Samarth's Portfolio & Learnings

My Name is Samarth and here I’ll try to share my portfolio picks, rationale behind investing and my learning’s to start with my portfolio as on today consist of:

1. Macpower CNC Machines
  2. Transformers & Rectifiers India Ltd
  3. Hi-green Carbon Ltd.
  4. Time Technoplast Limited
  5. Swelect Energy System Ltd.
  6. Netweb Technologies Ltd
  7. E2E Networks

I’ll try to share my learning’s and rationale behind making my investments in this companies through this medium and it will also help me articulate my thought process ad constantly push me to do better and make more efforts…

As I believe that we can work, work, work, work and just hope to have few insights as luck and probability plays a very big role in investing…

Hi Samarth,
It would be good if you could also share other details like holding period of these stocks, your rationale, the type of investor you are; etc.

To begin with I’ll try to share my investing rationale for investing in Hi-green carbon ltd.
The company is engaged in recycling of end of use tires to produce pyrolysis oil, recovered carbon black, and sodium silicate (raw glass)

Hi – Green Carbon Limited Report (1).pdf (735.9 KB)

Above I have attached a note regarding my understanding of the business and my learning’s from the company I hope you all derive some value from it.

secondly, the economics of the company’s business is what attracted me let me explain that to you:
Company on its max can generate a revenue of INR 70-80 Crores from one plant and currently it operates only one plant but two plants one in MP & Another one in Dhule, Maharashtra are under construction so after setting up three plants the company will able to generate a revenue in line of 200-250 crores at an EBITDA margin of 22-25% and PAT Margins of 15-18% which will give company enough revenue to setup another plant from internal accruals only and they will need just 10-12 crores in working capital.

Plus, they are getting 80% GST subsidy on capex done in Maharashtra which will lower there capex cost and are getting 40% subsidy on capex done in MP so again that will lead to decrease in capex cost leading to higher ROIC.

The company is not only certified from Indian govt. but also from ISCC and REACH which further indicates good operating standard as it a highly regulated industry so it gives a boost to them.

Secondly, the company is able to establish plant at a cost of 40-50 crores which is the main advantage that they have as to setup similar plant outside India it takes 200-300 crores in capex and it gets confirm while looking at its global peers.

The company is able to pass on the increase in cost to its customer and company if it matches the input and ouput cost, with increase in capacity and expansion in EBITDA margins that will be massive.

I can be biased as well and as a student i would always like to here the feedback from all of you…

Disc - it is not a buy or sell call it is just for educational purpose

Thanks for sharing your writeup, seeking your view on below,

1. Its highly capital intensive business, debt & dilution going to increase as they are planning for 4 new plants
  2. isn’t their end products commodity in nature? margin’s will oscillate?

Through this exercise i would love to learn from you people and share my journey as well because one person cannot lift the mountain but a group of people can surely do…
so collaborative investing is what i have faith in and try to do…

As far as portfolio allocation is concerned I prefer to have concentrated bets and this has evolved over time for me… and with the guidance of my few mentor cum friends…

The holding period for my portfolio is:
Macpower CNC Machines 1.8 years
Swelect Energy Systems Limited is 9.2 Months
Transformers & Rectifiers India Limited is 2.2 Years
Hi-green Carbon Limited is 2.5 Months
Time Technoplast Limited is 1.2 Months
Netweb Technologies Limited is 7 Months
E2E Networks Limited is 10 Months

That’s my portfolio holding period…

Regarding that the business economics is quite favorable as the capex cost is 40-50 crores for dhule plant for which they came with an IPO so it will be taken care from it and also on this capex they will get a 80% GST subsidy over 10 year period that will boost it.

Secondly, Once two plants come on board they will have 130-150 crores in topline at optimum capacity utilisation they will be able to generate 18-20 crores in cashflow and gor the working capital requirement of Maharashtra plant they already have set aside 10 crores in FD so that won’t be a issue and from that situation if we see then it won’t be a much of problem to setup plant 3 in MP as they will have sufficient cashflow plus, have money in reserves as well.

And as far as the commodity product is concerned we can understand that the sodium silicate plant is setup at 3/4 crores at Max and for the production of sodium silicate major cost component is power and that they are getting for free due to excess production of pyrolysis oil which they uses to produce it so theya re able to provide it at lower cost while realising similar realisations for it.
And rCB is increasingly used in industry for cost cutting purpose and is mixed in proportion along with the Virgin Carbon black for cost reduction and yes they will get affected due to price fluctuations but what i could understand is that if they are able to meet the input price and realisation price with expansion in capacity that will lead to reasonably good growth.

Plus, for them there only raw material is end of life tyre which they get at Rs. 13-16 per kg and with the increased awareness among tyre company they will also get the benefit of charging offtake comission that is price paid to get tyres recycled as it happens in US and EU and eventually India will follow the pack as far as i could understand it will majorly solve the issue.

