Roy's Portfolio Review

Hi All,

I’ve been investing for a couple of years, entirely in Mutual Funds until recently. Since the last month I have started investing in the stock market and am on my way to build portfolio. This is what it looks like at the moment (overall investment very low at the moment)

What do you folks think? Currently in the red, but since the total investment amount is very low right now, I’m okay with that in the short term :slight_smile:

Some of the companies I’ve been thinking of adding:

1. Housing Finance Companies - Govt push for affordable housing seems to be massive. Confused about the company to buy into. PNB and GRUH seem over-priced but growing fast. Indiabulls and Dewan seem better priced. Need to analyze details such as NPA, average ticket size etc. Would anyone have a source where I can analyze and take a decision? (Leaning towards DHFL)
  2. Wonderla - Good management, decent numbers, great prospects
  3. Something in the FMCG space - Everything seems overpriced (ITC, HLL) or not that great prospects-wise (Bajaj Corp)
  4. Logistics - Exploit the GST space. Plus with the ecommerce boom, companies like Flipkart, Amazon may not make money, logistics should see a sustained boom

What would you recommend from a diversification perspective? I’m not very knowledgeable on Metals, Chemicals, Oil and Gas so likely to stay away.

Thanks,
Roy

2 Likes

Why do you say PNB is overvalued? I beg to differ here as I would value it based on P/BV multiple instead of PE. Here it trades at forward P/BV of 3 whereas Gruh and Canfin trade at 10 and 5 respectively. Their ROE and ROA ratios are bound to improve as operating leverage is going to kick-in.

Would appreciate counter views.

Disc: Invested and views are biased

1 Like

Yes, you are correct about PNB. My calculation was on Current P/BV and PE ratio. Going by these PNB is a bit over priced - P/BV of 9 and PE of 48.