Vijayalakshmi Portfolio

Posting my portfolio for feedback and suggestions from the esteemed group.

I am a retired principal and was an academic too so goes to say I am very literate but also financially illiterate/outdated. I am new to equities and have been pouring hours into this forum reading the threads, learning technicals, reading books (some I get, some I don’t get at all so am back to being a student which is wonderful).

Oft repeated in this forum is for a book to be authored. I very strongly echo it as combing the forum and getting the information is a challenge and the train of thought gets cuts too often. I see the knowledge here as spectacular with language easy enough for anyone to understand. The top moderators and contributors (Mr. Hitesh , Phreak, Donald to name a few) are extremely patient with questions and answers are very detailed. Please bring the book out.

My rationale to investing is capital growth , inspire people to get into equity investing and keep the learning going. I do intend to hold the stocks for a longer period.

Some misses till now : have not been able to go in with big convictions and being too hung up on technicals

Stocks and rationale

Company name % of Total Rationale
DCB Bank Ltd. 5 Quality mid cap bank with good growth
Orient Refractories Limited 6 Top refractory comp (the lining needs to be replaced so insulates it from the steel cyclical)
NGL Fine-Chem Ltd. 9 Good R&D, foray into poultry , upcoming new prod launches
Transpek Industry Ltd. 10 Quality management, good customer base with contracts , chem play
ITC 10 FMCG/tobacco play, stock at 52 w low stable compounder
Havells India Ltd. 8 Leader in electrical components, good distribution, new product launches
Avanti Feeds Ltd. 7 Cyclical play
Natco Pharma Ltd. 4 Niche onco healthcare diversification
Hester Biosciences Ltd. 5 Optimistic company. I want to give it a go. Numbers are playing out well along with the results