Prince Pipes & Fittings Ltd

Prince Pipes is an evolving story. The degrowth in the Q-on-Q volume seems to have spooked and many questions around it. It appears that the chief reason was channel inventory was high in Q4 end just before lock down & many days in Apr were lost due to it. Now the channel inventory is very low at the end of Q1. Cross-selling CPVC seems to be the main growth plank. The co became long term debt free and other aspects of the balance sheet continue to improve. Co is trying to break into the B2B business and certainly has the power of all these strong alliances with 2 new ones added , Corzan & also Ultratech Building solutions.

Key Excerpts from Con call

Our results were impacted due to three reasons. Firstly, as we had indicated during the last quarters call, we took a strategic decision in March that we wanted to have a high product availability in the market due to the uncertainty of a potential lockdown. Also, with the anticipated decline in PVC prices We kept our capacities running high to produce and sell to align with the above goal. Hence, in April, the channel inventory was relatively high.

Moving forward June performance had been better than May and July performance had been much better than June. We are returning back to our regular growth trajectory

The real estate sector has been reporting positive growth. This augurs well for us signalling traction in piping products.

Aligning with our strategy of winning In many Indiaā€™s the Ultratech building solution and Prince Pipes Synergy is well placed to be a mutually beneficial partnership, especially for the semi urban and rural markets. The UBS platform has a vast network of around 2000 dealers and Prince can now leverage the relationship of registered dealers on the UBS platform.

At Prince we have been able to build a range of innovative products, consistently catering to applications across the board in a market like India which is typically been late in the adoption curve of technology and products that are well accepted globally

I am excited to introduce Prince Onefit industrial CPVC pipes. We are confident that this product will replace the conventionally used mild steel pipes for industrial application. Onefit will be licenced from Corzan with our global partner of Choice Lubrizol. This Corzan product of Lubrizol is the preferred industrial CPVC solution across the globe. Firstly, the Indian industrial piping market size is expected to be around approximately 16,000 crores. This is today dominated by the conventional MS pipes in India today, CPVC is majorly used only for the domestic application whereas globally CPVC pipes are very well accepted for industrial application as well. Secondly, the Industrial CPVC segment is underpenetrated and has low competitive intensity.

Also, the pipe to fitting & valve ratio is favourable, making this a key value proposition.

Lastly, this segment has high barriers to entry because of high gestation periods for orders and the required techno commercial expertise.

Prince Onefit will provide an optimum solution to industries such as chemical, power generation, metal treatment, paper and pulp, mineral processing, water treatment, plants, among many others. Now with this new product, Prince is Indiaā€™s first company to have a three polymer solution for industrial application. Easyfit in PVC pipes, Greenfit PPR pipes and now Onefit CPVC pipes.

This was owing to an overall improvement in performance at the EBITDA level, added by a sharp decrease in finance cost by 60% due to the complete repayment of long term debt and continuous improvement in cost of short term borrowings. On the key balance sheet parameters for the quarter ended we would like to state our gross debt as on 30th of June 2021 stood at 157 crores compared to a gross debt of 256 crores as on 30th of June 2020. Weā€™ve repaid our long-term outstanding debt and have become long term debt free as on date. While we have been able to reuse the borrowing costs for the past six quarters, Iā€™m glad to share that we have achieved partial recourse terms on our channel financing facility.

Roughly around 65 odd percent is building material, 30 odd percent is Agri and 5 percent is Infrastructure

I think the only reason you know there has been a significant volume de-growth is like we mentioned, the channel inventory was very high.

CPVC would be around 18-20% and the balance would be the other polymers

If you see the PVC trend, actually it has started moving upwards as demand is normalising and supply continues to remain tight. There was a slight inventory loss in the June quarter of around 5 cores.

On Channel finance - So we had it around 54crores in terms of the utilisation so far and we wanted to be slightly moderate over there because we are also moving to partial recourse type of structure but slow but steady is what weā€™re looking at is around 54-55 crores

Supply of PVC continues to remain a challenge.

