Deepak Fertilizers and Petrochemicals

Q1 FY 25-

Trigger-
TAN and other capex,
Focus to increase TAN export,
4000-5000cr capex in FY25 and FY26
Capex go live in H2 FY26.

50-55% revenue comes from TAN business.

Risk- Over- capacity of ammonium nitrate bcz Coal and BHEL have signed a JV for setting up 2,000 ton per day ammonia nitrate plant,but capex is not started yet, also Chambal is actually coming up with some kind of new capacity. As I have been telling that they have actually announced that it is an ammonium nitrate capacity which they’re bringing in. But they are also manufacturing fertilizers. So we’ll have to really see where their facilities will get utilized. .( This will mitigate by almost 25% to 30% of the demand actually is fulfilled by imports today)

We are not expecting on long-term basis any capacities which are basically going to be idle, but there could be a few quarters when the business is not doing well maybe there could be some surplus capacity.

• Debt can go upto 5500cr ie D/E almost 1

image.png 295.78 KB

Screenshot 2024-08-24 230409.png 408.78 KB

So the demerger happened, which is the subsidiary of Deepak fertilisers, and it is called Mahadhan Agritech Limited, which is an unlisted company. It used to house the CNB business, which is our fertilizer business and also the technical ammonium, which is the Mining Chemicals for us business. Now the Mining Chemicals business is getting carved out into a new legal entity and its name is Deepak Mining Solutions Limited. So that is the impact. And hence, there is no impact on the existing shareholders of Deepak Fertilisers.

we have 2 unlisted entities, which is one is for Mahadhan Agritech, which is an unlisted entity. The other is Deepak Mining Solutions Limited, that is other unlisted entity.

Currently both the unlisted entities are wholly owned subsidiaries of deepak fertilser and petro ltd.

So the answer is, yes, because we would continue to look for technology partners as well as strategic investors to grow those businesses. Whether it is the fertilizer business or whether it is the Technical Ammonium Nitrate business. So whatever growth which we see automatically it will show up in the holding company. So that is how it will benefit all the shareholders indirectly, but not the way that any shares would get allocated to them.
-Three division- Explosive(TAN), Industrial chemicals, Fertiliser

• Mining(Coal, steel) increase will help first segment, Good monsoon,govt policy and tailwing in agro sector help third segment
    So, in a nutshell, 3 things. Beautifully aligned India growth story; number two, solid value chain; and number three, move from commodity to holistic solution. All the 3 promises to change the very face of Deepak Fertilisers in the years to come.

The capacity utilization of our nitric acid plant was closer to 90% for the quarter. And for the IPA plant, it was closer to almost 78%.Bulk fertilizer manufacturing capacity utilization was closer to 67% during the quarter

Performance Chemicals Limited, which houses our ammonia plant. Ammonia plant as you know that we basically started this plant last year in Q2. The capacity utilization in Q1 at around 98%.

As we have been telling all our investor communities that the backward integration is helping us and will help us to reduce volatility to enable us to retain the margins within the group.

The ongoing expansion at Gopalpur for TAN and Dahej for nitric acid starts in H2 FY26.Initially with70-80% capacity then go to 90-100% capacity as we did with ammonia capex(now at 98% capacity utilisation).

So we have said that the Gopalpur project, we are going to incur close to INR2,200 crores. As far as Dahej is concerned, we have said we will do around INR2,000 crores.
INR1,500 crores capex will be equally divided between Gopalpur and the Dahej in FY25 and around same capex for bot in FY26

TAN business- We currently have a capacity of around 540,000 tons right now, we are actually expanding additionally 50,000 tons, which will come upstream by the end of September. So obviously, the capacity would go up. We are looking for getting our new plant ready in Gopalpur with a capacity close to 376,000 tons. You can say around 400,000 tons, which would come upstream sometimes to next year.

50-55% revenue comes from TAN business.
So actual exports started only last quarter for TAN , which is the last quarter of the last financial year, which is '23-2024. Now from this quarter the business will start looking at aggressively all the exports to be done.(TAN Business)

Demand is expected to remain strong in TAN over the next couple of quarters driven by growth in coal mining, power, and infrastructure sectors.

