Newbie Portfolio

Hi, Im a recent graduate and recently started investing in stock Market about 6 weeks back. I have allocated 70% of my capital for long-term value investing and the remaining 30% for short term. Most of my short term bets are based on my long term stocks which i hold.I got to know about value investing through my sisters friend. he has said zf steering at 280 and within a couple of months it went to 350s. This is was my first stock i picked up and thus in time i found this wonderful forum.

Initially i have been investing blindly on tips but now looking at fundamentals and management with serious outlook. most shares i bought were through the net but some shares through my dad and some through a couple friends.

My shares - ( Avg price ) ( cmp ) (approx %)

AVT Natural - 47 54 6%

Basant Argo - 6 10.50 0.5%

Capital first - 241 333 9%

Capri Global - 175 185 2%

Coral India Fin - 34 35 1.5%

DataMatics - 57 86 12 %

Fe India - 13 15 2%

Flex Foods -70 88 2%

Gati - - 123 190 9%

Hexaware tech - 175 178 7%

IFGL refactories - 157 210 5%

Jai Balaji Industries - 28 20 11%

JayBharat Maruti - 109 130 4%

Kitex Garments - 336 377 1%

Marksans Pharma - 33 60 1%

MM forging - 224 474 0.5 %

Mold tek Packaging - 97 170 5 %

Morepen labs - 5 12 2%

Paper Products - 164 188 1.5 %

Patel Logistics - 39 44 7%

Polyplex corp - 244 308 2%

PTC India FIN - 44 45 3%

RS Software - 386 741 5.5%

Texmo pipes - 15.50 19 2 %

Vinyl chemicals - 44 51 3%

Zf steering - 396 530 3%

guys can you advice me on this. My dad keeps insisting i shouldnt have more then 5-9 stocks in portfolio, but i disagree, Im sure back in the day it was better to 4-5 good stocks, but now with his bull run i feel its better to have more stocks in your portfolio.

Also jay balaji industries has given me a beating after this coal block. I had already sold 25% of my shares at 17rs but still it covers 11% of my over all portfolio. What should i do?