Ram Charans's portfolio

Hi All. This is my first thread in valuepickr. Apologies for not adhering to the guidelines if any. I am a Graduate in Arts/Literature and run a family business. Investing in stocks got me intrigued at a very young age. Buying stock is buying a business for me as I understand the businesses well maybe because of my background.

However, being not from science/commerce stream I am very poor in number crunching. I did try reading on valuations, intrinsic value, detailed balance sheet analysis etc. but still i must admit I am poor at it. Therefore, I always fear to put all my money in very few stocks, fear mainly being what if something which was very apparent on these documents, because of my lack of understanding, I failed to find.

I did experiment over the years buying mid-caps and small caps but some turned out to be run by dishonest promoters and lost money. Therefore, management integrity is the first thing I look upon in a company as dishonest mgt can completely destroy the company. Valuation, quality of business and all other things come after Management quality. I believe, even at times if I have overpaid for good companies, if the management is of top quality, there is no permanent loss of capital.

The Companies in my portfolio, at least some as per me are very good businesses run by good people. But as I said, the only question is did I pay a very high price for them. As I said, I do only basic number research like PE, ROE, ROCE, NPM, OPM, 5 year-10 year sales growth, etc. mainly from screener (thanks to them, it’s wonderful and free!!). Secondly, I look at the Balance Sheet to find out the debt position. Growth fuelled with mounting debt is a recipe for disaster according to me.