Neuland Laboratories Limited - Transformation towards niche APIs?

ESC/EAS = European Society of Cardiology / European Atherosclerosis Society. They publish influential guidelines for managing dyslipidaemia (abnormal cholesterol and lipid levels in the blood).

Level 1a Recommendation = The strongest possible guideline recommendation. It means there’s solid clinical evidence from multiple high-quality studies and that the treatment is strongly advised in clinical practice.

It’s a big win for Esperion, because being included with a Level 1a recommendation in the ESC/EAS guidelines boosts physician confidence and can drive wider adoption of Bempedoic Acid in Europe and globally.

Unit 3 commercial production started.

https://www.neulandlabs.com/sites/neulandlabs/files/neuland-labs/insights/resources/esperions-case-study.pdf#:~:text=Following%20FDA%20approval%20in%20February%202020%2C%20Esperion,the%20active%20ingredient%20in%20NEXLETOL®%20and%20NEXLIZET®.

Neuland is gradually establishing itself as a reliable and efficient CDMO partner for late Phase 3 drugs. The above 2 drugs that is KARXT & Bempedoic acid are estimated to be blockbuster drug. Company is now partnering with big pharma also. All the above things give a lot of optionality to the Company going forward. Any serious investor before taking any buy or sell decision should sincerly go through the last 2 years concal to have a better understanding of the Company and about how it is evolving.
Summary of Concal: (Worth reading every single sentence)

Q1 poor performance was designed to happen and it will not have any impact on future growth:

• As you can all surmise from the numbers, the performance has been below par for this quarter. And through my commentary, I do wish to assure you that we are well on track for achieving both our short-term and long-term goals.
• We had previously indicated that we expect our FY26 growth trajectory to resume on the FY24 base, and despite a weak start, we remain confident of achieving this objective.
• Coming to the quarter’s performance, which has been below par in terms of our performance over the last few years because of the flow of customer orders. However, this is in line with our earlier stated expectations on the increase in revenue to pick up during the course of the financial year. And I guess the orders were planned in a way that the quarter itself was always set to perform in the way it has. This quarter doesn’t change our earlier stated expectations for the financial year as well as the following years.
• I think, we don’t want to give that classification, but I think definitely this year, next year, I think the CMS growth will be quite strong. Strong growth is the word that we are leaving you with.

• While FY25 was a year of consolidation and Q1FY26 has been a continuation of that, our customer pipeline gives us good visibility. Hence, we are confident with the commercialization of Unit 3 production block. It will give the business greater revenue momentum from the latter half of FY26. Overall, we continue to be optimistic about our future and the potential that our business holds.

• See, I think what we have said is a couple of things. One, we should look at a 3-year perspective. Second is, we have also mentioned in the past that over 3-5 years, 20% CAGR is a reasonable number to look at for a company like Neuland and the kind of phase that we are. But yes, I don’t want to connect the words with a number. But yes, we expect to see a strong growth in FY26 as well.

Strong recognition as CDMO player and demand going forward:

• We continue to see increased interest in customers wanting to partner with Neuland as they look to bring in their innovative medicines to patients. I believe this can be attributed to 3 main factors.
Firstly, our reputation has been growing steadily due to the work we have done over the past couple of decades, particularly in the CDMO business.
Secondly, our business development teams are increasingly focused on finding opportunities that align with our long-term strategy, making us more selective and decisive about our partnerships.
The third factor being the macroeconomic environment being favorable. Of course, this is a rapidly changing scenario, which also has worked in our favor. We are excited by the range of customers expressing interest working with us, which gives us great enthusiasm for the future of our business.

• We are also seeing significant growth in terms of new business coming from both existing as well as new customers, which should fructify in the numbers over the course of this and next financial year.

• We are also excited by the range of customers expressing interest in our services and placing first-time orders. Apart from commercial projects and the new business, we are also seeing some of our customers assets in the pipeline make progress.

