Why I stopped investing without a goal (and what changed)

For the first several years of my investing life, I had a portfolio but not a plan. A few mutual funds picked from different screeners, some direct stocks picked from some forums, an EPF that I never opened the statement for, and a rough mental note that “this is for later”. If you had asked me what “later” meant, I could not have told you. If you had asked me how much I needed, I would have made up a number on the spot.

I think a lot of us start this way. And I think it is the single biggest reason people who genuinely try to invest well still end up feeling anxious about money in their forties.

The quiet problems with investing without a goal

None of these show up in year one. They creep in slowly, and by the time you notice, correcting them costs real money.

• You cannot tell if you are on track. “My portfolio is up 14% this year” tells you nothing if you do not know what number you are aiming for. Feeling rich in a bull run and feeling poor in a correction are the same problem in disguise: no reference point.
  • Every fall feels like an emergency. When there is no plan, a 25% drawdown is scary because you do not know whether you can afford to ride it out. With a plan, you already know that money is not needed for 12 more years, so the fall is just noise.
  • You over-save in one place and under-save in another. A “consolidated portfolio” view hides that retirement is 40% short while the house down-payment fund is 60% ahead. The total looks healthy. It is not.
  • Redemption becomes a panic decision. When a real expense arrives, you sell whichever fund has done well recently, or worse, whichever has done badly and you have given up on. There is no rule to follow. So, you make it up under stress.
  • The wrong asset does the wrong job. Money you need in 3 years sitting in mid-cap funds. Money you need in 25 years sitting in FDs. Both are common and both are wrong, and neither is obvious until it hurts.

What “goal-based” actually looks like in practice

The framing is simple: no new money leaves the savings account until it is tagged to a goal. Retirement, child’s education, house, car, medical reserve, vacation. Every SIP has an address. Once tagged, the rest almost decides itself.

• The horizon picks the assets. A 3-year goal has no business in equity. A 20-year goal has no business sitting in FDs. Once you know the horizon, the debate shrinks to which specific fund, not what asset class.
  • The target number is honest. A child born today going to college in 2044 does not need “some amount”. At 8% education inflation, a course that costs 25 lakh today is closer to 1.1 crore then. Seeing that number is uncomfortable. It should be.
  • You can measure progress. Not “is my portfolio up”, but “am I on the glide for this goal”. Very different question. Much more useful answer.

Why every goal needs both equity and debt

This is the part I got wrong the longest. I thought if the horizon was long, I should be 100% equity, and if it was short, 100% debt. Both feel logical. Both are wrong at the edges.

Equity compounds. Nothing else in India gives you real returns over 15-25 years. But equity also does not care about your goal date. If a 30% drawdown lands in the two years before you need the money, the goal moves by 3-4 years. That is not a theoretical risk. It has happened three times in the last 25 years.

Debt does not compound the way equity does, but it does the arriving. It absorbs the drawdown in the final years so the goal is not held hostage to whatever the market feels like doing in your goal year. A goal portfolio that starts equity-heavy and ends debt-heavy gives you both: the compounding early, the certainty late.

Gold sits in the middle for a different reason. Not for return - it barely beats inflation over long periods. But in INR terms, gold tends to do well precisely when equity does not. A small gold sleeve (5-10%) earns its keep in the years it matters.

Rebalancing and de-risking - the two habits that do the heavy lifting

These sound boring. They are the difference between a plan that works and a plan that almost works.

Rebalancing keeps the allocation from drifting. After a good equity run, a “60/40” portfolio quietly becomes “75/25” and you are taking on risk you never agreed to. A drift-corridor rule (rebalance only when a class drifts more than 5% or 10% from target) tends to work better than calendar rebalancing - fewer transactions, less tax, but you still catch the moves that matter.

De-risking (glide path) is the scheduled shift from growth to safety as the goal approaches. This is what you were probably doing informally when you said “I will move to debt when I get closer”. The problem with informal is that it never happens. Life gets busy, markets look good, and you postpone. A written glide with concrete steps - equity going 80 to 60 to 40 to 20 to 0 as the goal nears - just runs itself.

For retirement, the same idea appears as a bucket strategy. Near-term money in safe assets, mid-term money in balanced, long-term money still in equity. You never have to sell equity in a bad year because the near bucket is already funding the next decade of expenses. This is, in my opinion, the single most underrated defence against a bad first few retirement years.

Retirement - start early, and the mistakes I see most often

If I could go back and tell 25-year-old me one thing, it would be: open a retirement plan the same day you get your first offer letter. Not the same year. The same day. Not because compounding is magical (it is, but you have heard that), but because starting early buys you the right to be wrong. If your equity return comes in 3% lower than you assumed, a 25-year-old adjusts. A 55-year-old cannot.

The mistakes I keep running into, in myself and in friends:

• Treating EPF plus one ELSS as “retirement planning”. It is a start. It is not a plan. No inflation model, no withdrawal strategy, no view on how long the money has to last.
  • Anchoring on a nominal number. “5 crore is enough”. In whose money? At 6% inflation over 25 years, 5 crore then is roughly 1.16 crore in today’s purchasing power. That is a very different retirement.
  • Ignoring healthcare. Healthcare inflates at 10-12%, not 6%, and the bills arrive concentrated in the last 15 years of life. If your plan does not have a separate line for this, it is under-planned by a lot.
  • Withdrawing from equity in the first bad year. This is the classic sequence-of-returns error. One bad market in the first 5 years of retirement can permanently impair the corpus even if the average return over the whole retirement is fine.
  • No runway to de-risk. Being 80% equity at 58, planning to retire at 60. There is no time to recover if the market turns. And it might.
  • Optimising for the average outcome. “My planner said 10% returns, so I will have 8 crore.” Fine. What is the 10th-percentile outcome? That is the number that decides whether you actually retire or not.

How well can this be done, honestly?

Better than most of us assume, once we are willing to work in probabilities instead of certainties. The tools that changed my thinking:

• Monte Carlo simulations. Instead of one “average” projection, run the plan across thousands of randomised return paths. Look at the distribution of outcomes. The “average” is almost never what happens.
  • Per-bucket returns and volatility. Not one portfolio number. Each bucket has its own job, so each has its own expected return and its own risk.
  • Stress tests. What if inflation is 1% higher than assumed? What if returns are 2% lower? What if you live 5 years longer? A plan that survives all three is a real plan.
  • A readiness score that breaks apart. Not just “are you ready” but “on which dimension are you weak” - funding, durability, or liquidity.

Two small tools I built for myself (and made public)

Because I could not find free planners that let me play with these ideas without handing over my portfolio data to somebody’s server, I ended up building two small ones. They both run entirely in the browser - no financial data ever reaches the server. Sharing them here in case any of them are useful:

I hope the first half of this post is useful even to people who never open the tools. The framing matters more than the fund.

You have articulated the blind spots very well. Looking forwards to trying simulation in your tools.

Link to the tool is given in my profile.