Plus, till now End of life tyres were directly burnt into the cement furnace but CPCB has become quite vigilant regarding it so the cement players have started looking for alternative and pyrolysis oil produces more BTU heat per kg consumed as compared to other alternatives so that will further aid them.

PS: Right now they have just one plant and all this is what can happen in future so will have to keep close track of the developments going on and the industry as well…

I may be biased as i am invested but this is not a big or sell call…

I hope I was able to answer…

Hi Samarth,

Amazing analysis, are there any companies that you are currently analysing and looking to add in next 1-2 months?

Nishant

In India everyday 6,50,000 Tyres are produced and 275,000 tyres are discarded leading to
generating of more than 1 million of end of life tyres every year

Can you pls clarify the numbers?

If 275,000 tyres are discarded per day, wouldn’t that be 100 million end of life tyres per year?

Am I missing something?

Nishant

Can you please share the investing rationale for other companies in your portfolio?

In past few days or say weeks got little busy in some family event due to which I couldn’t update my blog but hereon I’ll try to share my thesis as often as possible and update it as well.

Time Technoplast is a company which I invested with when the current leader Mr. Bharat ji Vageria came in had visited there facility back when Anil Ji was heading the company and looking at the corporate history of the company, it was always a technocrat company bringing in newer technology in IBC and Chemical Packaging space but took a hit in terms of poor capital allocation & management not walking the talk, but with coming up of new leadership this problem started to get resolved and focus of new Mgmt started shifting from low margin established product range to better Margin Value Added Product Segment, easing out of corporate structure, selling of non-core assets in form of land parcel at Karnataka on which earlier mgmt planned to do real estate business.

One Mental Model I use is
Great Business - High/Better Margins & High/Better Turnover
Good Business - Better Margins & Low Turnover
Okayish Business - Medium Margins & Better Turnover
Gruesome Business - Low Margin & Low Turnover

So when Management shift from Okayish Business to Good Business Markets starts to appreciate the fact… as value creation starts to get better.

Below I have shared my thesis in the form of small write up
Time Technoplast Limited Report.pdf (1.1 MB)

On 16.04.2024 in blog of Time Technoplast I wrote

Time Technoplast is a medium term bet and the internal business is cyclical in nature but right now the company is in sweet spot because

1. Chemical sector is slowly gaining traction in terms of production and still major revenue contribution for the company comes from IBC so now establish business will also post good numbers.
  2. In India on 35 cities are covered under CGD and still many part of India is dependent upon cylinders for there cooking fuel so that is not a problem and since composite cylinder can store more fuel than traditional type 3 or metal cylinder it will gain traction in HORECA industry with time so one can check out of close to 2 to 3 crores (damaged) cylinders that come back what is the proportion for type 4 cylinder going back to the market.
  3. Once the new capex is completed in this year company will also enter the retrofitting market and that has a huge potential as only maruti a single auto company has committed to produce 4 lakh CNG vehicles plus autorickshaw had also this demand because current cylinders are heavy and stores less gas.
  4. Now, most important of all as company was a technocrat from very beginning but intresting thing is now Bharat ji is walking the talk and not just committing high things but actually delivering the result as seen in last year where company didn’t receive money from divestment of there offshore business through which they planned to add new capacity for CNG cascade but still added any how without increasing further debt and in the established business company is doing only maintenance capex.

Below is a write up I wrote on the holding period in Small & Microcap Space:

"In 1988, Warren Buffet famously said, ‘Our favorite holding period is forever.’ This quote has become a tagline for many investors, including me. But on thinking and evaluating this quote, I find it to be misleading.

Many investors, including myself, when reading Buffett’s shareholder letters for the first time, took this quote literally. However, Mr. Buffet’s real intention was to convey the message that he intends to buy stocks he can hold forever. So, in 2016, after he got sick of people misinterpreting his statement, he said, ‘Sometimes the comments of shareholders or media imply that we will own certain stocks “forever.” It is true that we own some stocks that I have no intention of selling for as far as the eye can see (and we’re talking 20/20 vision). But we have made no commitment that Berkshire will hold any of its marketable securities forever.’

This makes one thing clear: in investing and in life, a person’s intention matters the most. Here’s the difference between trading and investing:

In Trading: A person’s intention is to sell the stock, while,

In Investing: a person’s intention with every purchase is to hold it.

His intention was to hold his stocks forever, but as the business or macro situation changed, he sold them, though he made good money on them (that’s a different topic). This proves what we know to be true, but don’t like to admit: all stocks have different shelf lives.

