Affle India - India Mobile Internet Advertising Leader

I think, for an Investor, we need to look at “Buy Price” and “Sell Price” for a given stock.

If an investor entered this stock at P/E of 50 which it has traded on few occasions in the past, then it might have delivered decent 12% CAGR or even higher returns as of today, even after correction from 2100 to 1500.

If an investor has bought at P/E of 100 then may be CAGR could be zero as well.

So buying small cap / growth stock at reasonable Valuations and then Selling once overvalued could be the better option for Retail Investors.

I do not have any position in it, but was interested in it at P/E of about 50-52 but never bought it as thought it is more volatile stock for me. Data Protection Policies or Government Security policies could have had impact on its growth.

Price to perfection stock. There is no one-off in earnings hence PE is clean. For growth of 15-18% PE of 47 seems high, no? Sitting on the fence since long…

https://www.exchange4media.com/people-movement-news/affle-co-founder-anuj-kumar-to-step-down-from-his-role-152593.html

Big News !

Explains that Affle 3i is strong in past few days despite overall market correction

Showing Empty Screen (is Pro Version Required?)

Affle Foresnic Risk Analysis: A Ticking Time bomb 
  • 01. Goodwill impairment — ₹10,461 Mn at risk with no impairment ever taken

Goodwill has grown 58% to ₹10,461 Mn across acquisitions of Appnext, Mediasmart, Jampp, and YouAppi — with zero impairment recorded in the company’s entire listed history. The key impairment assumption (terminal growth rate) was quietly doubled from 5% to 10%, while acquired subsidiaries Jampp APAC and EMEA were wound up in FY25, signaling real underperformance that has not been reflected on the balance sheet.

02. Intangible capitalization inflates PAT by ₹800–1,200 Mn annually

Every year, ₹1,000–1,600 Mn of employee salaries and overhead are moved from the P&L to intangible assets under development — a practice flagged as a Key Audit Matter by auditors every year. Economically, this means reported profits overstate cash-generative earnings by 30–45%, a critical distortion for valuation purposes. Without this capitalization, FY24 PAT would be approximately ₹1,900 Mn, not ₹2,973 Mn.

03. FY24 effective tax rate of 9% — one-off DTA credit inflated PAT by ₹370 Mn

A one-time ₹369 Mn deferred tax credit from YouAppi’s historical loss carryforwards reduced FY24’s effective tax rate to 9% vs the statutory 25.17%. This non-recurring benefit inflated reported FY24 PAT by ~₹370 Mn, making the base year appear stronger than it was and distorting consensus forward estimates built off that base.

• 04. Declining CFO/PAT conversion — standalone parent went cash-flow negative in H1 FY25

Operating cash conversion has deteriorated from 106% (FY23) to 88% (FY24) to 85% (H1 FY26). Critically, the Indian holding company — Affle 3i Limited standalone — reported negative operating cash flow of –₹455 Mn in H1 FY25, even as it reported positive PAT of ₹554 Mn. Revenue is being recognized ahead of collection, and DSO has expanded from 62 to 81 days, a structural quality deterioration.

05. CEO compensation opacity — ₹0.25 Mn disclosed vs ₹22,663 Mn revenue

The CEO’s disclosed Indian-entity remuneration of ₹250,000 per year is implausibly low and effectively zero for disclosure purposes. Real compensation flows through the Singapore holding structure (Affle Holdings Pte. Ltd.) and is invisible to Indian public market investors. This is a fundamental governance transparency gap that prevents proper pay-performance assessment by shareholders.

06. Receivables from early-stage start-ups — credit quality at risk

Trade receivables and contract assets of ₹6,402 Mn (Sep 2025) include balances from early-stage start-up clients whose ability to pay is directly linked to their own funding cycles. The auditor flags significant management judgment in ECL provisioning. A deterioration in Indian VC/start-up funding availability could trigger large catch-up provisions that have not been pre-provisioned.

07. YouAppi/Jampp — acquisition disputes, ₹383 Mn contingent liability, and integration concerns

Ongoing arbitration with Jampp’s terminated founders (breach of fiduciary duties claimed), ₹383 Mn in withheld contingent consideration pending resolution, and the wind-up of Jampp APAC and EMEA entities collectively signal that Affle’s post-acquisition management has been more difficult than presented publicly. Legal proceedings could result in material cash outflows.