I think we need to target double digit growth in CPVC every year. Itā€™s hard to comment on what that will be as a percentage of the overall revenue, but Iā€™m pretty optimistic about strong growth in CPC from here on.

On Margins So if itā€™s hard to give guidance when weā€™ve always been conservative, as a company, So I think 13 to 15% is something that we have already always guided at, and I would like to stick to that. And then we are happy to keep working and trying to exceed Iā€™ll, you know,

On Volume - and July have been much better than June. A few reasons for that is channel inventory was very low by the end of the quarter. And we have just started seeing an increase in the PVC pricing. And typically, when the when the prices are rising, generally the distributors would tend to stock up more.

And today the key influencers are retailers and plumbers in some cases. In rural India it could also be the individual homeowners. So we have to target across these segments.

Today, if you see, you know we were talking about a few quarters ago. Smaller players were struggling to get access to raw material after the anti dumping duty.

Today, larger players are also unable to get supply of raw materials, so today they do not have the supply security in the marketplace, so price is only going to be on paper unless youā€™re actually going to be able to sell. So today not only the smaller players, but larger players also are running here and there for product, whereas today we are in an absolutely strong position as far as supply security is concerned and any price hikes you know will be industry wide.

On RM costs - And that holds true through today as well, so I donā€™t think that delta in our costs has moved significantly. The delta, in terms of the finished good pricing, has reduced to the market leaders

Sure, so Agri has not been the only reason for the drop in volumes, but it has been one of the key reasons. Usually for us in Q1 Agri would be you know around 38 to 40%, which in this quarter has been around 30%.

In my mind, one is whether itā€™s North America, Europe, Latin America. Inherent demand has been very, very robust for PVC, so they are choosing to sell locally and not export as much. And freight costs globally have gone up in multiple which have kept this pricing buoyant.

So Industrial is still not developed, weā€™re still relying on traditional products. I think plastic plastic pipes are still being penetrated. There is some further room to be penetrated in the industrial space and today in India, if I look at the CPVC industrial space, there is only maybe 1 clear leader in India and Itā€™s not easy to import simply because of the freight cost.

And you know, if we are, you know Iā€™m fairly confident because the product (Industrial CPVC) is so much superior to the conventional solution.

Because the Y-oY is also was impacted by Covid, but in our industry, I think QOQ is never the right comparison, especially March quarter to June quarter simply because the dynamics are so much different for Agri and for plumbing as well. Because Q4 is where you know all the distributors are gunning for their targets and you know.

Demand is going to improve from here on , and that direction has already started moving. Also, channel inventory was very low at the end of the quarter and with the increase in the PVC prices starting, I think that will be a further boost for the demand.

an excerpt from the stock story on Astral Poly published on VP way back in 2011.

14. MARGINS ā€“ SUSTAINABILITY. THERE HAS BEEN A SLIDE IN MARGINS EVERY QUARTER FOR THE LAST 4 QUARTERS. OPERATING MARGINS (EXCL OTHER INCOME) HAS ACTUALLY SLID FROM OVER 16% TO JUST OVER 11% IN Q3FY11 ā€“ A SIGNIFICANT CONTRACTION OF OVER 5%! (RAW MATERIAL/SALES HAS REMAINED BETWEEN 64%-66.5% ROUGHLY)

Kindly explain the circumstances leading to this. Is this a short-term scenario and have we seen a good reversal in Q4 given that historically this is your best quarter? What levels do you see margins sustaining in the next 2-3 years?

PVC market is a highly crowded space and the OPM levels are not more than 8-10%. Itā€™s a sort of a commodity business now. With more acceptance of CPVC and competition coming in, would it happen for CPVC market alsoā€¦if not why? Where do you see margins sustaining over the next 2-3 years?

What you are comparing is sequentially quarter on quarter basis. A better comparison would be comparing annual figures where there has been a smaller decline. We should be within the historical 13-15% range on annual basis.

