Newbie investor

Hi

This is Nagesh and I am a newbie investor. I have been in market since 2 yrs and buying stocks based on some sites recommendations and never felt that I can also be in the stage where I can recommend some value stocks until I reach this site. Have started to go through basics and found this is excellent educational site and any new investor can start his alphabets from here and can reach to Jr Buffets’ level. Appreciate everybody’s hard work here and will try to contribute myself once reach to that stage. I am thinking of 3-6 months time frame for me.

IO have started to go through basics and would like to know what are the accepatble limits (to start a research on some stocks coming out of stock screener) for ROA, ROE, ROIC, PE and other financial health ratios by industry wise for value investing point of view. or please provide me link if already exists.

Thanks and regards

Nagesh

Thanks Nagesh for your kind words. I have been travelling and missed your query here.

Like your enthusiasm …thats the only ingredient needed for you to keep learning. Encourage you to follow the forum discussions on stocks like Manjushree, Ridhee Sidhee (learn to wtach out for red flags), Astral Poly Technik, Balaji Amines, etc which have seen active participation from members -much to learn by lurking…and asking questions on something that you dont understand.

Re: basics - read up all you can.
The first-step is to understand the various Ratios and stock market terms using ValuePickr Stock Research Glossary - Profitability Ratios - like RoA, RoE, RoIC, Op Margin, Net Margin, Financial Ratios, and the like, and their implications.