Rahul Kumar's Portfolio Review: Stock Market Investment Journey

Rahul Kumar’s Stock Market Investment Journey:

Year 2015: Intraday Trading

• started investment journey in 2015 with intraday trading, trying to capitalize on short-term price movements in the stock market.

Year 2016/17: Option Buying

• I shifted to option buying, possibly attracted by the leverage and potential for substantial gains. However, later realized that option buying had limited prospects.

Year 2017/19: Selling Options with Hedging

• This approach involves collecting premiums by selling options (naked or covered) while managing risks through hedging positions. I learned various hedging strategies.

Year 2018-2023: Focusing on Investing

• I found selling options with hedging strategies to be profitable but time-consuming, especially alongside a full-time job. Thus, I decided to shift 100% of my investments into a more passive investing approach, which I have been doing since 2018.

Portfolio Overview (as of the current date, 2023):
I highly value the insights and opinions of the knowledgeable members of this forum. Therefore, I would greatly appreciate it if you could spare some time to review my portfolio and provide any suggestions or recommendations.

Symbol Allocation
AARTIIND 3%
AAVAS 2.5%
AFFLE 2.5%
APCOTEXIND 1.6%
ASIANPAINT 3%
BALKRISIND 4%
CAMPUS 3.5%
CLEAN 3.5%
DEEPAKNTR 4.2%
DIVISLAB 2%
DMART 8.5%
FINEORG 3.5%
HDFCBANK 8%
HINDUNILVR 5%
HNDFDS 3%
JUBLFOOD 3%
JYOTIRES 3%
LTIM 1.5%
LTTS 3%
LUXIND 1.5%
MAFANG 3%
MON100-E 9%
MTARTECH 2.5%
PARAS 2%
RAJESHEXPO 1.5%
RAJRATAN 1.5%
REFEX 4.2%
SIGACHI 2.5%
SONACOMS 1.5%
SUPRAJIT 2%
TCS 7.5%

I’ve chosen to invest in large-cap stocks due to their lower risk profile as I aim to minimize volatility. At the same time, I’m actively exploring opportunities in the small-cap segment.