What's the right price to enter?

I am a beginner with somewhat basics in place.

I want to understand the timing of buying a stock. I know that there cannot be a perfect timing. But there has to be some timing to enter which gives decent or substantial gains. Like RVNL the stock rallied on back to back sessions and continuously touched new all time highs and stopped at 345. Since the results have been out, it is constantly hovering at mid 250-270 levels. Post the rally and the current stability, it is now understood that it was hyped before its result.

Now my question is how to access that a stock is over priced or at the correct valuation. I understand the logics of PE, PB ratios etc… but sometimes the stock sustains even at high PE ratios!

Any guidance on this shall be helpful :pray:

2 Likes

When you talk about timing, entries, gains and rallies, you are a trader, not necessarily an investor. So you have to have a trading system to capture such stocks. Find sectors in momentum, find stocks in momentum, buy as per certain criteria, ride the tide, and get off as per the plan, not to mention the stop loss. Valuations do not come into picture, as these are trades.

If these are investments, even technofunda bets, then FA should be added, there is a whole forum for this.

1 Like

Study can be helpful to you. Any good book on value buying will make you money. Nobody can predict the price of a stock but our conviction to remain in that will come from studying company.
Thank you. : :+1:

2 Likes

Basic fundamental question is why stock price is rising? If you find the answers for this question then you came to know what is the right price to enter.
Basic fundemental of rise in stock price is due to technical & fundamental of a company.

1 Like

Sometimes its just market expectations that the results shall be good and hence there is a good boost up before the results. Then when the results are not in line with the expectations, the stocks takes a dip.