Starting my investment journey again!

Hi All,

I have been a trader for the most part of my life. I am planning to invest a portion of my capital. Holding investments for a long time has been very difficult for me. I hope to make it right this time, given decade-low valuations in small and mid-caps. I am willing to take considerable risk in my investments.

My assumptions are the following around the macro scenario:

1. India, like all EMs, is going to take longer to come out of the credit crisis and corona epidemic. NPAs in the banking sector could be catastrophic
  2. The government has to eventually print money, like in developed countries. However, it is going to be challenging for INR.
  3. Companies with near term cash flow visibility and dominant market share would be the winners in the years to come.

Given all these assumptions, I am looking to make a concentrated portfolio in 4-5 names. I have started with a 12% allocation in ITC, the rest of the portfolio is in cash/trading.

The rationale for ITC: Attractive valuations; market underpricing FMCG potential; strong margin trends in FMCG in the last 3 years; Stable cash flows; a huge opportunity for the dominant player in traditional business: India at the bottom of the per capita tobacco consumption

I am looking to utilize my capital in the coming weeks/months.

Would appreciate suggestions from the forum members. My criteria are:

a. No lending institution, I don’t think we have seen the end of the NPA cycle
b. Near term increasing cash flows
c. Scalable opportunity
d. Trust-worthy promoters/management

Looking forward to your responses!

Regards
Mohit

1 Like

ITC is the one of the most prominent business model in the Indian stock market there is no doubt on it.
But only concern is why the market is pulling it so down ,there is something that we cannot see and the market is judging it…