Abhishek's Journal: Being Less Stupid

I’ve been a (near silent) reader here for quite some time, and thought it’s finally time to start sharing my thoughts and learning journey.

I plan to write about how I think about investments, analyze opportunities, and most importantly - what I keep learning along the way.

First, a bit about me - I’ve worn different hats in my career. Started as an industry analyst and business consultant, then tried my hand at entrepreneurship (including a failed food-tech startup that was conceptually similar to Zomato/Swiggy). Later, I advised startups on fundraising, which gave me an interesting outsider’s view of the startup investing world. These experiences have shaped how I look at businesses and investments today.

Let me be upfront about a few things. I’m fortunate to be financially free, and this privilege allows me to think about investing differently.
I’m not chasing aggressive returns or looking for the next multibagger - honestly, I don’t think I have the skills or temperament for that.
Instead, I’m aiming for steady returns that modestly beat the market over 10-15 years.

Something I’ve learned the hard way: in investing, temperament matters way more than judgment. I’d say it’s 85-90% temperament and 10-15% judgment. Most experienced investors actually get the analysis part right - it’s the emotional discipline that makes the difference.
I have two painful personal examples: I sold SRF and Persistent Systems simply because their stock prices weren’t moving quickly enough for my liking. The analysis was right, the businesses were executing well, but I lacked the patience to let the story unfold. Looking at their stock prices today makes me wince, but it’s a powerful reminder that great investments often test your patience before rewarding it.

Here’s what you can expect from my posts (I’ll try to write 2-4 times a month):

• Learnings about industries/sectors
  • How I analyze businesses within their value chains
  • Mistakes I’ve made and what they taught me
  • General musings about investing and life

My approach might seem overly cautious to some. I maintain a high level of skepticism, especially about promoter actions.
My investing strategy has evolved after mistakes I’ve made over the last 14 years. Now, I would love to find great companies that keep growing profits without compromising their balance sheet quality, while their stock prices stay flat or even decline - makes my job of finding new ideas easier!

I do have a confession - I invest a small portion (about 5%) in momentum stocks. Here’s the brutal truth: most humans have an inherent gambling streak, and I’m no different.
This small allocation is my way of acknowledging and managing that gambling itch. I don’t believe in momentum investing as a philosophy - in fact, I think it’s quite the opposite of sensible investing. But I’m also honest enough to admit that I haven’t yet developed the temperament to completely ignore high-flying stocks that everyone’s talking about. Rather than fight this human weakness, I’ve chosen to contain it within strict limits. This 5% exposure satisfies that craving while preventing it from affecting my core portfolio.
I don’t pretend to be an expert here - we have many brilliant minds on VP for momentum plays. As Nomad wisely put it,

“This is momentum investing and is the mechanism by which expensive shares become very expensive, just as cheap shares may become very cheap.”

In this age of information overload, I’ve found immense value in Anand Sridharan’s “Rushmore Yardstick” - the idea of identifying a select few thinkers who truly understand the first principles of their domain. These are the rare individuals who, as Anand puts it, see through the Maya to understand “the nature of the beast.”
My Mount Rushmore includes Anand himself and colleague Pulak Prasad (Nalanda), Nassim Taleb for his insights on uncertainty and antifragility, Howard Marks for his understanding of market cycles, Michael Mauboussin (for analyzing businesses), and Daniel Kahneman for illuminating how our minds actually work (versus how we think they work).
I obsessively study their thinking. I’m quite selective about adding new voices to this list - there’s too much noise out there in the financial world (and I’m probably adding to it now!).
One thing I’ve learned to be wary of is advice from people without skin in the game. This includes most market commentators and financial sh**fluencers. Instead, I focus on learning from practitioners who eat their own cooking.

I try to find anti-fragile companies run by good managers. My focus isn’t necessarily on businesses chasing large TAMs - instead, I look for companies that dominate their niches. The first step in my analysis is always forensic checks - this is non-negotiable. If a business fails these checks, I don’t analyze it any further, no matter how promising the opportunity ahead might look. In analyzing businesses, I place more emphasis on balance sheets and cash flow statements than EPS (P&L). After all, it’s the financial structure and cash generation that help companies not just survive stress but potentially get stronger through different market cycles.

Looking forward to engaging with all of you. Please feel free to disagree, challenge, or share your own perspectives - that’s how we all learn and grow.

54 Likes

Hey Abhishek, I am an MBA student and have recently started learning about investing. What I have learned so far is almost the same as what you have written in your post. I hope to learn more from your experience.