• As stated in the past 2 quarters, our peptide investment plan is on track. We continue to garner more projects in this space, which further validates our excitement about the opportunities that the segment holds.

Peptide development and future opportunities:

• Our peptide scientific team is working on exciting projects,at the same time, they are also developing capabilities that will help Neuland further differentiate itself as a peptide API manufacturer.
• I would like to conclude that Neuland is well positioned to capitalize on long-term opportunities, and we are also positive regarding the outlook for the year.
• Neuland has been dabbling with peptides for almost 17-18 years now. We have had a small group, mostly working in small scale and then in pilot scale and now with this new investment, we wish to embark on large scale commercial manufacturing of peptides. The hypothesis for us has always been that, look, we are present in peptides. We understand the chemistry and the techniques of peptide chemistry. However, we never had the large scale infrastructure.

• I think what makes Neuland a strong player in the peptide space is the 15 plus years of experience we have had in peptide chemistry. If you look at the IP landscape, the number of patents filed by Neuland scientists over the years, the kind of work we have been doing, not just in terms of peptide APIs, but in peptide fragments, etc., I think that creates layers of depth of expertise that I believe Neuland uniquely has, at least from this region. In the space of peptides, techniques become that much more important than just knowledge of chemistry because when it comes to executing peptide projects, there are a lot of techniques, whether it is purification, lyophilization, precipitation, or different techniques, which are very difficult to achieve and apply to projects. Companies that have years of experience, especially even on the large scale, they tend to do well and we believe that is what gives us the advantage. What was the limitation for Neuland, frankly speaking, was that we never had the large scale capacity. Even before 4 or 5 years ago, we had been approached by biotech companies for making commercial peptides, but we could not fulfill those projects because we never had that scale. But now with the creation of this capacity, we are very confident that our business will grow., but I also do believe that there is enough space for multiple players to do well, but you do need strong R&D capabilities in peptides. Just having infrastructure may not be enough.

• So we have several CMS molecules, some as late as Phase-3 and several in earlier stages, which are peptides. And they are part of our portfolio and they are also part of that table that we keep disclosing every quarter in CMS.

Working with Big Pharma and efficient Capital allocation:

• It is an interesting question. I think to work with Big Pharma whether it is for early stage or late stage, I think building those relationships require time and they require certain kind of infrastructure capabilities, etc. I think as we have always mentioned, Neuland has traditionally worked a lot with biotech companies. Even today, most of our pipeline comes from biotech companies, not a lot comes from Big Pharma. I think Big Pharma work is either coming through peptides or when a biotech company is getting acquired by Big Pharma. So frankly speaking, we don’t have a lot of experience to speak about what it takes to convert Phase-3 projects from Big Pharma. But our approach has been to kind of keep investing in capabilities, infrastructure, which we have been doing and engaging with Big Pharma for unique technologies. So for example, Neuland is in contact with several Big Pharma for areas of peptides or deuterated molecules because these are capabilities that Big Pharma does not find from their traditional API suppliers. And in that pursuit, we are looking at some early stage projects. We are occasionally also finding opportunities on the late stage, but it is really too early for us to comment on whether they will fructify to business or not. But yes, I think Big Pharma is a very important target segment for us. And there is a lot of effort for the medium to long term to build large businesses with Big Pharma and I believe we are making good progress.
• I would say directly it is not because even in Neuland, if you see, we have been investing in capacities ahead of the curve.
• And if a Big Pharma or any other client were to have a project, I think they would find capacity in Neuland. So I don’t think that is directly a concern as of today. But yes, perhaps 2 years ago, 3 years ago, maybe we would not have that. But what we also see mostly is whenever you engage with any biotech or Big Pharma, unless it is a late life cycle opportunity where there is old molecule which is nearing patent expiry, a Big Pharma is not really looking for huge capacity straight away to be available. We have seen some opportunities slip from us because some large, big companies have looked for large volume APIs which are nearing patent expiry for which they needed some ready capacity. And I believe we have lost one or two of those opportunities. But again, we also feel from a scale chemistry point of view, those are not really great fits for us. The way we have been building our business is to start partnering for molecules which are late in the clinic or in the middle of the clinic or maybe early commercial. And for those kind of opportunities, you really don’t need to showcase so much capacity ahead of time. You need to show your ability and bandwidth as a company to create appropriate capacity in time for the scale up of the molecule. But more importantly, you need to show the technical capabilities for handling the process and designing the process which we have. So it is a very finished approach where we need to find the right kind of project. And I think Neuland as a company, although we want to work with Big Pharma, we are also very careful not to approach Big Pharma for the wrong kind of projects because then we would end up competing on capabilities which we are not very strong at. So we are very careful in that approach.

