ValuePickr Forum

My valuation technique

Hello, Greetings and Happy Diwali to members of this forum. I have been reading this forum since last year, though I have joined only recently and this is my first post.

I started to invest in Stock market about 1.5 years ago so I am far from an expert. However as a teacher of mathematics, the valuation techniques commonly used like DCF/DDM etc. clicked instantly with me. Though I never used them myself, because initially I believed I need more experience to use them reliably, but over time I have devised my own technique to evaluate companies which I thought of sharing them here. Hopefully it will be useful to many other members also. I would also request experienced members to share their feedback for further improvement.

There are already many valuation ratios like price to earning, price to book, ebit/EV etc. that are simple to understand but very much limited while techniques like DCF or DDM are somewhat complicated. So I developed 3 simple parameters that tries to incoporate the best of both.

These parameters are explained below in the following next posts.

1 Like
  1. Earning Years- the most simple and also the one that I use most often. It tells you exactly what the commonly used price to earnings or pe ratio tells you (number of years it will take for the cummulative earnings of a company to become equal to current price) but by taking growth into account. I called this parameter as Earning Years and its formula goes like this-

Earning Years (EY) = log ((pe * r/100) + 1)/log(1+(r/100))

where pe = current price to earnings ratio
r = expected future profit growth rate. Can be taken as equal to compounded profit growth rate of past 5 or even 10 years.

The best way to compute it is to use it at websites like screener.in where it can be used in many ways.

Lets take a simple example -