Hi Abhishek,
Your post is very authentic, insightful, and packed with hard-earned wisdom. Excited to follow your journey and learn from your experiences. Looking forward to your posts on business analysis and investing discipline! :rocket:

Naren’s truth bombs

Came across S. Naren’s (ICICI Pru) recent speech at IFA Galaxy 2025. The video was apparently edited/removed later, but I found this transcript on twitter that contains some brutal truths that are worth a serious read.

I reckon there’s a lot of debate going around about why he himself didn’t stop SIPs/fresh funds in his mutual funds, with some dismissing Naren’s warnings as a skewed and a biased narrative. Some argue that he himself is guilty of launching thematic funds at the peaks. Whether fund houses stop inflows or not is beside the point - the real question is:

Are current small-cap valuations justified by business fundamentals, or are they being driven by narrative momentum? The data, as Naren points out, suggests the latter.

The market doesn’t care about our opinions or narratives. It eventually gravitates towards business reality. Always has, always will.

Sharing my thoughts along with key insights from his speech:

What Are We Worried About? | Sankaran Naren | IFA Galaxy 2025 2.pdf (82.8 KB)

The Great Risk Transfer

• In 2007-08, when companies needed money, they borrowed from banks. When those companies failed, banks took the hit, and indirectly, bank shareholders lost money. Today’s situation is far more dangerous - companies directly tap retail money through QIPs and IPOs.
  • When a mutual fund collects money for small-cap funds, they’re just agents - they invest OUR money in small caps and clearly tell us that YOU bear all the risks.
  • Bank’s balance sheets today are incredibly strong because they’ve transferred all lending risks to the capital markets, where ultimately retail investors are the ones holding the bag.

SIP never fails
Everyone loves saying “start an SIP, stay for 20 years.” But Naren shared some sobering data:

• If you had done SIPs in Indian markets from 1995-2002 (7 years!), you would have zero / negative returns
  • Midcap SIPs between 2006-2013 gave negative returns
  • Even recent example: SIPs in China or Brazil from 2014-2024 gave deeply negative returns

Who cares about Valuation
The current median PE of 43 for both midcap and smallcap indices is just staggering. For context, this means half the companies are trading above 43 PE! The market cap has become completely disconnected from actual profit contribution.

The SME IPO Warning

Fund Management Reality
This was eye-opening - when a ₹2 crore fund makes a mistake on a 2% position, they need to sell ₹4 lakhs worth of shares. But when an ₹80,000 crore fund makes the same 2% mistake, they need to sell ₹1,600 crores worth! Most current fund managers have never seen a true redemption cycle (last one was 2011-13).

He’s not implying that everything will crash tomorrow. India’s macros are strong, government finances are good, and corporate balance sheets are healthy. But he’s warning that risk-reward in small/midcaps is terrible, yet the industry keeps pushing these products to retail investors who don’t understand the risks.

My thoughts: Here’s the brutal reality few discuss:
Most small businesses fail. Failure rates are as high as 90%. It’s not just about lack of capital - it’s about:

• Poor management bandwidth
  • Inability to scale operations
  • No real moat/competitive advantage
  • Technology disruption
  • Working capital cycles breaking them
  • One-man shows struggling to build teams

Yet, looking at median SME and micro cap valuations today, we’d like to think every small business is destined to become the next Asian Paints or Pidilite. The market is pricing these companies like they’ve already solved the fundamental challenges that kill 90% of small businesses.

Keep dancing till the music plays on

• Finfluencers and stock brokers peddling hidden small cap gems. Undoubtedly some of these companies have great business models and potential - but at what price?.
  • Mutual fund companies packaging questionable stocks into thematic and small-cap funds. Couldn’t stop laughing at a recent full page ad of conglomerate fund - hats off to the fund’s audacity of peddling such crap
  • Distributors pushing these funds for fat commissions
  • The timing of promoter communications is perfect too! Notice how these “highest monthly/quarterly sales” perfectly coincide with peak analyst excitement? Classic playbook - feed the narrative when momentum is high.*

Even on ValuePickr, I’m seeing concerning patterns in a few popular threads. Some investors (sadly, some senior members too!) are relentlessly pushing cheap signals (e.g. small order wins, MNC client addition, grapevine, unrelated news link). Most of these routine business developments should not be misconstrued as revolutionary breakthroughs.

I suspect some threads might have ulterior motives: coordinated price action is hard to miss if you’ve been around long enough. But beyond warning fellow investors to stay vigilant, there’s little one can do.

On a sidenote - those who haven’t watched Delhi Belly yet, you’re missing out on one of the wittiest dark comedies ever made.