Shelf life refers to the amount of time until a commodity or food is consumable without being unfit for consumption. For example, vegetables have a shelf life of 2 to 3 days, fruits 5 to 7 days, milk 1 to 2 days, and pickles 1 to 1.5 years.

Just like food, every stock or investment in your portfolio has a shelf life. The difference between food and stocks is that we know the shelf life of food, but with stocks, we don’t know the shelf life when we buy them. There’s no one-size-fits-all approach to estimate it as all businesses evolve differently. Some are gradual compounders, and some are momentum sprinters. This also differs from investor to investor.

Now, if I ask you to define your stock holding framework, many of us would define it with an exception rather than a norm, like: ‘I do deep research and understand different businesses and industries and identify a handful of wonderful businesses that I buy and hold forever.’ Isn’t it funny? Like Mr. Buffet, maybe only 2 out of 50 businesses you analyze would be worthy of owning for 10+ years. They are exceptions, not the norm, as not every business is in the buy-and-hold category.

We love to define our investing strategy as finding those 2 wonderful businesses, but in reality, our investing strategy depends on how we deal with the remaining 48. We can still make a lot of money on those 48 because what I realise is that finding those 2 business is also a matter in which luck plays a significant role and apart form finding those 2 business it also becomes equally important to get allocation and execution right.

But here’s the dilemma no one in the market likes to talk about: the skill of selling. It’s an admission that either your thesis is wrong or that ‘you don’t hold stocks forever.’ Admitting you are wrong means you are not perfect, and no one wants to admit that they are not perfect – though none of us are.

My intention with every purchase is to hold the stock for 5+ years, but less than 5% of the stocks meet that criteria of a wonderful business. Thinking on this line, I did an assessment of my own portfolio, and the results were quite surprising. Over the last 5-6 years, I invested in 40-50 companies and held only 3 stocks for more than 5 years. My average holding period across my stocks was 2.5 to 3 years, as I invest primarily in small and microcap companies. The natural shelf life of such companies is shorter than that of mid and large-cap businesses.

I’ve observed that in Indian Markets, for a small and microcap business, that shelf life is 4 to 10 quarters. In this part of the market, it also becomes equally important to evaluate management as small-cap investing is mainly surrounded by evaluating whether management is lucky or skillful and how long it will last.

And also, most small and microcap investors, including me, try to fit too hard into the camp of ‘buy and hold forever,’ but the shelf life of most small-cap companies is 2.5 to 3 years. I’m trying to be more aware of this issue and figuring out ways to avoid it, but I still haven’t got a proven way."

This is my way of thinking and this may apply to only me but, I am just trying to share my thoughts and as a learner we should always endevor to develop our own thinking and though process as in life and investing borrowed skill and conviction are harmful.

Very well written Samarth

There have few changes to my portfolio but I failed to update them here for the reasons I mentioned above:

1. I have completely exited from Swelect Energy Systems Limited because of the following reasons:
  • Not Clarity regarding the management’s intention as to what it is trying to do with the company and what is there long term vision here.
  • The organizational structure is too complex though, they took a good decision of selling the business of WOS AMEX Alloys but even after that it was too complex for me to get the clarity regarding the future growth triggers.
  • Also, I was finding a better opportunity elsewhere I exited Swelect completely.

My Initial buy was around Rs. 543 to Rs.560 because there was a breakout there and I was tracking the business from few time before and I had increased my allocation around 930/945.

1. Macpower CNC Machines I have made my holding risk free now by holding free shares it is not because my conviction in the business has lost but, it is purely because I needed funds for investing in a business where I founded better opportunity.

In my experience, I’ve observed that the market tends to price in anticipated growth triggers well before they actually materialize. The market is both forward-looking and quick to react, often assigning a premium valuation to stocks in advance of the expected growth. Once this anticipated growth is factored into the stock price, the market generally enters a phase of consolidation, as the initial growth projections are already reflected in the valuation.
During this consolidation period, the actual growth performance begins to align with the earlier valuation, effectively bridging the gap between anticipated value and fundamental reality. Once the realized growth meets these expectations, the valuation may once again start to reflect forward-looking growth triggers. This cycle of valuation expansion, growth realization, and subsequent consolidation appears to be a recurring pattern, setting the stage for the next leg of growth and valuation adjustments.

A similar situation has unfolded with Macpower CNC Machines Ltd., yet I remain confident in the company’s execution capabilities and the management’s expertise. I had the opportunity to meet Nikesh Bhai (brother of Rupesh Bhai) at the HIMTEX 2024 event held in Hyderabad. This interaction provided valuable insights into the company’s ongoing business developments. I also spoke with several of their customers and gathered feedback on the performance and perception of Macpower’s machines. These conversations, along with interactions with other industry players, offered a comprehensive view of the company’s position and reputation within the industry.