Post commissioning of this plant, we will become 3rd largest pure play TAN producer in the world.

The project is strategically located close to major mining hubs to be able to cater to their demand, while its proximity to Gopalpur port provides favourable export opportunities
IPA segment- On a long-term basis or rather short to midterm basis, this trend will continue. So, we are expecting that demand would continue for the next at least a couple of quarters or maybe a couple of years as well.

Leveraging 40 years of credible experience in Nitric Acid, DFPCL will become ‘Asia’s Largest Manufacturer’ of Nitric Acid post expansion

I’m also happy to share the positive impacts emerging from the recently announced Union budget. From a larger perspective, the Finance Ministry’s continued strong support on the fertilizer subsidies, the growing outlay for the agriculture sector, and the strong support to infrastructure. All of them will go to provide a strong and positive tailwind to all our business segments. Additionally, our recent partnership with Israel-based Haifa Group will help to promote high-performance specialty fertilisers.

NCLT Mumbai has now formally approved the demerger plans, now paving the way of unwinding each business into a separate corporate entity. So the Chemical business will be housed in 1 entity, the Crop Nutrition Fertilizer business in another one and the Technical Ammonium Nitrate Mining Chemicals in the third.

The restructuring will also open doors for strategic global investors focus on specific businesses to join us and besides that, it will also further improve the specific business visibility for the investors in general.

Now with this strategic restructuring, this aligns very well with our vision of evolving from a commodity player to one that provides specialized holistic solutions.

Now turning to our business performance. In case of Mining Chemicals, Technical Ammonium Nitrate(TAN businesss), showed a robust growth, resulting in a 23% increase in the technical ammonium nitrate sales volume year-on-year. This growth is supported by improved prices and increased demand in key end sectors such as coal mining, steel production and both showed around 11% growth.

As far as the industrial chemicals goes, the business delivered lower volumes in nitric acid due to an extended repair job at our Taloja Nitric Acid plant and partly due to reduced demand from the downstream industry following a temporary shutdown of the GNFC TDI plant, leading to an oversupply of their asset in the market.

IPA volumes were a little lower due to a plant shutdown. So that was as per plants. Having said that, our specialty products in the Chemical segment - Industrial Chemicals segment, including the pharma grade IPA and the stainless-steel grade nitric acid continued to grow based on the positive customer feedback as regards their value propositions
When it comes to the Crop Nutrition Fertilizer business, the business delivered 11% year-on year increase in sales of manufactured bulk fertilizers, whereas sales of specialty products like Bensulf have surged by 51% over last year. During the quarter, the business launched Croptek grade for soybean and Smartek grade for paddy and pulses, taking us forward in our cropspecific nutrient journey.

From an outlook perspective, as Mr. Mehta said, post demerger and the TAN business would get into a separate legal entity now. And it will establish itself as a fully integrated technology solution provider for all our customers. As you are aware that the export ban was lifted last financial year. We have already started exports from March '24 onwards,

So we basically feel that we have a very strong case and whatever demands which the commissioner of income tax has actually saying, we continue to obviously fight that at various levels. And we will go to the highest level because we think we have a very strong case to defend us.

We are actually creating the market for it. So we’ve been telling our investors is that we will be definitely, we are very aggressive in expanding it, but it will take some time before we get there. And this will become a material till the time it becomes a material part of the business. So we are still a few quarters or a few years away from where we should be right now.

TAN business- But so far, there are no antidumping duties. But in the new budget, as you would have read is that the duty has actually been increased for importing ammonium nitrate. So 2.5% of the duty has gone up, part of it would create some kind of a deterrent for the importer, but we’ll have to see. I’m sure that the government is taking more steps to be able to at least give some competitive advantage to the domestic manufacturers as well.