08. Bobble “Held for Sale” for 18+ months — Ind AS 5 criteria may no longer be met

The ₹1,346 Mn investment in Bobble has been classified as “Held for Sale” since May 2024 but remains unsold as of November 2025 due to an active legal dispute over inspection rights. The Ind AS 5 one-year time limit has been breached; the classification’s continued maintenance without impairment testing is inconsistent with the standard’s intent and creates a risk of forced reclassification and write-down.

09. Gamnat promoter allotment — ₹5,000 Mn undeployed, inflating “other income” and obscuring operating FCF

The promoter raised ₹7,374 Mn via a preferential allotment to their own Singapore entity (Gamnat Pte. Ltd.), diluting public shareholders. Over two years later, ₹5,000 Mn remains in fixed deposits generating ~₹400–500 Mn of annual interest income. This interest income inflates total income and reported profitability, while obscuring that operating free cash flow generation is materially weaker than headline PBT figures suggest.

Excellent analysis for Affle. This part of seeing the numbers is what most of us miss or cant understand

Is this a claude or chatgpt response based on fy25 affle annual report? if so can you please also give me the annual report page number for the points you made.

I have studied there fy25 annual report but only consolidated numbers and didn’t studied there subsidiaries numbers

I feel calling the company ticking time bomb is too much in my opinion

promoter anuj khanna is very humble, hardworking and deserving person but I respect your opinion.

some of the points you raised

point 1 :

regarding goodwill many growth tech firms avoid impairment for years and regarding underperformance in jammp etc subsidiaries i didn’t studied there subsdary numbers and why management acquired that entity my assumption management may liked there ML and AI algorithms tech stack instead of there buisness clients which I don’t Know it is just my assumption for now.

point 2:

Intangible capitalisation inflating PAT

This is also common in tech companies and many tech companies show software development cost, platform building cost, research and development cost etc

In this case it is better to look out for cfo/ebidta of you feel PAT inflated and affle cfo/ebidta is good.

Point3:

Not a big issue they got 1 time benefit in fy24 because of tax credit and in fy 25 it won’t happen will get full tax.

Point4:

Cfo/pat is deteriorated because of dso rised but it is not a permanent issue right only a quarter issue after that they receive the money.

Point 5:

Iam also little bit surprised when I saw low compensation 2.5 lakh for Anuj khanna ceo and he also doesn’t take esops as well if I remember correctly

But it is professional managed by

cfo kapil mohan who has 2.24 crores as remuneration

Chief strategic initiatives officer with 2.23 crores as remuneration

CFO Vipul with 1.58 crores as remuneration etc

Many other members please check below image

Can you please mention which page real payout happening via Singapore entity to Anuj khanna ceo of the company ?

Point 6:

Ya that can be a risk like it happened with real gaming apps same may or maynot happen with early stage startup clients but company always trying to diverse the client mix(category E,F,G & H),region mix(developed market vs emerging market)etc

Point 7:

Not a major issue but 38cr of contingent liability from subsidiaries.

Point 8:

As I mentioned earlier I didn’t studied in depth of there subsidiaries before but as you mentioned due to legal dispute delay persist.

Point 9:

I agree they are not deployed the raised money and still approx 500cr is in FD’s and getting interest as other income.

But i guess in q2 or q1 this year concall some analyst asked about idle cash 1000 crores because of this roce are impacting for the company and then Anuj clearly mentioned whatever they acquire that must suit affle tech stack,similar margins,roce etc to affle,and also good valuations then only they will acquire and he mentioned they won’t accquire just for the sake of it and they engage with the acquiring company for years before going for acquisition.

For Walker Chandiok & Co LLP Chartered Accountants Firm’s Registration No.: 001076N/N500013 Ashish Gupta Partner Membership No.: 504662 UDIN: 25504662BMOOEU8313 Place: Gurugram Date: 10 May 2025

I do not think Walker Chandiok compromises such points. However, on AR page 200-201, they covered Audit observations on Revenue and Intangible assets.

But Good observations at your end and NEXT concall to take Management opinion on all points