Whenever we introduce new products in the market, we go aggressively after market share. FY10 and FY11 has seen many new product introductions and therefore there is a dip in margins. We believe that at the rate we are growing, we have to take some margin pressure along our stride, as long as we stay within the historical range. Eventually economies of scale will deliver.

Here is a link for tracking PVC price. PVC Resin Prices in India | To Get Free Rates Daily, Click Here Now
Looking at this one can conclude that inventory loss will not happen.

Good result
Q2 2022

Very good result, and inline with what management mentioned during Q1 call. Seems they were able to pass on RM prices quite well.

Q2FY22 Concall notes:

1. Best volume ever in company history.
  2. Co-branding sponsor of Sooryavanshi movie: Akshay Kumar in the poster
  3. Numbers:
    1. For Q2FY22, revenue at ā‚¹ 761 crore compared to ā‚¹ 459 crore in Q2FY21, grew by 66%
    2. For Q2FY22, EBITDA at ā‚¹ 123 crore compared to ā‚¹ 80 crore in Q2FY21, grew by 53%
    3. Sales volume increased by 22% at 42,845 MT in Q2FY22 as compared to 35,142 MT in Q2FY21.
      1. For Apollo pipes: Sales volume higher by 18% Y-o-Y to 14,518 MTPA
    4. But fall in margin: EBITDA margin for Q2FY22 at 16.1% compared to 17.5% in Q2FY21
  4. Complete repayment of long term debt led to 40% reduction in finance cost.
  5. ASK Investment Manager
    1. Q: Could the run rate of growth be sustained?
      1. Going forward the base is going to be higher but the environment is such that we can continue the growth. But canā€™t guide on exact growth.
    2. The gap in CPVC realization between the first player and Prince is narrowing down. Earlier it used to be 10-15%.
      1. After getting in with Flowguard the gap narrowed to 7-8%
      2. Currently it is at 2-3%. Some strong markets it is at par or even at premium.
      3. They have been having high double digit growth in volume of CPVC.
        1. Growth has come due to marketing initiatives and weaker supply security of the industry.
          1. Narrowing of price gap happened before supply chain crisis and even before Flowguard it had started.
  6. Growth in this quarter has been led by
    1. B2B they have started making entry
      1. They were able to enter few pretigious project in few metro cities and in long term this will be major driver for growth.
    2. This trend will continue till December and in March they expect Agri segment to come back.
      1. 30-35% is agriculture segment contribution.
  7. Per ton cost has gone up which means same volume would still show higher inventory.
    1. Global Supply crisis is going on but due to their secure supply security across all four polymers and this will continue for full year.
      1. Sourcing: Both domestic and import
        1. CPVC is completely from Lubrizol
  8. CPVC used to be 1.5 more expensive than PVC which has significantly come down.
  9. They want to improve their receivable days. They are still not happy with it when comparing with peers.
    1. There is room to change the credit policy.
    2. Started charging interest on over due payments in some markets.
    3. Started implementing stricter credit policy: No intention to ramping up channel finance.
  10. Mix for unorganized and organized: Consolidation has accelerated. PVC cost increased by 60-70% YoY led to requirement of strength of balance sheet. But even after that material availability is also a challenge.
    1. The market is about supply and not about price.
      1. Even larger players are facing supply issues.
  11. ValueQuest:
    1. Channel Inventory is moderate but depends on market to market.
    2. Passing cost in 2-3 weeks. In phased manner.
      1. Earlier it used to be 1-2 week. If they do it immediately then it would shock the market.
  12. Reasons for growth and gain in market share: Network expansion, portfolio expansion, and secure supply chain.
  13. Pricing power is going to increase going forward.
  14. Management says that they are never going to go for reduction in market share nor sell at loss and looking for a middle way.
  15. Rs.24 increase in raw material cost. Out of which Rs.17 increased has happened in last 30days.
  16. Talks with suppliers has been focused on supply security. Inventory gain/loss is part of business.
  17. China does not contribute much to the industry for raw material due to import policies.