State-GST benefit - Incentives for the ammonia plant. So last year, as you know, that we have actually got in Q4 around INR89 crores. For this quarter, we have done closer to almost INR35 crores. We have booked it which is prorated for the year. We expect similar if the volume obviously, if the prices goes up, it may be even higher in the future quarters.

So, we always continue to reduce debt. But there are ongoing projects, which would require new debt for funding those projects. So whether it is Gopalpur or whether it is Dahej. So overall even though we may be repaying the existing debt, but overall, the debt portion may go up because the new debts are coming in for the new projects. And it should peak out sometime next year… And hence, we would start seeing some reductions there on.
So it depends how we see it. But more or less, it should be between INR5,000 – INR5,500 crores to INR6,000 crores is what we think right now, but it can be lower than that as well.

Deepak Fertilizers and Petrochemicals Corporation ltd -

Company Profile -

Largest producer of - Nitric Acid, Iso Propyl Alcohol, Bentonite Sulphur, water soluble fertilisers in India

Only manufacturer of - Prilled Technical ammonium nitrate solids, Nitrogen:Phoshporous Prill 24:24:0 fertilisers, crop specific NPK micronutrients with nutrient unlock technology

A leading manufacturer of - Liquid CO2 and Methanol in India

Own and operate the largest home furnishing and furniture retailing mall in India - Creaticity Pune

Q1 FY 25 results and concall highlights -

Revenues - 2281 vs 2313 cr
EBITDA - 464 vs 281 cr ( margins @ 20 vs 12 pc - a steep jump )
PAT - 200 vs 114 cr

Application of company’s products -

Ammonium Nitrate - Mining and Infra explosives - account for 44 pc of company’s revenues

Industrial chemicals like - Varieties of Nitric acid ( diluted, concentrated ), Isopropyl alcohol, liquid CO2, Methanol etc are used in sectors like - Pharma, Nitroaromatics, consumer care, chemical derivatives - account for 18 pc of company’s revenues

Crop Nutrition - NP Prill 24:24:0 and NPK fertilizers, Bentonite Sulphur crop nutrients, speciality and water soluble fertilisers - account for 43 pc of company’s revenues

Product wise breakup of revenues -

Mining chemicals - 644 vs 541 cr
TAN - 137 vs 111 KMT

Industrial Chemicals - 405 vs 519 cr
Concentrated Nitric acid - 44 vs 51 KMT
Diluted Nitric acid - 21 vs 22 KMT
IsoPropyl Alcohol - 14 vs 16 KMT

Crop Nutrition - 977 vs 1069 cr
BenSulf - 10 vs 7 KMT
Traded products - 43 vs 72 KMT
NP + NPK fertilizers - 174 vs 156 KMT

Update on capex -

TAN project - Gopalpur - Greenfield project for production of 376 KTPA of TAN. Project cost - 2200 cr. Expected to be completed in H2 FY 26. Post commissioning, company will become third largest producer of TAN in the world

Nitric Acid - Dahej - expansion of Nitric Acid manufacturing capacity by 450 KTPA. Expected to be to completed by H2 FY 26. Post commissioning, company will become Asia’s largest producer of Nitric Acid

Good demand for Coal, Steel and Infra build up augurs well for company’s TAN business

Lower volumes in Nitric acid business due to ongoing repairs at company’s Taloja plant. IPA volumes were lower due to a planned shutdown

Good monsoons likely to augur well for company’s crop nutrients business going into Q2

Company’s captive ammonia plant running at 98 pc capacity ( started LY in Q2, 86 pc of the plant’s output is being used for captive purposes ). Having captive supply of this RM is a big risk mitigating factor for this company. The capacity of this plant is 500KMT

Out of an EBITDA of 464 cr, aprox 50 pc comes from TAN / Industrial or Mining Explosives business

Once the Gopalpur plant comes up, company may again have to buy ammonia from outside as it won’t be logistically possible to use captive Ammonia to make TAN at Gopalpur

Compny’s mining consultancy services is in niche stages. Once it becomes a material part of the business, company will start reporting its performance separately