It is this unforgettable, hilarious scene where Vijay Raaz spends the entire movie hunting what he thinks is a precious diamond, only to discover he’s been chasing :poop: all along.

What ultimately unfolds in the small-cap space remains to be seen. Markets have a way of humbling both extreme pessimists and wild optimists. But when everyone around you can recommend you a multibagger, that’s precisely when you need to be most careful.

> “I like to say, “Experience is what you got when you didn’t get what you wanted.” - Howard Marks

Golden words, lot of froth in markets. Amused to see Chamunda Electricals getting 7100 cr bid, something is wrong somewhere who are all those investors applying to these kind of SME IPO’s. Its a big nexus and fraud happening under the nose of SEBI. I have never seen any power utility company trading above 15 PE as its difficult to earn 15% ROE in a utility firm here you see all renewable space, EMS space is inflated like there is no tomorrow and companies are digging gold. 8-9% OPM business are trading at 50-150 PE despite carnage in markets for last 6 months, this shows kind of poision is built up in markets. Hats off to Parag Parikh who opened warned about froth in markets and did not accept money from investors. Small cap firms have potential to go half even from current levels, lot of midcap in hot sectors are over owned and chances of steep corrections will be there as soon as Nifty breaks 22800, that day is also not looking far. All tips and recommendations are only for stock distribution as volumes are required.

Major problems is we have 70% fund managers immature with 1-4 years of experience and even retail investors are also 1-4 years in market, its a deadly combination.

God knows what will happen once liquidity will dry up from markets.

True. While EMS is overvalued but atleast some of them have good ROE and ROCE ( emphasis on some).

SME is almost 90% irrational valuations and a game of Iski topi uske sar. Rest are outright frauds.

I’ve been reading 2018 carnage since the last few months thread, and it is a classic case study for understanding human/investor behaviour. Our lizard brains play tricks on us. I wouldn’t blame any particular fund manager or investor based on their experience alone.
I, too, have been guilty of buying high, in anticipation of selling higher.
Bull markets take away a good chunk of sanity, and it is nearly impossible to hold your horses.

Cutting Ribbons, Cutting Corners: Why Regular Tender Winners Should Be Viewed Cautiously

A couple of years ago, I witnessed the inner workings of a municipal corporation’s tendering process that left me shocked. What started as a simple consulting gig turned into an eye-opening experience about how broken municipal tendering could get.

A friend with connections to municipal decision-makers asked me to look at their property tax system and suggest improvements for the tender renewal. I brought along a techie friend who’d recently quit his corporate job as a Software Architect to start a tech consulting practice. Together, we interviewed tax inspectors and dug into their problems. We were initially told there was no fixed fee, but were promised “reasonable compensation” once we helped solve their problem.

The existing system was a complete mess, the software was buggy as hell, had basic calculation errors, crashing during peak tax payment days and failed to properly transfer data from older systems. Tax inspectors had to maintain physical records as backup because they couldn’t trust the digital system.

The previous contract worth several crores required 8-10 technical staff on-site, but guess how many were actually present? Only one. He, too, had limited knowledge and would escalate most issues to his team that worked from another city.
My friend, coming from banking tech background, found this an easy-peasy with limited complexities and estimated a 10x better software could be built for just 1/5th of what they’d paid before.

We scouted and recommended two decent mid-sized tech firms with proven records building enterprise systems in globally competitive markets. One flat-out refused when they heard “municipal tender.” The second reluctantly moved forward, sharing financials and even sending their CTO to discuss the technical specification in the pre-tendering meetings.

Like most government bodies, the corporation had a Big Four consultant advising them. Their guy - some mid-level employee throwing around jargon with zero skin in the game - simply copied the technical specifications that my friend and the interested vendor’s CTO had suggested into the new tender draft :slight_smile: .

Modern tendering uses a “Quality and Cost-Based Selection” (QCBS) system - 70% weight on qualifications, 30% on cost. Sounds fair, right? Wrong. The consulting advisors could have significant say in establishing scoring criteria, allowing them to effectively disqualify any new entrants. For instance, they might require “minimum 3 projects developed for smart city above xx crore” - criteria that automatically filter out new but potentially better solutions.

We later found out that previously blacklisted vendors were positioned to win again. They were participating with other sister entities and had created a consortium to get around their blacklisted status. The qualification criteria were carefully designed in the revised draft so most other bidders wouldn’t make the cut.

Another friend who leads enterprise sales for a multinational (digital tech, energy solutions company) told me something even more ridiculous. His qualified firm had to work as a subcontractor under a housekeeping services company (owned by a MLA) that won a smart city technology contract. His firm received only a part of their payments, lots of rap from the stakeholders who lacked basic tech skills, while the minister proudly cut the ribbon at the grand inauguration ceremony with loud applause and media coverage. Meanwhile, half the technology systems weren’t even installed! Citizens suffer with poor public services while taxpayer money gets wasted on subpar solutions.

