Ratul Portfolio - Need Review and Guidance for Newbie investor

Hi everyone,

I am 29 yrs old, and took up investing in direct equity just about 6 months back - so yes, truly a newbie here. And I think I am really lucky that I found out this portal so early on my investing journey - it might just change the whole outcome for the better. I would sincerely request all the members here to help me build a portfolio that can give me 15-20% CAGR for the foreseeable future. I’m open to receive really critical feedback - so if you feel my current folio is nothing is junk, please dont hold back from saying so.

But before I share the portfolio, let me give you some context, maybe some of you may find it relevant while offering suggestions.

I have a day job in the pharma sector since last 5 yrs; however, I have been able to save money since last 3 yrs only. My total corpus at this moment is reasonably small. Below is a rough allocation of my total net worth:

• 20% in instruments like EPF, PPF, NPS
  • 30% in cash ( I segregate them in different liquid funds, each linked to a separate goal). I have some surplus here which I can invest
  • 25% is in Equity MF right now, which I intend to shift to direct equity once I have the confidence
  • 25% in direct equity

So here is my current portfolio (image attached). I’m also mentioning the reasons of the buy, if that helps.

Planning to Buy: ITC, Info Edge, 3M, LTTS/Tata Elsxi (one of these two). Any guidance on these would also be helpful.

Thanks in advance,
Ratul

At this point, this is becoming repetitive. But people who are investing in CRISIL, please look at their Annual Reports once. They provide a clear break up of the sources of Revenue and what each segments business does.

For instance, in 2018 only 29% of Revenues came from Ratings. 63% came from Research (Mostly GRA and Coalition, I presume). In fact getting into the details, CRISIL has 7 major departments:

1. Ratings
  2. Global Research & Analytics
  3. Coalition