Very Good results Indeed. My 2 cents on the results after attending concall:

Margin Pressure RM increase though painful in the near term can be a blessing in disguise. Unorganised players will feel the pinch the most. Prince has supply security.Unorganised as well as some organised players will find it hard to source RM as is the case now.

In the medium term margins will improve. Multiple levers for that:
Better pricing power, product mix, reduced freight cost in South India due to new plant, pick up in B2B Real estate sales and Industrial Sales which hasnt even started yet
concall was encouring but I have no plans of adding at current valuations

Hey! I didnt attend the Apollo pipes concall but their press release says Sales volume higher by 18% Y-o-Y to 14,518 MTPA.

Thanks @arjunbadola for notes compilation.

Some additional inferences

• EBDITA per kg used to be sub 16Rs and have gone to 25Rs in current times, management wasnā€™t comfortable giving sustainable range.
  • PVC prices remaining firm in near future, and having built inventory, next 2 qtrs to look good.
  • It is clear that elevated PVC prices are contributing to Topline , and as they soften there will be negative impact on Topline
  • 2 YR CAGR on volume is flattish - mgmt agreed this as internal discussion point as well, FY 21 Per them was Corona impact and low cost inventory helped as well- and now future drivers are - Real estate demand as well as agri picking in Q4 22 on back of Jal jeevan mission(Q4 21 was impacted by second wave of Corona), thus expected volume growth.
  • One point highlighted by mgmt multiple times was having supply chain security, this has kept unorganised to organized theme to play out even in current times as a benefit for them to market share gains.
  • CPVC and PVC price gaps is squeezed( used to ne 1.5 to 2X?), if this continues for few more quarters - this could be a structural change - though mgmt doubts it

All in all near term looks good and so does long term, PVC prices trend and Volume growth from FY20 base is key monitorable.

Also Looks good on chart with near all time high and possible formation of head and shoulders pattern, if supported by volume breakout.

Invested from lower levels

Did they talk about the impact of the implementation of the BIS norms for all pipe manufacturers? I have a feeling that it is a positive in the medium term till the small players wind up or upgrade themselves with the norms.

Re: BIS - Yesā€¦ one of the analysts asked this question. Management indicated that there is sporadic implementation (some states have stalled while some going ahead) and itā€™s too early to see the results, however management believes that it is a question of not ā€˜if it will happenā€™ but ā€˜when it will happenā€™ā€¦

Recent management interview:

The companyā€™s execution has been top notch on multiple counts.I continue to be impressed by how quickly they are able to gauge changes in the market.As an example,back in FY21 company understood that the large inventory gains wonā€™t last long so they used all of that in A&P spends thus creating a permanent benefit out of a temporary tailwind.Now in FY22 they seem to have acted quickly on their supply chain and secured all their needs.The management clearly mentioned that they donā€™t need to worry about supplies for any of their products.Q2 had very little to nil inventory gains thus it is a good yardstick for future quarters.The management was upbeat on volume growth going ahead,even though they refused to give a guidance.This one has a long way to go still imo.

Disc.: Invested.Views are biased.

Yes, both strategy and execution has surpised me also to some extent. Strategic collaborations, channel financing and then capping it, plant in South India, moving quickly into new segments have demonstrated it. Basis management commentary it seems Q3 will also be good due to high realizations, might see some softness from Q4 onwards.

Fully agreed here. Proactive management which changed the perception with the right moves.

Disc: invested. Been fairly suprised

Lot of pledging by key personnels :slight_smile:

Why donā€™t they just sell instead of pledging
With pledging they hv to give more stock if it falls failing which the bank sells the stock in the open market exacerbating the drop when it does for whatever reason

10 Cr pledge is insignificant, many a times it is the cheapest option, largely for WC, Asian Paints pledges shares very often for the same reason.

@Akshat_PI When you say Working Capital, is it for company or own purpose

Sorry my mistake, i didnt realise it is by KMP and not company. Not sure but it can be due to restriction on selling the stock or may be the person sees value in it.