private companies grab market share.

Press Release

Q2 Concall Highlights

Margin Down - We acknowledge that EBITDA margins were lower by 122 basis points year-on-year, primarily due to a 6.3% increase in milk procurement costs versus a 4.5% rise in realizations. Pricing actions helped absorb much of the inflation, but the mismatch was temporary due to delayed pass-through during the lean season.

Subsidiaries - Simultaneously, the Heritage Novandie Foods operational level integration continues to gain traction with yogurt now reaching Tier 2 cities and new SKUs expanding our health-oriented range. Our wholly owned subsidiary, Heritage Nutrivet Limited, delivered another strong quarter with revenue of INR581 million, a 34% increase yearon-year and PBT of INR54 million, an 80% increase year-on- year. This growth is sustainable backed by higher feed adoption and efficiency improvements.

About Q3 - Yes, at this point in time, Q3 is usually good in terms of milk availability because of with the onset of flush post Diwali, this time around Diwali is earlier. So we expect flush season also to be advanced from that point of view. We do not see any reason to have any worry at this point in time. We don’t see any structural problem. We are hoping that the flush season will be normal as it always is and the prices should ease. Quarter 3 is low on value-added products as far as mix is concerned. See, we will continue to grow value-added products. We might grow at 20% in quarter 3 also, value-added products. Every indication shows us that value-added product growth in quarter 3 will be higher than quarter 2. But that said, the mix changes because quarter 3 is more festive and all of that, so our fat sales go up. Fats is not as profitable as value added products.

VAP Groth 15% wrt 20% Forecast - This quarter, our performance was about 15% and this performance is at least 5 percentage below our own internal expectation. Please understand in value-added products, apart from paneer, all the other products have some dependence on weather, whether it is curd, our entire range of drinkables, which is butter milk and milk shakes and flavored milk, etcetera, ice creams. These all have dependency on weather except for sweets and paneer.

Mktg and Advt Helping to Increase Mkt Penetration - we doubled down on marketing and consumer outreach. And we did several interventions. For example, our milk campaign was a very big success story from – after spending close to about 5,000 GRP on television, we went on digital, which garnered 47 million views. Now these kind of numbers are really incredible. And if you – in the investor presentation, we had shared with you that the awareness levels across our markets have gone up tremendously. For example, in Bangalore, our awareness level went up by 12%. Trials went up by 22%. Chennai, 22%, 25% trial rates improved. Hyderabad, 30 percentage trial rates improved. So, these are all trials that is directly proportionate to consumers buying our product.

Milk Sales 1% Growth Where as 3% is Normal - Yes, milk growth has been a bit subdued for our liking. It’s – usually, we see that whenever we take up prices, we – it has some impact in terms of volumes, consumption drops a little bit. So it’s something that we have seen in the past as well. And in this quarter, we have taken up prices of milk by about 4.5%. We had no go to do that because the raw milk prices had increased by about 6.3%. And although we were not able to pass on the full cost, 4.5 percentage out of that raw milk price increase was passed on to the consumer, and that impacted the volumes.

Opex Growth Higher - So the gap is primarily driven only because the top line is not – or rather actually the volume growth is not as much as we would have wanted it to be or as much we would have planned it for. And I believe it’s a matter of time. Employee cost has been growing at 13% to 14% – and I agree with you that we also would like that to be in single digits, right? But the fact is we are expanding and we are adding more people. We are investing in facilities for manufacturing, etcetera. And this is a people-intensive operation. This is a people-intensive business, which means that the headcount will increase and hence, the cost will increase. We call ourselves a mass, premium player for a reason because everything for us is actually volume driven. We had invested close to 150 tons of additional manufacturing capacity for curd, for example, we increased our paneer capacity, we increase many of our value added product capacity. And so it’s a bit of like improved efficiency in our existing but additional new facilities coming up, and the volume is not catching up to the expectation.