What This Means for Investors

Be extremely cautious about companies that get most of their business from tenders, especially at municipal and state levels. Regular wins might not signal superior efficiency, business skills, but could indicate entrenched relationships and shady procurement practices.
Dig deeper and do scuttlebutt.

A risk-averse investor would go with companies that succeed in open, competitive markets - not just in the murky world of government tenders.

This tweet by BuggyHuman resonates perfectly

From I've seen of EPC businesses that get government contracts, the more local the government gets, the worse it is. On both corruption & incompetence. Municipal tendering is a disaster and Municipal governments are most corrupt of all. Rot is deep, no easy way to fix this.

— Buggy Human (@SridharanAnand) July 26, 2024
```

I’m overwhelmed by the smartness and humility of people I find here! Thank you for sharing the article on Rushmorean! soothes the bruised and battered mind not able to handle the infromation tsumani that is out there…

Notes from my journal
I’m happy to share that I’ll be publishing my investment journal notes on this page regularly. I believe knowledge becomes more valuable when shared openly.

Everything valuable I share comes from studying the approaches of Nalanda Capital (Anand + Pulak), Daniel Kahneman, Prof. Sanjay Bakshi, WB, CM, Sanjoy Da, Howard Marks and others.
Their wisdom guides my thinking, so anything insightful you find in my posts: the credit is entirely theirs. Anything stupid? That’s on me.

Important Caveats:

• Go to the Source: I strongly recommend watching/reading the original lectures and books. Reading my notes is like reading a book summary without spending time with the author—valuable but incomplete.
  • Focus on Supertexts: I strongly believe in re-reading the foundational texts rather than diluting my thought process with every investment parallel. While momentum investing in bull markets might have merit, my limited brain bandwidth is reserved for core ideas that shouldn’t be compromised.
  • Selective Learning: In the last 4–5 years, I’ve spent numerous hours with these masters through their writings and lectures—many revisited multiple times. I’ve carefully chosen whose wisdom guides my core investment philosophy.
  • Healthy Skepticism: I don’t disrespect alternative investment approaches, but I take them with a pound of salt. They might work for others, but straying from fundamental principles often leads to confusion.
  • Modest Goals: My objective isn’t to earn 25% CAGR, but to modestly beat the odds while becoming a better thinker, human, and investor.
  • Behavioral Focus: These notes will primarily concentrate on the behavioural aspects of investing, with limited space for valuation methods. Down the line, I’ll share some industry-specific notes I’ve prepared, but the emphasis remains on how we think and decide as investors.

Why share?

• The process of writing clarifies my own understanding
  • Most valuable knowledge isn’t created in isolation but built upon others’ wisdom
  • Sharing my learning creates accountability in my thinking
  • It might save you time in your own investment learning curve

I welcome your perspectives, disagreements, and insights as we learn together.

Note 1 - The rewards of good Behaviour
Sanjoy Bhattacharya (Sanjoy Da), YouTube

Summary:

• We’re wired for survival, not investing → Hardwired not to buy low, sell high
  • Odds are against against us
  • Being a contrarian is not enough
  • Forecasting is for morons, don’t attempt it
  • Don’t look at your pf daily → Itch to act and do something stupid
  • Learn humility - if you don’t markets will teach you
  • Practice saying “I don’t know”
  • Purpose in life isn’t accumulating money only. There’s no logistics service to deliver your accumulated cash in hell.
  • Don’t try to emulate WB - he’s an outlier and matching his temperament is nearly impossible.

Glad that you found it useful. I guess the smart comment is about Anand Sir because I’m far from that milestone. Will hopefully reach there someday.
Re humility - copy pasting from my note: “Practice humility. If you don’t, markets will teach you.”

Since we’re often guided (as in your notes) to seek out the antithesis for every thesis, I’ve observed that there’s always a negative or downside to be found once you start looking for it. While there may be rare opportunities beyond our radar that have no obvious negatives, these are the exception, not the rule. This raises the question: doesn’t this tendency to focus on both the pros and cons lead to paralysis unless there’s a more structured way to assign weights to each factor? Furthermore, with all the pros and cons considered, isn’t deploying money based on this analysis somewhat of an act of confidence—perhaps even arrogance—assuming that you know what’s best?"
I’m asking this question because I’m trying to invest on my own, beyond professionally guided stocks, I really can’t take a decision if I start considering the pros and cons. Also, lets take any stock conversation on valuepickr, most of the times threads have a leaning on positives of the stock with very few contrarian views. Doesn’t it make sense to structure the conversation in a better way to naturally allow both stream of thoughts flow parallelly?

