The Learning Curve - drgrudge Portfolio

Investing and Mr. Market has thought me a lot. I'm a newbie managing money for past one year and wanted to document my journey here.

This is how my portfolio looks like today:

Ajanta Pharma
11%
Lupin
9%
LIC Housing Finance
8%
ITC
8%
ONGC
8%
TCS 7%
Tech Mahindra
7%
HDFC 6%
Hindustan Unilever
6%
Mayur Uniquoter
5%
Amara Raja 5%
Shilpa Medicare
5%
HDFC bank 5%
Avanti Feeds
3%
Power Finance
2%
Tata Motors (DVR)
2%
NMDC
2%
Sun Pharma 1%

My portfolio is a work in progress. I invite Valuepickr junta for their suggestions and comments.

I love investing and I feel there is a lot to learn. Got to love the learning curve. Though Iā€™ve a day job, I spend a good amount of time at office reading, researching, looking at markets live, etc.

My Investment Philosophy

1). Holding period is forever or till the business is doing well. This is partly a reason why I donā€™t sell some stocks even though I was not able to buy substantially (like Sun Pharma, just didnā€™t sell though it hardly moves my portfolio). I might change this stance as opportunity cost comes into picture. Selling 1-2% weightage to high conviction businesses seems right.

2). Finding some PSU with high cash in their book and paying consistent good dividend yield helps. I bought NMDC and PFC at multi year lows. 8-9% tax free yield (at my buying price) every year along with capital gains, if any, seems a low risk strategy.

3). I donā€™t understand technical analysis and donā€™t indulge in trading. I try to understand the business, do research, build conviction and then buy.

4). Management quality is a must.