Stanley Lifestyles' IPO and Business Update

Stanley Lifestyles , a luxury furniture brand, successfully completed its IPO in June 2024, raising Rs. 2,000 million. The company plans to use the funds to expand its retail presence through new store openings and renovations.

Business Overview

• Focuses on the super-premium and luxury furniture segment.
  • Operates a network of 42 company-owned stores and 25 franchised stores across India.
  • Revenue primarily comes from sales of new luxury homes and home refurbishments.
  • Emphasizes high-quality manufacturing using premium materials sourced both domestically and internationally.
  • Collaborates with skilled artisans and designers for product innovation.

Growth Strategy

• Expanding retail footprint with a focus on standalone, hybrid, and anchor store formats.
  • Targeting 24 new stores by FY2027 with a focus on profitability at the individual store level.
  • Increasing sourcing within India to reduce dependency on imports and support local suppliers.

Challenges and Outlook

• Short-term challenges include inventory buildups, delays in developer portfolio launches, and operational issues.
  • Foreign exchange fluctuations on raw material imports have impacted profitability.
  • Despite challenges, Q4 FY2024 showed significant improvement in EBITDA and margins.
  • The company remains optimistic about the long-term growth prospects of the luxury residential segment.

Key Points

• Stanley Lifestyles aims to capitalize on the growing luxury market in India.
  • The company is investing in expanding its retail presence and improving operational efficiency.
  • While facing short-term challenges, the company is confident in its long-term growth prospects.
  • There is a focus on sustainability as part of the business strategy.

Have tracking position currently

Intro
Stanley Lifestyles - Makers of bespoke leather products and luxury furnishings. FROM a bootsrapped startup by a first-gen entrepreneur 25 years ago TO raising 200 Cr through IPO, it’s a long journey. A unique home grown super premium luxury consumer brand based out of Bangalore and now moving to other cities.

Products
Sofas, Recliners, Chairs, Tables, Dining Chairs etc (70%)
Mattress, Beds, Pillows, Cushions etc (5%)
Kitchen and cabinetry, Wardrobes, Bar units, Prayer units etc (6%)
Rest of the Sales comes from Automotive interiors and contract manufacturing.

Revenue Contribution by Store Category
COCO : 59% - 42 Stores
FOFO : 14% - 27 Stores
Contract Manufacturing & B2B : 27%

Store Format
Stanley Level Next : Ultra Luxury - Ticket Size 5 Lakhs & Above | Company Owned 8 & Franchise 3 Stores
Stanley Botique : Luxury - Ticket Size 3-5 Lakhs | Company Owned 11 & Franchise 4 Stores
Sofas & More by Stanley : Super Premium - Ticket size 1.5-3 Lakhs | Company Owned 22 & Franchise 20 Stores
Maximum Stores in Bengaluru ; Few in Hyderabad, Chennai, Cochin, Coimbatore, Mumbai, Delhi, Pune, Kolkata, etc
The company added 4 new stores in Q3fy25 - 2 under the Stanley Level Next brand and 2 under Stanley Sofas & More brand.

Q3fy25 Financial Performance
Revenues 109.7 v/s 107.3 Cr up 2.2% | 9M flat at 313 Cr
Gross Profit margin improved to 58.1% from 54.7% YoY.
Operating Profit Margin 18.6% v/s 19.2%
PAT up 39.4% from 6.4 to 8.9 Cr
COCO Retail Business grew 10% & B2B grew 21% YoY.

Q3 Concall Notes (I have copy pasted verbatim the points I felt interesting)
On Subdued growth:
Store footfals reduced due to unusually heavy rainfall and subdued market conditions in key retail markets and the shift in one of business verticals from credit to cash and carry model.

“So we realized that the B2B2C, the credit was getting piled up. Post-IPO, we decided that we have to move it to cash and carry because the collections were becoming long overdue. And
due to the stress in the market, the tendency is the B2B2C, the dealers normally do not make the payment and delay the payments. From our perspective, while we have lost a significant number in terms of value of business, but we were able to safeguard our recoveries. revenue loss was roughly around INR 12 crores due to converting from a credit to cash and carry in that particular vertical. we are correcting it, and we are very sure that we will bounce back to our previous business probably by Q2 of next financial year. As of now, we have cleared all the old issues of credit and now we are we are assessing the credit worthiness, and then we will start that cycle with a more measured way going forward.”

One more reason for Subdued growth:
“Delays in inventory handovers from the developer side. builders are not handing over on time. we are very bullish about the next couple of years coming forward because there is a lot of already sold inventory yet to come to the market.”

“From the time the apartments are sold to the handover is between 24 month to 48 month period. So for us, the customers come to us when the handover is about to start. So we are very excited because when you look at the last 36 months period, there is a huge amount of inventory that has been sold. And in various stages going forward, they are going to come for a handover. So, from a sale date to furniture date is almost 24 months to 36 months.”

Growth Drivers
Sales of apartments priced between INR 1 crores to INR 10 crores increased by 46% in 2024 and have grown nearly 500% for the past 5 years. Apartments priced at INR 2 crores to INR 5 crores have registered a significant 400% growth in the past 5 years. This trend is particularly strong in key urban markets such as Mumbai, Bangalore, Delhi-NCR, Pune and Hyderabad. As the handover of luxury homes is expected to surge in the coming years, Stanley Lifestyles is well-positioned to cater to this growing demand in this segment.

B2C is where we are expecting good growth because we have now signed up a lot more new stores that are coming up in areas we were not present. And we hope that we will definitely deliver 20% growth as explained in the past in the coming year too, quarter-on-quarter. This is how we are planning.

