My valuation technique

Hello, Greetings and Happy Diwali to members of this forum. I have been reading this forum since last year, though I have joined only recently and this is my first post.

I started to invest in Stock market about 1.5 years ago so I am far from an expert. However as a teacher of mathematics, the valuation techniques commonly used like DCF/DDM etc. clicked instantly with me. Though I never used them myself, because initially I believed I need more experience to use them reliably, but over time I have devised my own technique to evaluate companies which I thought of sharing them here. Hopefully it will be useful to many other members also. I would also request experienced members to share their feedback for further improvement.

There are already many valuation ratios like price to earning, price to book, ebit/EV etc. that are simple to understand but very much limited while techniques like DCF or DDM are somewhat complicated. So I developed 3 simple parameters that tries to incoporate the best of both.

These parameters are explained below in the following next posts.

1 Like

A few questions:

1. Your post talks about DCF, but there’s no consideration of cashflows in your valuation method. Why is this the case? Which brings me to the next question:
  2. The valuation method only considers Growth as the major parameter (P/E is an input, not an assumption). What about the other drivers of value like Margins, Reinvestment, Depreciation, Risk and Competitive Advantage Period?
  3. If the logic is that all of these are captured by Profit Growth itself, how is this method any different from say, the PEG ratio?
1 Like

Have you had a chance to back test this valuation technique? I mean have you analysed the returns of under valued stocks over a period of time?

Hi Abhishek,
I find this logic helpful. It makes a lot of sense.
Have you made the ration in screener under => https://www.screener.in/ratios/