At present, about 35 pc of country’s TAN requirements are met via imports ( mostly from Russia ). RCF and Chambal fertilizers are coming up with capacities to make TAN. Even after this, India won’t be self sufficient in TAN and there would still be residual need for imports

Capex lined up @ around 750 cr ( Gopalpur expansion ) + 750 cr ( Dahej expansion )

At present - no one else in India has a backward integrated ( making their own ammonia ) TAN business. That should be a key advantage for the business

Because of extensive mining and infra demands in India for next 5-10 yrs , this business has very good demand drivers

Disc: fresh entry, tracking position, not SEBI registered, not a buy/sell recommendation, biased

Just recently started studying the company, why does the company own a furniture mall which is a completely unrelated business? Also, what’re the PnL metrics for this mall?

The company had set a demerger ratio of 1:1 and now they are saying that they are not going to separately list the de merged mining entity.

Can someone explain me if there is some error in my understanding?

Disc: Holding this because of interest in the mining entity.

Company is demerging business from DFPCL to DMSPL which is wholly owned subsidiary, hence no need for separate listing. This is similar to ITC demerger.

Business:

• Revenue contribution: 40% Fertiliser; 40% Mining chemical (TAN); 20% Industrial chemical (Nitric acid & IPA)
  • Profit contribution: 80-90% from mining and industrial chemicals (vs revenue contribution of 60%)
  • Change in favorable product mix: Moving from fertiliser to mining and industrial chemicals (down from 80 to 45% now)- Agri cyclicality reducing
  • Raw materials: Nitric acid (75% of capacity would be utilised internally) and amonia for TAN and fertiliser
  • Ammonia is made from hydrogen (compressed from air) and nitrogen (gas)
  • Entered into long term contract from Equinor for stable natural gas price (to start in 2026)
  • Only manufacturer of TAN in India; serves 40% of domestic demand (rest is imported from Russia)
  • 2200 cr capex in TAN would enable to serve 60% of domestic demand and make it 3rd largest TAN producer in world (expected to go live in H2 FY’26)
  • 65% demand of TAN comes from Coal mining (Govt’s focus)
  • Russia dumped 50% of their supply to India in FY’24 (much lower than FY’23) due to muted demand in Peru and Brazil- this is normalizing
  • No supply addition of TAN in 5 years

Market share:
45%- Nitric Acid (South Korea is largest exporter; China was but imposed export ban)
35%- IPA

Fundamental triggers:

• Amonia prices going up

• TAN spreads increasing

• Import duty increasing

• Capex of 2000 cr in nitric acid (60% capacity already booked for 20 years)

• Volatility in margin going down due to backward integration

• In TAN business, moving into forward integrating explosive chemicals: Like Solar industries; in nitric acid also moving towards speciality nitric acid (solar and steel grid- high purity is required)

• Margins becoming 18-20%

• With expanded capacity, can serve 60% of India’s domestic demand

Multiple things at play:
Govt focus on mining (tailwind)-> Beneficiary is Deepak as only player of TAN in India (used in coal mining as explosive) → Supply side constraint: imports are made tougher due to higher import duty on TAN in budget (plus Russia banning its export); Change in product mix (favorable); backward integration

During FY25, they can do 950 to 1000 crore PAT if commodity prices remain stable; trading at a 12-13x PE ratio.

Monitorable:

• Margins in the range of 18-20%
  • Check commodity prices (investor presentation)
  • Competitive intensity: Coal India (key customer) and Chambal is expected to enter into TAN
  • Debt level
  • Monitor backward integration of ammonia

Credit:
SOIC IAS
Bastion Research https://youtu.be/gj0eUjrL46Q?si=tfk9Mac4SFfku6gB
Ammonium nitrate prices set to rise as India cuts imports from Russia - BusinessToday

May I know how this is similar to ITC? Are you referencing the ITC hotels demerger? My understanding is that hotels business will list separately in some time.

Yes, it will get separately listed. But 40% shareholding will be with ITC & hence holdco structure would still be there. That’s why its similar to that but not exact same as in our case listing is not happening as of now. Company may list that in future.

