NTPC - Thermal Power

Great Results, still to actually fire as new green projects have not started generating revenue.

Look at actual unit generation and BU’s with 4% growth.

Massively undervalued at CMP. The demerger of the NTPC green will provide rerating.

Disclosure: Invested since early last year across all family accounts. One stock where I keep adding on dips.

https://www.financialexpress.com/business/industry/ntpc-green-ipo-to-fetch-over-8000-cr-says-cmd/3507638/

if we go by what they are saying. Approximately 8300 Cr for 10%. Let’s be pessimistic and say 10% less then also NGEL will be valued at -75000 crores.

Thats approximately 25% of entire company market cap.

NTPC eyes 10GW nuclear capacity, new subsidiary | Mint (livemint.com)

1.5 Lakh crores over 10 years if it goes according to plan.

NTPC Q1 update - Power generation up by 9.5%. Captive Coal output Jumps by 15%

https://www.ndtvprofit.com/business/ntpc-reports-95-rise-in-q1-power-generation-to-11387-billion-units

https://www.ndtvprofit.com/business/ntpcs-captive-coal-output-jumps-15-in-q1

NTPC Green Energy files DRHP for Rs 10,000-crore IPO, earmarks portion for NTPC shareholders; check quota

NTPC green energy IPO from 18-21 Nov @100 per share worth 10000 crore

The stock got Listed at 3.5% gain

It closes with 9% gain. At one point of time it recorded a high with 14% gain.
Good start… expected to be gradual and steady growth like it’s parent. it targets 19600 MW by March 2027 and 60 GW by 2032…mainly wind solar.

NTPC Green 45% return post listing. why is it rising and to what extent it can rise?

I had applied for IPO for NTPC Green in all our family accounts as NTPC share holder quota and I got allotment in all the account. The listing gains was just 8 % . I never sold after listing gains , as I am a strong believer of PSU story being playing out in long term in Railway, Defence, and more so in Green energy stocks.
I went on adding more on listing day and thereafter by seeing the company’s target of green energy additions in coming days.
I never thought i would get a return of 45% with in a couple of weeks when parent company had a very chequered past.

I was analysing why there is a sudden demand on NTPC green ? And should I buy more at current level ???
This intersting article gives a lot of insights ! please read on.

Discl: Invested both in NTPC green and NTPC . i may be biased. Not a buy sell recommendation please make your own assessment before investment

NTPC Green Energy shares rally over 5% after winning 500-MW solar project in SECI auction

Update on India’s Battery Energy Storage (BESS) Expansion

The government has tripled its Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) target to 13,200 MWh by 2027-28, up from the earlier 4,000 MWh. This will significantly boost BESS growth, especially in FY26-27, with contracts expected to be awarded by June 2025 and commissioning within 18-24 months.

Capacity Allocation:

• Market Component – 2,200 MWh (NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam & SECI)
  • State Component – 6,000 MWh (Rajasthan, TN, Karnataka, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Telangana, Bihar, Kerala)
  • CPSU Component – 5,000 MWh (NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam, NHPC, SJVN)

Key Highlights:

Developers will sign Battery Energy Discharge Purchase Agreements (BEDPA) to supply stored energy on demand.

NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam (NVVN) will act as an intermediary procurer, acquiring discharged energy via power exchanges, discom agreements, and ancillary services.

The first 500 MW/1000 MWh standalone BESS tranche is finalized with BEDPAs signed, but the selected private developers remain unknown.

Question for fellow investors:

1. Does my understanding of the revised BESS expansion under NTPC seem accurate?

2. Any insights on which private developers have been selected for the first tranche?

Sources: