Path of a "Phenomenal Speculator"

Hi All,

Initiating a thread to mark an individual’s transition from:
a. spray and pray method ( later most fall prey) or shall I say buy on rumour sell on news method to buy in pyramiding style?
b. go beyond reading broker reports and see how the footprints of Biggies when followed results in huge gains
c. Marking once move in to buy value , sell on hysteria. Fascinating isnt it?

About me:
I am a novice in investing but have accepted the truth that the oft repeated “buy and hold” dictum just doesn/t work. Always.
Even when you have blue chips…
Consider the following:

1. Cisco-the market darling of US tech stocks. went no where from 2000-2016!!
  2. HUL-Indian FMCG major. Consider its non-cooperation from 1999-2009 period.
  3. AIG fell from 103 USD in the peak of 2007 to a few CENTS in sub-prime crisis…

What keeps our investment ticking?
As mentor said clearly and so simply, most of us here on VP have not seen a true bear run where blood is on the street… So no death by 1000 cuts due to a well diversified portfolio

Besides, consider another thought: For every Bull to bear run transition where a % of investors swear never to return to the market…A fresh breed of investors AKA fresh passouts emerge out as new roosters… Kudos to young India…

Are we really investing?

Those who think they are investing are speculating. Those who think they are speculating are actually gambling…

In a simple but useful book by Jim Paul titled- What i learned losing a million dollars?"

Strongly recommended to read to understand how an “Individual” investor invests and behave like a crowd. Consider, sitting on a terminal with very limited exposure to mass how we are vulnerable to mass thinking!!

How did I stumbled upon speculating?

I am a children of subprime crises. As a timely pass out from a better business school and
coming from a typical 300 Million strong classic Indian middle class, my exposure and awareness to market then was ZERO!