Eicher Motors

Kalyan,

Thanks for update. How do we see market for this product? It can add another dimension to Eicher Growth if successful.

Any thoughts?

Agree on the site part. The pics on the site provided by Kalyan are what was known before official launch.
Little disappointed that the company couldn’t get mainstream media to cover the launch little better.
Waiting to see, how the auto media covers this and the reviews.
And of course ultimately how the users take to it.

Raja

Here you go Raj

5000 units a month can be the initial capacity but I think, the initial offtake will be in 100s to startwith. Much depends on subsequent variants that might come in later.
My first impression - the product seems to be priced right and the ‘Kitne deta hai’ crowd will be thrilled with the 28.45 kmpl tag. It seems to have sufficient ground clearance and this is an absolute must in rural India’s potholed roads. I will keep the expectation minimum since ACE is well established and the Mahindra Maximo too is an ok product.
TATA ACE capacity has gone up steadily and my guessestimate is that it sells about 2500-3000 per month. That can give an indication of the offtake in this segment.

More details of the vehicle are emerging, and i have to admit am just loving the idea behind the vehicle and fingers crossed for customer reaction. Here goes a very well articulate interview of Siddharth Lal on the vehicle.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/47719655.cms?from=mdr&utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

200 mm ground clearance is fabulous and I like the idea of the genset. Amazing that all this is this price under 2.5L. I will try and get a first hand look, as and when that becomes feasible. The mules were underwhelming but the finished product looks too good

www.multix.in website is working now

Eicher crossed 20,000 today

Here are some more photos of Multix. Pl see the electricity generation and water pump utility

PS - I had to download from someone’s facebook update and hence all these photos. Ideally, a link would have otherwise been sufficient. Pl note that these photos were not even in the multix.in site and hence I felt that it is better to put it here, depicting the various utility functions of the MPV

This report, gives a mind boggling 3 year target of 37K target for Eicher (it also gives a 1000 plus target for Kovai medical, without ever mentioning the need for 300 crore capital needed for Chennai hospital)…plus for Kitex, gives the risk of KCL+KGL merger as big equity dilution etc…all said and done, the positive news is just pouring in for Eicher and Lal is indeed proving to be the one with the magic touch. Execution skills of Lal is so far awesome
PS - Invested. Views may be biased. This is not a buy or sell recommendation. Pl do your own due diligence
GEPL_Top_10_Value_Stock_Picks.pdf (500.8 KB)

@rajpanda @dd1474 or any of the other Eicher followers - did any of you follow the launch of Pro series in VECV? The recent launch in South and Western India was silent and I spoke to a few friends of mine. The initial reaction was good and the product is slowly getting some traction but wanted to know the views of you all
http://www.eicher.in/etb/trucks/pro-series/6000-series

Vanguard drives with a 309 crore investment, following the tracks of Citi. I don’t know, who has the quantity to sell to such players

Hi Kalyan,

Yes, I have been following the launch of Pro Series trucks from VECV.

This interview gives a very good view of what’s the strategy on CV side.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/opinion/interviews/modernisation-in-indian-trucking-will-happen-and-we-will-lead-that-siddhartha-lal-ceo-eicher-motors/articleshow/47762931.cms

Thanks Raj @rajpanda This is helpful

Detailed review of Multix, with more details about features, launch and more
•To start with, there will be 30 dedicated dealerships with Multix branding - no mention of Eicher or Polaris. Test drives start in July 2015, deliveries in August.
•The Multix is an India-specific vehicle and the company has not looked at exporting it.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/commercial-vehicles-india/165165-close-look-eicher-polaris-multix.html

Take specific note of the Double wishbone suspension, instead of the conventional Leaf spring (Patti, as they call in local parlance and it does nothing towards a smoother the ride, once it gets flattens out). Co has not cut corners on things which matter !! hopefully, the regular rural customer will appreciate all these innovations

Polaris-Eicher joint venture film

Unlike many other joint ventures, Polaris seems to respect Eicher’s might (I know, some of these are promotional cliches)

And ofcourse, there is already new competition, with the launch of Mahindra’s Jeeto, pretty much in the same price range

And Mahindra is also targeting exports to the neighboring countries, unlike Eicher

Latest article in Forbes
http://www.forbes.com/sites/naazneenkarmali/2015/06/24/indias-vintage-motorcycle-royal-enfield-is-on-full-throttle/?ss=lists

Royal Enfield June 2015 Sales out at 37,341 YOY growth 47.6%, MoM growth of 6%

http://www.bseindia.com/corporates/anndet_new.aspx?newsid=FD936BAC-0530-4CBC-8112-1F0085AC3325&flag=C&type=A&scrip_CD=505200

While the bike business is chugging along, the icing is still taking time to set.

CV sales of Eicher/Volvo are down 1.8%.

This is a bit surprising since both Tata Motors and Ashok Ley posted decent growth in CV. Ashok Ley seems to be on fire. LCV sales up 26% and MHCV sales up 46% in June. Overall growth is 41%.
http://corporates.bseindia.com/xml-data/corpfiling/AttachLive/DD1934F8_3C05_46BB_83F4_8A611399612A_163309.pdf