Measures to Reducing Operating Cost - A few years ago, maybe 3 years ago, we used to have 214 chilling centers, and we were procuring about 13 lakh liters of milk. Today, we are procuring 17 lakh liters of milk with just 186 chilling centers. econdly, we used to have close to 1,300 vehicles to pick up the 13 lakh liters of milk. Today, we have lesser number of vehicles**, about 1,200-odd vehicles,** which is procuring the higher volume. And the milk collected per kilometer is increasing, which means actually the distance that we need to travel to get the milk is coming down, which improves the freshness of the milk as well as reduce the cost of pickup.

Market Volatility - You must have seen that in FY '22, '23, it was a peak inflationary period where milk prices went up so high and then it came crashing down. And then we had a good 2 years, okay? Now this is another year where it is seem to be going up. So this volatility is something that we will not be able to do anything much because it’s a very large industry. India is the largest producer of milk. And despite our size, we have only a very small percentage contribution in this. So we, as an individual player, there is very little we can do in terms of managing the industry volatility. That said, we are hoping that, like I mentioned before, law of averages catch up and next year prices softened. Usually, it happens after a peak inflationary year, and it is good for all of us.

Ice Cream Plant - Actually, in fact, we are manufacturing our ice creams internally only. We have our own processing facility with a capacity of 25,000 liters per day, which we’ve, in fact, maxed out in peak summer season in the 3 months of Q4, which is why we had taken the Board approval to invest into a larger automated ice cream facility, not just to produce our existing range of SKUs, but also to widen our portfolio with exciting new SKUs, which is the need of the market or what consumers are asking for. Having said that, , that it will be commissioned by the end of the financial year, just in time for the summer season.

Increasing Milk Vol Sale - You should assume that every retail point should give us at least 5 to 6 liters of milk. That’s about 20,000. So if we have to sustain and get growth to 8% or 9 percentage like you rightly mentioned, we need to sustain this growth momentum, which means that in quarter 3, we need to add 10,000 more retail outlets. f you add 10,000 more retail outlets, that will give me 50,000 liters of milk, right? So we are absolutely focused on doing what needs to be done on the ground so that irrespective of price increases, irrespective of whether we can continue to drive growth, especially in milk. Secondly, we’ve just launched – I spoke about Sampurna cow milk, which just got launched in this particular quarter. We are in the process of scaling it up. In fact, yesterday, day before yesterday, we launched 2 new variants in – for our country markets, which is called Sampurna milk which will come in Q3.

Turning Around Yogurt - So imagine Mamie Yova was doing x volume, we are doing the same volume with Livo brand in just 2 months’ time. So which means actually we could actually grow tremendously from here. This is despite the bad weather because Yogurt is also a category which is weather dependent. – consumption goes up during summer and during rains, it comes down. So volume-wise, it is a great performance. And in terms of unit economics also, I believe that the profitability as in the losses are much lesser compared to the previous operation.

VAP Breakdown - 71% of all value-added products will be curd for us. And after that will be paneer. So these are 2 main value-added products that we are trying to build. Apart from that, we have about 5-odd percent of our revenues coming from ice creams and roughly around 10 percentage of revenue coming from drinkables.

The company faces extreme levels of competition.

In Pune for eg. Parag Foods via it’s Gowardhan & Go brands (whose quality already equals or exceeds Amul and Nandini in their highest selling product categories) itself faces tough competition from equally high quality local cooperative dairy brand called Sonai and others like Gits, Chitale, Hatsun Agro in addition to other regional and national/global players like Milky Mist, Amul, Nestle, Britannia and Mother Dairy- as visible from just the Dmart chiller/dairy section.

Anytime Amul or Nandini or even Gowardhan decides they want to give a fight and reduce cost just a little bit, I myself would buy more of them.

The key differentiator here would be strong and strategic execution given this level of competition.

It’s not like it’s impossible. But it’s certainly going to be a relentless fight for both mindshare and marketshare.