Reviving an old journey post retirement

Greetings to all board members. I have been following the forum for many years but am posting for the first time. I am a writer with around 25 years of experience in many media organisations. Past year, I decided to quit my job and start my journey as an investor.
I am a typical retail investor who has been making small, small buys in the market for many years. One of my earliest investments was in HDFC Bank through IPO (was a student then). But I stopped the investment journey during my working days.
During the COVID lockdown, I restarted my journey in the stock markets and built a small portfolio through stocks and mutual funds.
Till a year ago, my investment philosophy was simple: invest primarily in Nifty 50 companies and forget. With some investments I got lucky and with some I didn’t. The returns have more or less been in line with the index.
Now I wish to invest more and create wealth for myself and my children. I am ready even to take some risks. My goal is to manage a 7-figure portfolio by the end of FY 26. For this, I am trying to liquidate some of my investments in real estate and invest the proceeds in a staggered manner.
My questions for the honorable and wise members of the forum are these:

1. How can I learn to evaluate a company and its balance sheet?
  2. How can I make informed decisions on when to invest in a company and when to get out? I have had a problem with this strategy as I have made decisions based on instinct so far and exited some real good investments at the wrong time and held on to some laggards like HDFC Life for many years.
  3. Will it be a good idea to pursue an online course on investing, and if yes, what would be the options.
    Will be grateful for advice.
1 Like

To give an idea of my strategy so far, I am mentioning my core portfolio for your advice and evaluation

ITC: average price 180, holding since 2020
ICICI Bank: average price 700, holding since 2021-22