One red flag is that the promoter remuneration is high. Basically promoter wants 15-20% of PAT each year through dividend + salary. If the stake is reduced then salary has been proportionally increased, basically eating from both hands:

FY CEO Salary PAT Dividend Payout Holding (%) Dividend (Cr) [Salary]/PAT [Salary+Div]/PAT
FY24 33.3 457 24% 45.63% 50 7.3% 18.2%
FY23 130.0 1,221 10% 45.46% 56 10.6% 15.2%
FY22 66.7 687 16% 47.58% 52 9.7% 17.3%
FY21 13.2 406 19% 55.80% 43 3.3% 13.9%
FY20 3.9 89 31% 52.20% 14 4.4% 20.6%
FY19 2.5 73 37% 51.50% 14 3.4% 22.5%

In FY19 and FY20 both, the remuneration was too high on standalone basis due to lower profitability, in both cases excess remuneration (of fixed salary) was still paid.

The shareholding that you’ve shared is not of the CEO but of private holding companies.

The MD is the director of all these holding companies

Additionally, I’m a little unsure on the long-term pricing stability for Ammonium Nitrate which is basically contributing to 50-60% of company’s EBITDA currently.

1. Demand - As per their presentation, industry is highly counting on 11% YoY growth from both coal and steel industry (combined 20% growth in TAN deman). Not exactly sure, how sustainable this is, please chime-in
  2. Supply -
    Here, I have a question. Is there any distinction in the ammonium nitrate being produced by the company for which it’s commanding higher market share or is this due to other players not having their own capacity.
  • Russian production is at pre-war levels and they’re doing 1 MTPA additional capex this year
  • Indian capacity (only counting major players) would pretty much break-even with FY26 projected demand and any additional dumping could lead to pricing pressure.
    Edit: Apparently the company is into high density TAN for which they’re the only Indian producer. This specific compound is used in certain type of explosives. Other capacity in India is mostly for FGAN which is used in fertilisers, although you can still use it in explosives.

Below is a very rough back of the envelope calculation:

Market share 44%
Capacity DFPCL 5,37,000
Current Domestic Market size 12,20,455
Deepak cap addition 50000 FY25
Deepak cap addition 376000 FY26
Coal India cap addition 660000 FY27 (E)
Chambal cap addition 240000 FY26
GNFC existing cap 170000
FY26 expected capacity 13,73,000
FY26 expected demand 17,57,455 20% YoY
Delta 3,84,455
Cap w/ Coal India (FY27) 20,33,000
FY27 expected demand 21,08,945
Delta 75,945

Basically what I’m seeing is that everything needs to go right for the company to give good returns. If someone can help shed some light on what I might be missing.

Also, can someone help me out on how Ishmohit has projected 950-1000 Cr PAT growth for the company? Isn’t June supposed to be the biggest quarter for them and major capex are scheduled for FY26H2?

Could you please how was the 950 crore PAT arrived at?

@Prateek_Mishra Have you studied the business in detail. And, if can you share with me the reasons because of which you think post demerger things will be interesting.

@manhar Can you help me out on valuing the entire business? As I am just a beginner and so I need some help.

The Contingent liabilities seems to be around 1100 crores which is around 20 percent of equity reserves.Any experienced investor who can comment on this , whether this is a safe limit.

If you don’t mind sharing, what governance filter do you use?

hello, I was referring to this note: Deepak Fertilizers and Petrochemicals - #298 by Ashutosh_Sancheti

Obviously, 10%/20% is relative to a business. Some businesses have few things which need to be ignored. So won’t comment about the safe limit as a blanket statement. But once you go through the AR for the company via screener. You should be able to figure out the nuances of the business and tax/GST demands. Cited few directly from the AR 2024. Hopefully this helps. IMO, i think its all safe wrt contingent liabilities

• MSEB electricity duty provision taken for 176 Lakhs (31 March 2023 : 175 Lakhs). The same has been reduced from contingent liability