What really happens in our furniture business is that the stores normally take between 12 to 18 months to come to what you can call as minimum business scale. So it takes time to kind of build up to that level. Usually, the first year, the store offers you about 50% to 60% of its potential. Second year, about 70% to 80%. And third year is when it goes to come to maturity.

In the next 3 years, almost 80% of our stores would have come to maturity levels. At this point in time, less than 50% of stores are in the maturity level.

So at this point in time, we are more comfortable to expand a little more in cluster-wise. We are more or less 80% - 85% completed in our home market. Next expansion is coming up majorly
in Hyderabad. Chennai also, we are more or less coming to 70% of expansion completion.

Mumbai!, due to nonavailability of suitable real estate, our hands are tied. We are constantly trying for suitable real estate. We would like to expand more in Mumbai. And then finally, Delhi. Pune is another city we have taken over now, and there we are expanding. We remain a bit opportunistic because also in terms of getting the right real estate is something that is the biggest challenge for our business. So we are not committed to continuously grow in 1 city. If the real estate is not viable or not suitable, we try to have the flexibility of expanding in other cities. So that is how we have demonstrated our success in the past 8, 10 years, and we continue to do the same going forward.

Gross Margin & Localization
“We had targeted close to 35% of our leather purchase to be localized this year, and We are at about 33% right now. And my target is to get to about 45% end of next year. in the long term, our vision will be to get to almost 80% localization probably in 24 to 36 months.”

“We have invested in new equipment and machinery that will give us a lot more margins as we go forward. We do not put the machinery throughout our journey. We wait for the scale to come. And when we realize the ROI is between 24 and 36 months, then is when we actually backward integrate. Capacity 70% utilization that is coming from 1 shift basis. We can increase it to almost 2 if not 3.”

“We are also expecting a lot of benefits in terms of cost saving from purchased raw material. And our target remains very clear that we would like to be a INR 1,000 crores company with a 15% PAT in the next 3 Years. That’s our target.”

From the budget perspective, we are excited because the import duty on raw leather, which was basically 25% on crust and 12% on wet blue has been completely taken off. So, we are excited
that we will be able to access better raw material from Europe and other countries, and we can localize at a cheaper cost in India. That is one thing. Secondly, we are aware that BIS certification has been implemented on fabrics and boards, which are basically parts of furniture. And the government has assured that they will also have the BIS on fully made furniture, completely built furniture like they have done for footwear and toys. If that comes into play, I think, we will have a much better market condition because 90% of our competition remains imported furniture itself.

Disclosure: Invested from IPO and have been adding little bits on every decline below Rs. 300/-

DRHP Notes (Mostly copy-pasted as it is)
Main competitors
Ultra-Luxury (Stanley Level Next): Boconcept, Roche Bobois, Poltrona Frau etc
Luxury (Stanley Botique): Royal Zig, Mobel Grace, West Elm etc
Super Premium (Sofas & More): Dash Square, Vivono, Mor Decor, Natuzzi, Sarita Handa etc
Premium: Durian, Furniturewalla, Royal Oak, Godrej Interio, IKEA etc
Mass: Evok, Damro, Pepperfry, Hometown, Nilkamal etc
Most of the competitors in Ultra-Luxury are Foreign Brands who do not have manufacturing unit in India and Import from Europe.

TAM
In 2023, Stanley Lifestyles have an addressable market of approximately US$ 5.3 billion (₹ 423 billion), projected to grow to approximately US$ 10.5 billion (₹ 840 billion) by 2027.

Given the size of Stanley Lifestyles Limited’s manufacturing as well as retail operations and the diversified home solution offerings, there are no directly listed companies in the same industry in India that follow a similar business model with whom their operations can be compared.

COMPETITIVE STRENGTHS
• Largest and the fastest growing brand in the luxury/super-premium furniture segment
• Comprehensive home solutions provider with offerings across categories and price points
• Pan-India presence with strategically located stores
• Focus on design-led product innovation
• Vertically integrated manufacturer with skilled craftmanship capabilities
• Efficient business model with track record of delivering financial growth
• Promoter-led company with experienced professional and senior management team.

Risk Factors
We do not own the brand name “Stanley” which is registered in the name of one of our Promoters, Sunil Suresh. While we have entered into the Assignment Deeds with Sunil Suresh, however, the trademarks are yet to be registered in our name.

We generated a substantial portion of our sales from our stores located in southern regions of India and any adverse developments affecting our operations in these regions could have an adverse impact on our revenue and results of operations.

Majority of our raw materials used in the manufacture of our furniture are imported, including leather which is the primary raw material used in our products, which we import from suppliers located in Europe. Any restrictions, either from the GoI or any governmental authority may adversely affect our business.

We do not enter into long-term supply contracts with any of our raw material suppliers. The absence of long-term contracts at fixed prices exposes us to volatility in the prices of raw materials that we require and we may be unable to pass these costs on to our customers.

We depend on limited suppliers for the supply of leather, one of our primary raw materials. The loss of one or more such suppliers could adversely affect our business.

All of our COCO stores are operated by our Subsidiaries. Any issues with the operations of the COCO stores will have an adverse impact on our business.

The premises of all of our COCO stores are leased. If we fail to renew these leases on competitive terms or if we are unable to manage our lease rental costs, our results of operations would be materially and adversely affected.

Key Man Risk may be there.

Our business involves prolonged inventory days and extended cash conversion cycle.

Raw material import exposed to fluctuations in foreign exchange rates.

Discl.: As I am very much interested in building this company into my portfolio, I hope to get more insight in this business from ValuPickrs. I Thank all.