1. Hi-green Carbon Ltd. from the initial position I have increased my allocation in the company as I got better understanding of the business & management pedigree.

2. I sold half of my position in TARIL given that I needed funds to allocate in new opportunities but from my initial buying position the stock has already been 9x given the improvement in the industry landscape and the power sector theme, recently the business economics have become interesting with the demand for transformers increasing due to data center & power sector capex and all with that the other companies in the sectors like Voltamp & Bharat Bijlee currently facing capacity constraints while TARIL has increased it’s capacity & Shilchar Technologies can ramp up it’s capacity with a brownfield capex the dynamics has been in favor of TARIL as backward integration + Margin Expansion & Operating leverage is on the table.

3. I continue to hold Time Technoplast, as management has been consistently walking the talk, delivering good performance with improvements in both volumes and margins. Operating leverage is also becoming increasingly favorable. Recently, the company decided to cancel the sale of its Middle East facility—a sale they had been exploring for the past 1.5 to 2 years. This decision marks a shift from part of my initial thesis, which included the sale of low-ROCE, lower-margin businesses to reduce leverage and drive high-margin, high-growth, value-added segments.
    However, over the past year, both the business landscape and company priorities have evolved. The decision to retain the Middle East operations now appears logical, as Bharat Ji initially intended to use the sale proceeds to deleverage the balance sheet, support new capex in value-added products, and enhance the efficiency of existing facilities. These objectives can now be achieved through a Qualified Institutional Placement (QIP) rather than an asset sale. This change in initial thesis presents an opportunity to reevaluate the business dynamics and associated risks.

My initial entry was around Rs. 125-130, and I currently see no reason to exit the position. I have an expectation of reaching around Rs. 700 over the next three years. While the stock may not appear particularly undervalued for a fresh entry at current levels as per my understanding, I view it as a slow and steady wins the race candidate.

1. Balu Forge was a recent addition to my portfolio at the Rs. 280-290 level, following a rounding bottom breakout. I had been tracking the company for some time, and the price action brought it to my attention. A deeper analysis of the business revealed strong fundamentals: effective capital allocation, capacity ramp-up, and a focus on precision engineering. Insights from HIMTEX 2024 also added valuable context, enhancing my understanding of the company’s position.

Feedback from suppliers to various forging companies highlighted an increasing emphasis by Indian forging firms and European OEMs on precision work. Market dynamics are shifting away from European forging companies due to rising capex costs and final output costs, opening doors for Indian players. Additionally, with the government’s focus on defense and aerospace manufacturing, Indian firms, including Balu Forge, are gaining significant traction. The company’s product mix, spanning both EV and traditional automotive parts, is well-balanced and lucrative.

While Balu Forge had sufficient capacity, underutilization was a challenge due to working capital constraints. However, with recent funding, this constraint has eased, allowing for improved capacity utilization and operating leverage. These developments, coupled with clear growth triggers and earnings visibility, led me to take a sizable position in the company.

Fund Raising Table I have attached below:

1. Kitex Garments this is another new addition in my portfolio it came to my radar again thanks! to price action I did a deep down on the business when it was repeatedly coming in my radar and also when one good analyst friend of mine suggested my to study it.
    Valuepickr forum for Kitex garment is very interesting I would urge you to give it a read… The business is good like they are into manufacturing of children’s wear garment which has a barrier to entry given the certification & regulatory requirements to enter posses as a barrier. It does manufacturing for almost all major brands and has a good business economic the only thing which was a issue was corporate governance and organizational structure with a delay in capex which management was talking about from a long time though it had valid reasons like it had to shift from Kerala then getting permission in Telangana but, now things seems to get resolved with capex coming online and organizational structure getting simplified I understand it to be a good buy. I entered here at around Rs. 280/290 levels and then I increased the allocation to full around 315/320 levels.
    Below I have attached my thesis regarding it:
    Report - Kitex Garments.pdf (703.5 KB)
    Ownership Structure.pdf (96.5 KB)
    I have also attached previous & current corporate structure, only concern here is the management & execution that needs to be tracked well…

So, here I have updated my full portfolio till now along with reasoning & learnings. I consider this as a memoir for me where I pen down my thesis, learnings, views & thoughts.

Thanks for reading it so far…

Flat result in q2 for Hi Green Carbon… Does it impact your perception about this company…

The results for the H1FY25 were mostly in line with my expectations because the of the following reasons:

1. The current plant at bhilwara was already operating at its optimum capacity so without expanding the revenue were supposed to be stagnant or at same levels.

2. Secondly, they had there dhule plant ready and recognised it in account in terms of cost (depreciation, employee cost etc.) but revenue contribution from that plant hasn’t came yet leading to increase in cost while revenue to remain same.

3. So, second half when both plants will contribute to topline (usually they take 6/7 months to fully ramp up the capacity) will give a better picture to us.

