Sorry, long post.
Iām not SEBI registered portfolio advisor or have any degrees related to finance and so below is not advisory but purely my personal experiences and what I would do hypothetically. So, stocks discussed below are not investment advice. Again, my thought process may resonate with similar minded investors, newbies and Iām aware there are diametrically opposite views and I respect them
Iām penning my observations of last few months based on social media posts, media headlines, narratives with self interests, interviews of fund managers etc. Iām not passing judgement on them as Iām aware of my utility and how small Iām when compared to the markets.
I, also, openly will provide my allocation details, buy prices etc. just to be transparent. Opinions are just that, but the opinions followed by money/ action carries more weightage. There are umpteen ways to legally make money in stock markets, each must have his unique one and stick to it or change it, refine it, learn quickly, adapt to market conditions etc. ALL this is to get that elusive āalphaā over index or mutual fund returns. One has to āheart to handā independently evaluate your portfolio returns against funds like PPFAS equity fund, NSE Next 50, Marcellus etc and if you are underperforming consistently, time to take corrective actions.
Well, despite being ready with my independent analysis - not depending on the media headlines buffoonery of 1600 PE etc - I have not invested in Nykaa at these prices. As you would have already observed, I have mostly invested in
- high growth high valuations companies that have the below characteristics
- Large addressable market opportunity (> 100000 crore i.e., 15 billion USD).
- Founder run and/ or first generation entrepreneur.
- Industry tailwinds (Digitisation, PLI, EV)
- Emerging themes (Tech, Gaming, Music)
- Revenue growth of 30% and above with a temporary leeway of 5%.
- Debt free and squeaky clean corporate governance (a little leeway).
- Visible road to profitability.
- High valuations but not exorbitant (subjective and very debatable, pinches nerves of value investors). Wisdom, CAGR depends on how well one has a perspective on āwhat is high and what is exorbitantā.
Important: High valuations hold as long as growth holds. Growth is oxygen for valuations. No questions asked. Any temporary blip will cause severe drawdowns and if the growth loss is permanent then the bull market high is lost for decades! Thatās why we need to track these companies closely and differentiate between fundamental growth vs. narrative or IPO related growth. There are companies which have very high valuations but are not supported by growth. Iām staying away from them. I would not want them to list here because they are blue chips and will invite wrath!
Beware: As a fund manager recently on TV said, Asian Paints is a Tech/ digital company because they use digital means or algorithms to arrive at demand etc is FALSE categorisation, in my opinion. Technology companies should be ASSET LIGHT, have network effects, and use technology not only as an enabler of business but have technology as an underlying business, differentiator, highly scalable based only on technology platform. Asian paints here is a very effective user of technology but not a technology company by itself. I have written this example because there are multiple narrative that drive prices with self interest and one should be able to call out the bluff.
I have actually fell for these below statements by star managers, experts on TV and did not invest in some excellent compounders:
- I will not invest at these extremely elevated and bubble IPO levels. (Missed Dmart post IPO).
- I will not invest even if the stock falls by 90% from IPO levels! (The stock listed at 50% premium and never fell below listing prices).
- All the new age tech IPOs coming out will destroy investor wealth.
Instead of blanket statements like above, just be open minded - it helps in markets.
For someone with very high HNI portfolio, NESTLE for example may be the best investment with low beta, high dividends and medium returns but some people may be ready to invest time, learn, adapt and have more risk due to age can evaluate other high return BUT high corporate governance companies.
Point is, listen to all expert views and they may be genuinely right from their perspective, but you need to independently evaluate. Every one, most strategies made money during last 18 months except for the ones who quit markets in March 2020 lows for good or the ones who sold citing valuations at various points or the ones with excel theories. Of course this is NOT to say that every one should be invested 100% all the time with 100% allocation. There are sensible strategies people follow with 20% cash etc.
Coming to Nykaa, My hard stop was less than 20 times FY23 sales at maximum, which is reasonable for 40% growth AND has a path to profitability. I assumed sales of 4700 crore sales for FY23. But, given the market frenzy, I believe I have to wait patiently instead of participating in the listing euphoria and get in after some consolidation and observing price behaviour around 2000-1800. For all I know, if the sales I assumed turns out extremely conservative then these prices are sustainable.
For so much talk of bubble etc., one needs to go beyond the media headlines and make calculations and more importantly COMPARE with whatās existing in the market now - [Example below]. My understanding is valuations are relative in stock market. How much you want to pay depends on
- You portfolio value.
- Time horizon.
- Return expectation.
- Drawdown capacity.
IF, one has a small portfolio, then it makes sense to,
- Learn technical analysis and apply on breakouts, bottom formations etc on sound companies with no corporate governance issues.
- Have a greater portfolio turnover that is based on some sound rationale other than greed.
- Learn quickly and observe markets and price action related to news.
- Stay away from most TV/ online experts and donāt make stock market investments based on economists observation. Nothing against economists, but by profession they are more into theoretical fields and when writing about country as vast as India, there are innumerable problems to focus on and in that analysis the larger point is lost. India or any other developing country progresses despite all these problems. Having said that there are some economists that I respect, like Neelkanth Mishra of Credit Suisse etc. Aswath Damodaran is a great teacher but I categorise him as a not-so-great investor. Do not fall for these excel philosophies, they are a very good starting point for your analysis but do not end there. EXAMPLE below will explain further.