Lumpiness to reduce going forward

But at an aggregate level, because we have a small pipeline, and these pipelines are contributing to the growth, and this pipeline is young, we are seeing this lumpiness, but if you go fast forward maybe 2 years from now, 3 years from now, I do believe, and at least instinctively, that this lumpiness should come down. You should not see the kind of swings that you would see when a company or the business is at a smaller scale.

Conclusion:
1. Top grade management.
2.Efficient capital allocator.
3. Walk the talk management.
4. Optionality developing in the business.
5. Established and reputed player.
6. Capital and Capex is in longer a constraint which used to be 3-4 years back.
7. Net zero debt Company.
8. Strong cash accruals and free cash flow to take care of growth CAPEX. Annual CAPEX of Rs around Rs 300 Cr can be done annually without any incremental borrowing. .
9.Consolidation period is expected to get over.
10. Strong growth guidance given by the management.
11. Sector tailwind.
12. Long runway for the business.
13. Clarity of thoughts.
14. Execution capability.
15. Established compliance culture thereby successfully clearing various audits without any major observation, which is one of the most critical requirement for any Pharma company.
16 Decadal experience with focused approach.
17 Volatility in earnings/lumpiness to reduce going forward.
18 Growth in business with improving margins showing quality of business
19 Balance sheet can be comfortably leveraged to increase the CAPEX growth.

Disclosure: Invested and view are fully biased

As part of this discussion, we observe Neuland Laboratories gradually evolving into a niche API player with emphasis on sophisticated, high-value molecules. Through capacity expansion, FDA-approved plants, and targeted land purchases, the firm seems well geared for rapid growth as it targets specialised markets with higher regulatory hurdles.

Neuland Laboratories has progressively grown to become a worldwide CDMO with strong concentration on complex APIs, especially small molecules and peptides. With more than 500 customers across 80+ nations and an 83% repeat customer clientele, Neuland derives its credibility from the capacity to manage challenging chemistry and scale production throughout the clinical and commercial life cycle.

Neuland’s Q1FY26 results showed considerable stress. Operating revenue fell 33.4% YoY on the back of softer sales traction, while overall expenses dropped 15.6%, which was insufficient to provide cushioning. This resulted in a 67.3% decline in EBITDA, squeezing margins tightly. Profitability further suffered with PBT down 86.5% and PAT down 85.8%, pulling EPS from ₹76.28 to ₹10.83. On the balance sheet side, working capital was at ₹480.4 crore as of June 2025, showing more capital locked into operations while profitability has been reducing, which can strain liquidity if not handled properly.

Segment-wise, CMS generated 44% of revenues in Q1FY26, and its proportion is likely to increase further. GDS revenues were uneven. Speciality GDS muted (with the lone exception being Dorzolamide), whereas Prime GDS was boosted by increased volumes. The company anticipates another CMS molecule to be commercialised in FY26, which will add to revenue stability. With an increasing CMS base, lumpiness should decrease progressively.

Peptides are becoming Neuland’s most strategic growth engine. With almost two decades of experience in purification and complex chemistries, the organisation is well placed to take advantage of the peptide API market, set to grow at 22.4% CAGR to $94 Bn by 2034. GLP-1 APIs, especially Tirzepatide, are an area of focus under GDS, while several peptide CMS programs are already in advanced clinical stages. A new peptide plant is being built and is anticipated to be up and running in FY27, further scaling up opportunities in this area.