When evaluating investments in small businesses, it is important to refrain from making judgments based solely on short-term performance metrics such as quarterly or half-yearly results. Small businesses often face a range of challenges, particularly in their early stages, as promoters work to establish sound business practices, refine operations, and navigate various external factors. Delays or setbacks may occur due to circumstances beyond the company’s control, which could affect short-term performance. Therefore, the key to successful investment in such businesses lies in assessing the long-term potential of the enterprise, the competence of the management team, and the strategic direction being pursued. If the business fundamentals remain strong and the leadership is proactive in making the right decisions, it is often prudent to maintain confidence in the investment despite temporary setbacks.

Hence, my thesis is still intact and confidence is still in place with the company and the management.

Gone through the company’s Annual Report ~ FY 2023-24 and found below negatives :

1. Number of employees decreased compared to last year.

2. The Company has not filed form MGT-14 related to filing of resolution for issue of
    securities pursuant to section 179 (3) of the Companies Act, 2013 and Form MSME, till
    completion of financial year ended on 31.03.2024.

3. The Company has not given advance notice of Five days under regulation 29 of SEBI
    (LODR) Regulations, 2015 for one Board meeting held on 04th November 2023, in which
    there was an agenda of financial result

4. The Financial result for the Half year need on 30th September 2023 was filed on 15th
    April 2024.

1. The Company is engaged in work where they work on contractual labours so, the permanent employee count in the firm is not a reliable number to be taken into consideration. Secondly, the plant that they have setup is an automated plant so the labour requirement will be relatively less.

2. As per the provisions of Section 179(3) of the Companies Act, 2013, every resolution passed by the Board of Directors on matters specified under this section, such as borrowing monies, investing funds, or approving financial statements, is required to be filed with the Registrar of Companies (RoC) in Form MGT-14 of the said section.

Timeline for Filing
The prescribed timeline for filing MGT-14 is 30 days from the date of passing the board resolution.

Applicability
Filing MGT-14 is mandatory for public companies for resolutions covered under Section 179(3).

Documentation
The form must be accompanied by:

1. A certified true copy of the board resolution.
  2. Supporting documents, if any (e.g., agreements or terms of borrowing/investment).

So, In the quires raised by the CS in the Secretarial Audit report the company failed to file Board resolution which is to be filed separately and also to be attached with form MGT-14, so the query raised was regarding non filling of Board Resolution & not MGT-14 which I don’t feel to be of that much concern.

1. This is a query not of much relevance because in the month of November annual return of companies are required to be filed with RoC at MCA portal but due to increased traffic on the site many a times MCA site crashes I know this because I do fillings for the company as a CA and I don’t think it is more of that issue.

2. As per Regulation 33(1)(d) read with SEBI Circular on Listing obligation & Disclosure requirement dated 11.07.2023 it clearly states that:

• As per the regulatory framework under SEBI (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, newly listed companies or entities encountering force majeure circumstances can apply for an extension of the prescribed timelines for filing financial results. Such extensions must be sought by submitting valid and reasonable justifications to the stock exchange where the company is listed.

• For SME-listed companies, these relaxations are generally reviewed and granted on a case-by-case basis by the respective SME platform (e.g., NSE Emerge or BSE SME). The exchanges evaluate the merits of the request and may allow a reasonable extension to ensure compliance while addressing the operational challenges faced by the company.

I tried to state provisions of the law & state the fact to for such delay…

Hi-Green Carbon is a nano-cap company, and as with any small company, it is unreasonable to expect perfection in every aspect of its operations. At this stage, the company is still learning, adapting, and growing. For investors, the key focus should be on assessing the quality of the management team and making an informed judgment about their capabilities. Over time, as the company and its business achieve greater size and scale, the management tends to make better decisions, such as hiring the right talent. However, this evolution is often rooted in the integrity and honesty of the management from the beginning—a trait I believe the management of Hi-Green Carbon possesses.

For small businesses, the primary objective of going for an IPO is to raise funds to expand and scale. Their energy is directed toward getting the business economics right, controlling administrative costs, funding growth, and seizing new opportunities. This relentless focus is critical at this stage. Once the company achieves a certain scale, it can then prioritize other aspects of business, such as establishing a organizational structure, getting divisional managers, and engaging consultants to refine operations further.

Thus, expecting the same level of sophistication in operations and disclosures as seen in larger, established companies like Infosys or TCS would be unrealistic. Small companies, in their formative years, are bound to make mistakes, but these are a natural part of their growth journey. As the saying goes, “They may stumble, but they don’t lose their way.”

Currently, Hi-Green Carbon operates only one plant running at full capacity. As new plants are commissioned, we will have the opportunity to observe and evaluate the management’s execution capabilities. This includes assessing the quality of their decision-making in capital allocation and their efforts to enhance the terminal value of the business. Over time, with new facts and data emerging, we can make a more informed analysis of their long-term potential.