EXAMPLE of how I think while relatively comparing stocks from similar sectors:
Stock market is a place where one expensive and cheap are purely on ārelativeā basis and is a function of many variables like RoE, management, industry economics, scarcity, monopoly and most importantly a function of growth and profitability.
If you send a new born baby with 1 lakh rupees in his pocket to vegetable market to buy apples, he may buy 2 apples with each apple 50000 rupees, one for his mother and one for him because he has no information on relative value/ price. If you tell him an orange costs 10 rupees each then he may pay 20 rupees for 1 apple. Bad example, I know.
-
Let me take a stable company with relatively high probability of accurate growth projections. NESTLE INDIA. This trades at 10 times 2 year forward sales for earnings + dividend growth of 13-15%. Looking at technical analysis, 10% is the probable downside as 18000 is a point of very very strong support. So, market values it at 9 times sales in a bad market phase.
-
If so, then how many multiples should you give on sales for a company growing at 40% plus and has a credible path to profitability run by fantastic management? Once the profitability is set in 3-4 years, the return ratios, free cash flows and all other financial metrics will fall into place or at least that is the āLEAP of FAITHā you need to take based on your PF value, return expectations, time horizon, beta, drawdown tolerance. This faith canāt be taken on all management and on all sectors. You need to PICK and CHOOSE which management you will believe and which company has a right to win, who is the competition etc.
Based on the above factors, alternatives available, return expectations, personally, I believed the prices at which our Indian tech companies came are not bubbles. Nykaa IPOāed at 12 times 2 year forward sales compared to 10 times for Nestle. Again, personally, at 1125 /-, Nykaa is relatively inexpensive. As people have been saying that the founder is cheating retail and IPOāed in euphoria is laughable.
But, bought at these prices, they most probably will not be multi baggers in a year. NO WAY. If you can play momentum using technical analysis, thematic investing, quick switches and make higher returns? Yes, absolutely. Are there stocks out there that are undervalued and so re-rating will occur and give much better returns than these new age tech IPOs? ABSOLUTELY, YES. So, find your niche!
It makes immense sense to read about these founders, the strategy, the struggles, decades of conviction - all available publicly thanks to business media. It behooves upon us to read for our good/ learning and take the investment decisions and not blindly blame the founders. Yes, there are many other unscrupulous promotors who offload to retail investors and fleece, but we should be able to differentiate them through our experience and knowledge.
Coming to my portfolio:
Everything remain as is except for 2 changes:
Rough average buy price and allocation in brackets provided below.
Iām cognisant that my portfolio is high beta and not a multibagger one. There are other limitations that come with as written above.
- Indiamart (3000, 17.5%)
- Zomato (125, 17.5%)
- Nazara (1600, 16.8%)
- Route Mobile ( 1150, 10.5%)
- Saregama (4300, 8.9%)
- CarTrade Tech (1420, 7.8%)
- Sona BLW ( 640, 7.75%)
- Dixon Tech (3800, 13.1%)
Sometime in future, Nykaa will make an entry.
@Investor_No_1 Apologies for delayed reply, but I have more than 80% of total my net worth in the above stocks portfolio. I have indicated percentage allocations well, as on date. I have never had money in bonds, FD, FnO ever in my life. My last 8 year stocks CAGR has been well above a top performing equity mutual fund during this period. So, this strategy has worked well so far.
@Investor_No_1 I always keep looking for antithesis of why stocks will crash so as to exit equities. There will be 100 false ālion has come, take goat insideā calls for 1 true crash. And when that 1 true crash comes, no one knows from where. So, best is to stay invested and take out money when needed to feed family, buy wants, needs. And, if we keep looking for reasons to sell equities due to valuations, the problem is we will sell well before the peak valuation because of āthe valuation is high, so sellā itch. I personally faced this multiple times. I sold a stock at 100 that is bought at 30 due to valuations and this stock goes until 160 and corrects will 80. Taking into account the taxes etc is not worth it. So, selling for valuations alone may be futile most of the times. But selling for better opportunities, story changed, momentum etc. is person dependant as long as the itch is working. My mistakes of selling due to valuations include: Asian Paints sold at 1800 (?) to see it go till 3500, Dmart sold at 2150 to see it at 6000, Bajaj Finserv sold at 5000 (due to fear) to see it at 19000, Sold IEX at 190 and this at 950, sold IRCTC at 1600 and saw this at 6300, sold Happiest minds at 400 and saw this at 1500 etc. Of course, this ārear viewā remorse is futile and stupidity. Markets will kill us if we harbour this emotion. What we should consider most is overall portfolio returns is how much > best performing MF.
@yourraj I think companies like Route, Saregama which have IP/ platform are better than pure play IT services companies. Services are cyclical in nature but current valuations in them say otherwise. Letās see.
Global companies that I track because of my portfolio holdings:
The below are some of the companies that I actively track for their results, price action to news, valuations, optionality of businesses, strategy, news, media interviews, future sales growth expectations etc because they are directly or indirectly related to my PF stocks. I have no investments outside Indian stocks.
- Doordash
- Meituan
- SEA
- MELI
- Twilio
- Synch
- Carvana.
- Tencent
- Roblox, Activision Blizzard, Electronic Arts, Krafton
- Pegatron, Foxconn.
- Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group
- EV related companies - Auto ancillary. Recently only.
Obviously, I track the stocks of MAANG which are the real torch bearers for tech industry.
Obviously, again, none of the stocks mentioned are investment advice. Intention is to write my thought process and not point to anybody. If someone is indirectly hurt or think they got referenced, I apologise.