Berkshire Hathaway: Warren Buffet's Letters to Shareholders

I had heard of Warren Buffet’s letters to shareholders as an excellent source of informal investment education. I was told the letters distill in plain words all the basic principles of sound business practices. The writings are broad in scope, and long on wisdom - on selecting managers and investments, valuing businesses, and using financial information profitably.

The letters could be easily downloaded. I got to know about these in 2006 and promptly downloaded the 2000-2006 letters, printed them out and neatly filed. Started reading a few, found some pretty interesting and some discussions went over my head too. But soon I had a problem, the letters are not organised in any thematic way, the file was already an inch-bulky (just 2000-2006 letters), and I had difficulty assimiliating any one concept - I could not decide where to start from, what to read next. As I was a newbie knowing what to tackle first was important to me, but I could not figure that out myself…and sort of left that project halfway.

But don’t despair. in 2007 I heard of a compilation by Lawrence Cunnigham that solved exactly this problem is a great compilation, selected, arranged and introduced by Cunningham. The compilation also had the blessing of Warren Buffet saying " First class. A great job of collating our wisdom" and Charlie Munger endorsing with “Very practical”!

I got the book gave it a read (or half) then in 2007, but didnt retain much from that read, it appears. I can recollect some discussions on Intrinsic Value but beyond that not much. Some of the witticisms and dry humor I remember yes, but obviously I hadnt assimilated much!

The time has come now to give this a thorough read once again, and cull for ourselves some of that wisdom, which I am sure we should be able to put some of that in practice. While I will take my time to come back on this, requesting others to share their learnings from these.

1 Like