Small cap investing is much like abstract art—both require a vision that goes beyond the obvious and a willingness to interpret what others might overlook. Abstract art challenges us to see beauty in chaos, to discern patterns and emotions in forms that seem random at first glance. Similarly, investing in Small/ Nanocaps demands a capacity to look past financial clutter and small-scale operations to uncover hidden potential. In both cases, value isn’t immediately apparent—it emerges through patience, perspective, and the courage to trust your unique interpretation & having belief in the variant perception.

I hope I was able to answer your question…

One Company that I have been tracking since sometime is Techera Engineering Limited
TechEra Engineering (India) Limited operates within the aerospace and defence industries, specializing in the design, development, and supply of precision-engineered products and solutions. The company’s operations cater to both the defence and commercial sectors, highlighting its versatile capabilities and adaptability to diverse customer needs. Established in October 2018, TechEra has rapidly grown to become a key player in its niche market.

Business Segments

• Aerospace and Defence Tooling and Components : This segment forms the core of TechEra’s business, focusing on the manufacture of high-precision tools and components essential for the production, maintenance, and overhaul of aircraft. Products within this segment include assembly tooling’s, jigs, fixtures, MRO tooling’s, ground support equipment, and precision-machined components. The sources highlight TechEra’s use of advanced manufacturing technologies such as 5-axis machining and 3D modelling for design visualization, enabling them to deliver products adhering to the stringent quality and precision standards of the aerospace and defence industries. Examples of specific products offered in this segment are mentioned throughout the sources.
  • Automation System Solutions : TechEra Engineering’s Automation Division, while a minor business segment, plays a significant role in advancing industrial and manufacturing processes across various sectors. This segment is dedicated to designing, building, integrating, and commissioning automation systems tailored to client needs. Leveraging Industry 4.0 technologies, including IoT and AR/VR, the Automation Division provides solutions such as assembly lines, conveyor systems, special-purpose machines, material handling equipment, and robotic applications. Although a minor segment, it exemplifies TechEra’s commitment to innovation and expanding its reach beyond its core aerospace and defence focus.

Customer Base

TechEra Engineering primarily serves customers within the aerospace and defence industries, working with both original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) and Tier 1 aerospace companies. Notably, the sources reveal a heavy reliance on a limited number of clients, with the top 10 customers accounting for 94.09% of TechEra’s revenue as of December 31, 2023. This dependence on a small customer group presents a potential risk factor for the company’s future growth and stability. The sources do not provide the names of any specific customers.

So this, the basic Introduction for the company a one pager kind of thing so that anyone reading it fresh can understand.

I got a chance to meet the management so I will share few of the insights that I got but before that I want to state that this my taking regarding the company and It is subjective differs from person to person…

1. The promoter Mr. Nimesh & Mr. Meet are extremely passionate about the business they are doing and passion is what that is driving them also, in the past they had been running a business by the name Techcellncy Engineering India Pvt Ltd which was also involved in manufacturing of toolings for aerospace industry which they closed around 2017/2018 and then they started Techera Engineering Limited.
  2. The Product business of the company requires major investment in working capital for scalability and also they mostly into structural part of the aircraft with an moderate exposure to precision work but here, scalability is something that i feel is a bit of a concern due to need of high working capital investment because the raw material and inventory they require is imported which is not readily available.
  3. The tooling segment of the business I initially thought it to be a consumption oriented business where you sell the product and then you keep on selling the tools but it is not the product life is fairly large and they claim that they made a product as such that no complains is received by them from there customer which is good when looked from the quality perspective but what about scalability & sales growth… the tooling business is such that they cannot maintain inventory at a scale because every part is unique to a particular aircraft and it differs from aircraft to aircraft.
  4. The TATA & Boeing deal which lead me to Techera as I was of the opinion that they would be huge beneficiary of the deal as TATA is already there client and along with it they have experience to manufacture Commercial Aircraft Vertical Fins, fan cowl assembly tooling, center fuselage assembly etc… but it is not the case as they do not supply to them and they export it because the realization which they get from TATA is relatively less as compared to which they get from export market.
  5. The C-295 programme that is running which is a huge opportunity for the tooling business and automation system solutions but the market share of the company is only till 50-70 crores out of the total opportunity and to expand they need another programme to be launch and they should also win tenders there.
  6. The Promoter according to me is passionate as I noticed like he wears his work & brand but he wants to do many things at once like he wants to expand product business also, tooling business also, automation business also, do R&D and launch new products also…
  7. The company has problem with cash because they need capital to invest in working capital and do capex (in future not now) but they don’t have that much as the cashflows are negative, working capital cycle is elongated & he has already diluted so much of equity & i don’t feel that they would be willing to dilute it further and since cashflows are not there he won’t be thinking of taking a debt as how he will service the interest cost so in terms of business economics he is at a critical juncture because how he will raise funds for it will matter a lot & I feel that scalability of the business is a bit concerning and will have to be seen in execution of the management

So, this are my understanding of the company and management which I shared but I again want to highlight this is my take on the management and I can be wrong as well as no one will ever know the management completely in the first meet and just like investing it is a process…

But, till now I’ll be keeping Techera in my watchlist and dig into it when there will be trigger…

Management Meet Notes of Balu Forge Industries Ltd.

