Hi @vicky_7900,
I think if we put things in a long context we understand this better.
It would have been impossible for him to know this in advance. We are all students of the market (in fact he says this quite early in his presentation) and our Indian markets are quite young. He is not god, and we should not expect him to have known all this in advance. The gentleman is just another human being trying his best to learn. He is surely more knowledgeable than us, but he is still a student nonetheless and open about admitting it. He has also spoken quite frankly about how even his own analysts have been assessing, and have forgotten trailing PE and only look at forward PE that too 2-3 years down. I think he is learning and because he is open minded, he is evolving. That is a good teaching for us as well. To not have very rigid thoughts and be open to knowledge as it comes to us.
He gave another very interesting tidbit that the Sensex was never 100
It was actually constructed backwards in 1986 and the Sensex was assumed to be 100 based on way too many changes from 1979 (when it never existed). He says, the Sensex basically went up 6-7 times in 7-8 years before the actual date when the Sensex was available as what we know it. So from there the returns are more like 13% PA. Makes a huge difference if the starting price of the Sensex was 100 or 700 when we look at data. Now, when we look at 13%, we also had periods of very high inflation at that time. If I remember correctly the bank FD interest rates used to be around 18% PA. Imagine if we get them today . So again, returns are a mix of growth and inflation. Now that inflation is quite controlled, what should be our returns going forward? That is a big big question. It has the power to change valuation as we know it.
On your main question, if he did not know in 1990’s or 2000’s it is actually quite true. Why? Because we did not have that many listed companies, and we have seen much of them in existence only for the last 25 years. Before that, it was mainly MNC’s and Indian operator stocks. Very few genuine Indian businesses. If you look back, Infosys, HDFC Bank et al, are all listed from mind 1990’s. Yes, there were some good stocks listed earlier, I understand that, the quantum is much higher since mid 1990’s. The Indian corporates coming to the market is also co-related to allowing FII investments in India which I think was opened in 1993. So if he is now making this co-relation, it makes sense because he is not using 5 years or 10 years history as a benchmark.
From history, Reliance was the stock which bought in the first wave of retail participation. That is literally the point where regular Indians got interested in the stock market. Before that, very very few had any relation to the stock market except for the brokers and punters who were mostly found around exchanges in Mumbai, Kolkata and a few other exchanges in India. In fact, broking was not considered a noble profession and it is only in the last 20 years and more so in the last 10 years that brokers and investors have gained prominence.
We all always feel what has happened recently is all there is to know. Actually there is so much more to learn and know. For example, today we can simply enter a few ratios and get a screen (thanks to screener.in). This data was never available to retail till just 7-8 years ago! and maybe a rare few took decisions on the basis of actual data.
Retail did not even know what is ROE, ROCE, CROIC etc. Now we are learning and that is great.
Now for example, we are learning how important behavior is in stock markets. This knowledge was unknown. Everyone simply said, markets cannot be timed, and whoever heard this on TV, repeated it, without knowing why they are repeating it. Now we know, it is not timing, but getting a general grip on undervaluation or overvaluation. That is the essence of what we call market timing. I am sure this will also evolve over time as we go along as behavior will ensure many people become cautious once markets and stocks are expensive and buy without fear when markets and stocks as a result are undervalued. So this edge, behavior, which till last year was not well understood will also slowly disappear. We will be looking for new edges. Although, I don’t think behavior as an edge will disappear this year There is more learning left for many before it becomes mainstream thinking.
There is still hero worship of promoters; there is still deep convictions without a care for valuations. This will take time to become common knowledge. Our market is still driven on tips. The thing is, members of VP are learning all this, it is not every retail investor, so there is a long way to go.
On your thinking that maybe now stocks will remain expensive or at high PE forever; see, it is possible right. That is a given. Is it probable? That is where the bet is. Probability is low as far as I am concerned.
Reason? I will share a small example and then a personal secret. Only for you
Lets say, you are given 1 crore and told you can invest it only in buying a business. Nothing else. So, you go around the market and check who all have a business to sell. Now, everyone businessman is in a positive mood about the future, and they are generally positive, so they keep telling you if you want my business pay me 1 crore, and that business will give you cash flow (take home or reinvest but not capex as that is a running expense) of 4 lacs.
Now you come home, and you think. Ok, if I buy this business, I will lay out 1 crore and then I will get 4 lacs in FCF. Whereas if I go right now to a bank, I will be paid 8 lacs a year and not have to work in the business. So really, should I not be getting more than 8 lacs (could be 9 or 13 lacs based on your opinion) to actually have to work in the business and risk your capital? And keep my capital liquid for when business people ask me for a fair price to buy their business? That is why I think these PE ratios cannot sustain. Today if you buy the Nifty 500 you will get around 3 lacs per year per crore in cash flow. You will do better in a bank FD right?
Now the secret I personally use; I one day (just 2-3 months ago) sat long and hard and wanted to come to a conclusion that what is my job as far as allocation of my free cash goes? I realized, my job is not to become a stock market investor. My job is not to become a FD investor. My job is not to become a private business investor. My job is not to become a real estate investor.
My job is to simply allocate my current and future capital to what promises the best return at that moment with the least risk. Even bank FD has risk
So then, I was freed of investing in stocks at all times. I was freed of investing in FD’s all the time and the likes. I became free to allocate capital to what makes the most sense at a point in time. That has become my base for taking a decision when allocating my cash.
So do I think valuations or PE’s will come down? I don’t know and I don’t need to think about it. I only need to know, I have better risk adjusted return in an FD right now because the other asset (stocks for example) is not offering the best risk adjusted return. My life becomes very easy. If the markets become more attractive risk adjusted, I will allocate to stocks or indexes.
Other that that, I like to enjoy the time I have on this planet. Who wants to be 88 and in their last breath thinking, all I did is only make money. I have so many other things to do!
Yours humbly.