We are not trying to learn everything and do everything at once. We are not trying to go all in.

There are numerous instances where greats of financial world have made mistakes. It is not wrong to go forward and experience losses and use the experiences to get better the next time.

This is a journey, a long one if we want it to be. The journey has to start at some point, if we want to start. There will be many falls, no doubt, but there will be rewards as well.

One can ponder for ages to be or not to be, or one can have some understanding, some clarity, and take a step forward. For better or worse, our market has expanded. And there are many opportunities, with different capital requirements, for different time horizons, with different return possibilities. There will be things that one can relate to and do.

Market is supreme, experience is the best teacher, we are students and it is better to attempt the exam. There is no perfect way to begin. What begins can be perfected to the individual.

I am all over the place. My limited point is to go forward, find what you want to do and see if it is worth doing it. You will be amazed at your own growth after a few years, irrespective of where and how you have began.

If you know what your strengths are, and are aware of limitations, if any, a lot can be done and achieved, with many ifs and buts along the way.

thanks Chaitanya. I am assuming your message was in reference to my comment!
I get your point, which is, one has to start walking with the information one has, and course correct, if you learn on the way..

Sir, you’ve raised an excellent question :folded_hands:
I wish I could give you a comprehensive answer, but I’m still a learner on this investment journey myself. I still try to take a stab.
Since it’s inherently difficult to systematically weigh pros against cons, I’ve come to believe that margin of safety is the most critical aspect of investment decision-making. I apply this not just to valuation but to all qualitative aspects - management quality, business moat, capital allocation, and competitive positioning (borrowed from Anand sir). When the margin is sufficient, we can act despite uncertainties that will always exist.
Checklist_Abhishek_BodhCap.xlsx (318.7 KB)

During analysis, I don’t rush. It takes me months to analyze opportunities where I observe skilled investors form a thesis in weeks. I’ve made peace with my slow pace though. If doubt exists, I delay action.
Even for compelling ideas, I give myself time to develop anti-theses.
Re VP forum, I become more skeptical about an idea if I see many investors getting excited / posting cheap signals (small order wins, PR type news, new client logos, possible regulatory tailwind etc.).

My true confidence builds from on-ground reports (industry expert / scuttlebutt) interviews and historical context (almost everything is cyclical, mean reversion).

I follow a thesis, anti-thesis, and synthesis approach. For instance, I analyzed an oligopolistic value-added steel product company with a wide moat, clean management, and robust business model. Scuttlebutt corroborated the same. Valuation was slightly expensive. But the anti-thesis here was simply based on the capital returns framework - global steel glut will continue to put pressure on all steel players. Hence, I decided to wait for more price correction - that’s where odds could be in my favor. The synthesis was formed based on a broad perspective and understanding by standing on the shoulders of giants (Marathon Capital in this case). In these situations, it doesn’t matter to me what other investors predict about micros. Those who have seen cycles across industries get more weightage. Same reason for avoiding Solar companies.

I hope I have not added more to your confusion :slight_smile:

thanks for your reply Abhishek, and i appreciate your patience while waiting for right time, mere mortal like me (and many many more) are just get under tremendous pressure to act as price goes up and up. I am yet to form the knack of finding the giant shoulders and build further from there to build my conviction.

Note 2 - Practical Utility of Seven Math Ideas
Prof. Sanjay Bakshi, YouTube

Summary:

• Proof by reduction: Works by assuming the opposite of what you want to prove
  • Inversion: Instead of asking how to succeed, ask how to fail and avoid those
  • Law of large numbers: Large sample size → Avg. outcome =~Theoretical exp. value
  • Compound Interest
  • Multiplication rule: Understand multiplicative probabilities. 10 variables with 90% probability → combined probability is not 90%, it’s 35%
  • Small probabilities with large consequences: Russian roulette. Understand the risk not worth taking
  • Bayesian reasoning: Base rate → gather new evidence → update your conclusion

Note 3 - Fomo in Markets
Manish Chokhani, YouTube

HI ABhishek, Prof Bakshi mesmerizes his audience! What depth and lucidity.
Two observations - Does diversifying wiht 15+ businesses (offcourse of reasonable good quality) avoids facing a russian roulette? If yes, majority of people are devoid of ruins except small few who risks it all on tips.
Second - Can you elaborate on Bayesian reasoning? how can this be implemented in day to day analysis?