1. The Second & third generation which has entered the company is very dynamic as well as pragmatic in there approach.

2. The company is making significant strides into the defense and railway sectors.

3. The company has sufficient funds and generates enough cash from operations to internally finance its expansion without requiring any debt.

4. The management is focused on a “Europe +1” strategy, which they view as a significant opportunity due to the following reasons:

• Very high labor costs in Europe.
  • Geopolitical challenges in Russia and Ukraine, which have traditionally been leaders in precision forging and machining engineering.
  • A potential resurgence of Donald Trump in the U.S. presidency, which may lead to greater detachment of the American economy from China, prompting Europe to follow suit in a big way.
  1. When questioned about the relatively low gross block of assets compared to other forging companies, the management explained that they don’t purchase new machines. Instead, they acquire old machines at one-tenth of the cost and refurbish them to operate at 80% efficiency. They are confident in this approach, which they describe as their core competence, honed over two generations.

2. Regarding their higher margins compared to peers, the management offered an interesting perspective. They explained that while they are often perceived as a forging company, their true identity lies in precision machining. Forging serves as a backward integration to enhance production and quality control.

3. When asked about the potential impact of a slowdown in government expenditure, considering a decline in GST collections and overall growth, the management expressed no concerns. They highlighted that they supply to 80 countries, including India, ensuring a steady stream of business. They also emphasized that the Europe +1 strategy alone provides them with a visibility of at least 10-12 years of growth.

4. The company has secured a commitment to produce wheel sets for Vande Bharat trains. This work is being undertaken for a European company that has received an order from a government entity. According to the management, wheel sets account for 40% of the total cost of a bogie.

5. The company has been approached by explosives manufacturers to produce bomb shells, a high-margin business. Previously, this business was dominated by Russia and Ukraine, but the company will now step into this space.

6. The company recently appointed a CEO with over 25 years of experience at Bharat Forge Ltd. Along with the CEO, a team of 25 professionals, personally selected by him, has also been brought on board to focus intensively on each vertical.

7. Over the last 12-18 months, the company has obtained various certifications, including from DRDO and ISO. Some certifications have already been received, while others are in process. The company believes it is now well-prepared for execution.

8. Recently, the company secured a government order by quoting ₹2.75 lakhs, significantly lower than Bharat Forge’s quote of nearly ₹7 lakhs. Despite the competitive pricing, the company expects to achieve EBITDA margins of 29% on this order.

9. All expansions are planned in Belgaum, Karnataka, due to the availability of skilled labor at reasonable costs. As per their presentation, the expansion projects are expected to be operational in Q4 FY24-25 and Q1 FY25-26. Additionally, the company plans to scale up its machining capacity from 36,000 to 80,000 units, marking the final phase of capital expenditure. They are also negotiating to acquire advanced 7-axis CNC machines from Europe, which would make them the first in India to install such technology.

10. The company has entered into a joint venture (JV) with Swan Energy, where it acts as the manufacturing partner with a 40% stake in the JV. Management expressed confidence in the JV with Swan Energy and there ability to secure sufficient business for the next 3-4 years from the arrangement.

11. The company is targeting a gross block of ₹650 crores by FY27. They anticipate achieving 4-5 times asset turnover, aspiring to generate ₹3,000-4,000 crores in revenue by FY27, with EBITDA margins of 29-30% and PAT margins of 21-22%.

12. When questioned about certain loans carrying high interest rates of 17-19% (referenced in pages 199-201 of the Annual Report), the management appeared surprised. They clarified that these were legacy loans inherited due to the merger of a private company into the current entity. The loans have since been fully repaid in the current year.

13. When asked about the lack of responses from the Investor Relations Manager despite repeated emails, one of the promoters provided their own email and contact number for direct communication. The company also announced plans to begin conducting concalls starting Q1 FY25-26.

14. Historically, the company has distributed dividends conservatively to preserve resources for investments. As the capex cycle nears its end, they aim to increase dividend payouts in the coming years.

15. The promoters emphasized their commitment to the business by highlighting their consistent participation in preferential capital infusions alongside other investors, ensuring their “skin in the game.”

