Sectors and Stocks that are "Out of fashion" but on my buy-list

In the coming years, I intend to put together a portfolio with my life’s savings hence I want the best value for my money.

I trade Nifty Futures for a living. It has been a long journey and a very interesting one. The most important realization I have had is to:

Plan the Investment and then Invest in the Plan

Therefore, all the decisions taken here will be out of a strategy which pays heed to:

• Principles of Value Investing
  • Importance of Diversification
  • Importance of Restricted Allocation to a given scrip, sector or a price level.

Purchased SBI at Rs.1798.

Banks always generate income, unless they are offset against losses from Bad Loans. The logic is simple, the borrow from RBI at x and lend at x+2%. The instruments are different the base is same.

In the tough times ahead, we need a bank which is diversified in operations, which is the only way to offset the inevitable NPAs.

I believe the current rate of SBI takes into account the NPAs. It is a stalwart and not the one to be blown away by the wind.

There are other banks too: like Axis, Yes that are good. But, they are too light to weather the tough times ahead and still keep upto valuations. There is HDFC which is reliable but too expensive. Hence, SBI makes perfect sense.

It is possible that SBI reaches lower levels, even sub-1000. Then it will be a better buy. It is the largest PSU bank and I feel safe.

Amit.

I have always found that the banks are very difficult to value. The primary reason is the lurking fear of some hidden bomb - a large group in the portfolio/ general economic downturn and a significant chunk of the portfolio going bad.

SBI is diversified, has large retail base, has brand equity and huge connect with corporates. SBI will no doubt weather the storm. But would it generate sufficient retruns is the question we need to address.