Noida Toll Bridge Co. Ltd. - Limited Downside and Annuity Potential

I heard about this stock several years ago (2006-07 period), when I worked in the real estate finance sector. Many people including me were skeptical and arguing how a small company that built roads toll can list on LSE as well as on NSE/BSE and become a large public limited company.

The business model is simple - you build a large infrastructure facility (road, flyover), and it can cost billions of rupees and can take time to get built. Once the structure is ready in a couple of years or so, you will be allowed by Govt. to collect Toll from all passing vehicles after certain procedures and approvals. The Toll income will be the main source of income, and you need some people to run the day-to-day operations, accounting, etc. After all the administration and internal overhead, all profits are yours. The profit may be a small number initially and may hardly pay the interest on Loan Borrowed for the project, but in later years, the story changes.

Recently when I read about it in some forums that recommended the stock as a good value pick, I wanted to dig deeper and verify if its true or how things have changes over the years. The broad numbers are given below.

CMP: Rs.21.7 (NSE closing june 12, 2013)

MARKET CAP (RS CR)

*P/E

*BOOK VALUE (RS)

DIV (%)

10.00%

MARKET LOT

INDUSTRY P/E

*EPS (TTM)

*P/C

*PRICE/BOOK

DIV YIELD.(%)

4.60%

FACE VALUE (RS)

Source: Moneycontrol.com

Disclaimer: i’M NOT RECOMMENDING THIS STOCK, JUST SHARING IT FOR INFORMATION AND DISCUSS

The stock is available at a PE of 10x and 0.8 PB. The dividend yield appears high but dont get carried away - its based on the dividend on Rs.1 (10% dividend) recommend by the Board subject to approval at the AGM. Even if we assuming a conservative dividend equal to Rs.0.5 (assuming the same as last year), the yield works out to 2.3%, which is decent.