16. On a fully diluted basis, the promoters’ stake in the company is expected to be approximately 59%.

The following numbers can be expected from Balu Forge Ltd according to my estimate.

Particulars FY24 FY25 FY26 FY27
Sales 559.86 839.79 1,259.69 1,889.53
EBIT 127.49 243.54 365.31 547.96
NOPAT 96.34 189.96 284.94 427.41
Net Profit 173.59 267.43 408.68
Inc Fixed Capital Investment 27.99 41.99 62.98
Inc Working Capital Investment 27.99 41.99 62.98
FCF 133.97 200.96 301.44
PV of FCF 120.70 163.11 220.41
Cumulative PV of FCF 120.70 283.80 504.22

disclaimer: I can be biased as I am invested in the company. *You will very likely lose money if you use any information in this post without your own due-diligence.

Management Meet Notes on Marvel Decor Ltd

Total Global Market of blinds and Curtains in 2023 was around 3 Lakhs Crores. Indian Market is 700 Crores. 200 Crores is organized. 500 Crores is unorganized.

The Company claims to have world’s largest range of blinds.

The main Competitors are:

1. Hunter Douglas
  2. Forest Group Blind
  3. Somfy (Leader in blind motor)

The Company has priced its product at 20% less then Hunter Douglas.

The Company’s dispatch time is 48 Hours.

The promoter treats the blinds as an experience product. Its not just curtain to avoid sunlight but to manage the experience in the home. Also, adds to the aesthetic look of the home. With the increase in the home decoration spendings, the expenditure towards blinds will increase.

The management have appointed around 700 dealers. Last few dealers which are appointed are those who can do the automation of blinds. Also, the Company appointed system integrator who integrates the blind automations with centralized home automations. Only blinds can fit in automation.

Company has recently started manufacturing its own motor for blinds.

Blinds are better than curtains in many ways. It can cover any part of the window as we like. This is not possible in case of traditional curtain.

The Company recently opened Experience Centre in Andheri, Mumbai where it has a complete display of how blinds can be used scientifically to add to the beauty of home as well as how it can control the experience living in home and creating different ambience as per the moods.

Appointed 20-25 people working in double shifts for international sale. The Company claims to be in top five in Dubai. All international dispatches are from Dubai.

The promoter claims that the Company has never distributed free samples. Showing that the promoter have confidence in the Company’s product.

Out of current 65 Crores of topline, 45 is international sales.

Last one year the Company started B2B business. This can be big according to me.

Central Vista (Parliament Order) was of 20 Crores. The Company got this project because of the design it had in its catalogue. B2B order book is 25 Crores.

The Company on the hiring spree. Currently there are 69 openings in the Company.

What is liked:

1. The Promoter is super passionate about the product and Company.
  2. All members of the promoter family are involved actively in the business. Promoter’s son is currently pursuing his masters in London. He will be soon joining the Company.
  3. The management has been able to built brand and lots of ground work like appointing dealers, nationally and internationally, making its own motor, appointing international dealers in many countries, training dealer in sales and fittings, international call centre, shifting himself to Mumbai to access markets and connectivity in better way, opening center in Dubai, tying up with decorated Interior Designers to make the products acceptable to the ultimate spenders, started B2B business in a bigger way, integrating blind automation with home automations, managing unmatchable inventory range etc.

What I didn’t liked:

1. Although the management seems to have done fairly good amount of work, but clarity of path from 50 Crores to 500 Crores topline is something which I think was missing.
  2. The management was not able to clearly answer :
  • How the Company will reach to 500 Crores?
  • How the Company will capture more market share?
  • How the Company will manage funds?
  1. The Management guided that they will have to keep an inventory of 125 Crores on sales of 500 Crores which seems to be high. This also means majority of the cash flows will be stuck in inventory. So, management will be left with less resources to manage capacity building.
  2. The management has been trying to penetrate a difficult market to convince the Indian Customer to buy blinds. This is a very difficult market. Indian Consumers are inherently cost conscious. Spending around 12K-15K for blinds seems to be a difficult market to crack. Doing some scuttlebutt, the Company’s products are priced almost 5-6 times more than unorganized player’s price. Because of this, the acceptability of the product seems to be challenging.

How I see it?

1. According to my understanding, the Company should increase the focus on B2B kind of business and project business as in this area the acceptability of its product will be very easy. The Company has started doing that. I am hopeful about this step and will track this closely. If this approach is cracked properly, this can be good business.
  2. The Company should focus on the international market where price point is favorable for the Company. Also, these countries being a mature market and developed economy have better spendings habits. Best part is that the Company is doing this. I will keep on tracking this point to access the Company.
  3. It will be interesting to see how the Company manages its inventory and working capital. I will monitor this aspect.