From a shareholder’s point of view, the company has posted impressive returns over various time horizons: 1-year CAGR 25.6%, 3-year CAGR 123.8%, 5-year CAGR 71.7%. The fact that marquee investors such as Mukul Agrawal (holding ~₹619 Cr, 3.12%) and Vijay Kedia (holding ~₹201 Cr, 1.01%) are invested in the stock indicates long-term faith in the Neuland journey amidst volatility in quarterly results.

In capacity expansion, Neuland is planning a CAPEX of ~₹250 Cr in FY26, 60:40 growth and maintenance. The commercialisation of Unit 3 in the second half of FY26 and land acquisition close to Unit 1 reflect management’s intent to fast-track growth. Utilising existing FDA-approved facilities will help the company move regulatory timelines faster, allowing for quicker project implementation. This strategic investment will help enhance production capacity, fund product launches in the future, and generally improve competitiveness in the API market.

Between June 2024 and June 2025, there was a noticeable change in ownership structure in Neuland. FIIs dropped their holding from 26.46% to 21.69%, a sign of profit booking and concern regarding the near-term volatility in quarterly performance. On the other hand, DIIs raised their holding from 6.38% to 11.57%, a sign of increasing domestic conviction in Neuland’s long-term makeover into niche APIs and peptides. The trend indicates that foreign investors reduced exposure while domestic institutions filled up, supporting confidence in the structural growth tale.

Would appreciate hearing members’ opinions:

1. How do you see Q1FY26 results impacting Neuland’s niche API strategy?
  2. Which segment: CMS, GDS, or Peptides, will drive growth?
  3. Does the ₹250 Cr CAPEX and new peptide plant justify long-term optimism?
  4. How do you interpret the FII vs. DII ownership shift?
  5. Is short-term volatility a concern given their global CDMO presence?

Will the newly announced tariffs impact the likes of Neuland as well?

Results are out :)

Excellent result. First time guidance given for rest of the year,

https://www.bseindia.com/xml-data/corpfiling/AttachLive/84640cdd-17b4-4ae1-9cae-5b22402d447e.pdf

Relocating the existing R&D center (approx. 0.45 lakh sq.ft.) by setting up a new state-of-the-art R&D center in a built-up area of about 1.35 lakh sq. ft with investment of Rs 189 Cr.
Efficient utilization of free cash flows.

Good initiative by the Company for differentiating itself in long run.

But when share split or bonus issue is coming?

What will you do with split or bonus shares?

Q3 results are out :

Management take:

“The revenues this quarter are in line with the outlook we envisaged for the year, however the product mix within businesses as well as increased operating expenses is reflected in subdued EBITDA margins. We continue to see good momentum in the business which is driving our investments with the long-term in view, ensuring Neuland can take advantage of the number of growth opportunities”

SAHARSH DAVULURI “We are seeing increasing interest from a wider range of customers interested in our capabilities as a proven commercial NCE drug substance manufacturer as well as an integral partner in the innovation journey. Our investments are leading to more engagements with existing customers while also attracting new customers who are looking for specific niche capabilities.”

Performance of the Company is in line with the outlook envisaged by the management. Due to lumpy nature of the business, the numbers reported may not be in total sink with the actual performance of the Company.

Promoters are envisaging long term decadal sustainable opportunity with annual growth of 20%.

Very high quality conservative and ethical Management

Sector tailwind

Long runway of growth.

Proven track record.

High quality spend on R&D and manpower.

Net cash balance sheet (Rs 202 Cr as on 31.12.2025).

Free cash flow generating Company with ample opportunity to use debt to leverage growth.

All financial ratios are at comfortable level.

Valuations have been elevated, however with recent correction there is some moderation.

Any investor should here the concal twice before making any buy/sell decision.

Disclosure: Holding for long term and will look to add in downfall.