Gaining experience for doing equity research

Hi everyone,

I’m new to ValuePickr and to the world of Value Investing.
I have been following Vishal Khandelwal, Basant Maheshwari, Mehrab Irani, value-picks blogspot etc.
I am fascinated by the fact that even I can become a successful investor with experience, patience and hardwork.

What’s bothering me is the fact that I don’t have a network of friends who can give me stock ideas. And by the time I read it from blogs/magazines/paid subscriptions, it’s probably late. Also, that’s a kind of spoon feeding, i feel.

I want to develop a methodology which would help me i) pick stocks on my own, ii) do good (Philip Fisher type)research on them, and iii) have a clear understanding to decide when I should/shouldn’t sell them.

Now such a requirement may be satisfied by the following (according to me):

a. Hit and trial: Use screens, subscriptions, tv noise combined with the thoda-bohut financial statements’ analysis that I have learnt to ‘analyse’ and invest. When you go wrong, find out why you did…A tried and tested method which may take time but will make you a pakka investor!

b. Enrol for value investing courses like the following:

http://learning.equitymaster.com/equitymasters-secrets/
http://www.safalniveshak.com/mastermind/

c. Intern in an equity research firm
This would probably show me how the professionals do it. It may be a much more structured and refined way of analysing. It would teach me things like gathering information from other sources, looking at the bigger picture etc.

d. Read a lot of books (which I have already started)

Now, I’m in a dilemma as to which approach to follow! Or am i missing something Or have I exaggerated the whole process to make it look complex?

Looking for some inputs in this regard from the Valuepickr community. Please help.

Regards
Nikhil
Bangalore

1 Like

Nikhil,

Nice to see an young investor’s approach :).