Long term portfolio I would like to construct

Hi Donald, Hitesh, Ayush, Hemant, Rohit and others,

I really appreciate the way you do the in-depth fundamental analysis and near accurate technical calls on exit / entry points. Hats off to you for providing your feedback and the opportunity for others to learn!

I am a novice and in market for last couple of years. I have invested in gold on 2011 Diwali and and in 2012, I have bought One Up on Wall Street, Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits, Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis and Warren Buffett Way. I hope to invest enough time to learn and apply the skills one day the way you do it.

I have borrowed the ideas, applied my limited skills, entered and exited many scripts, booked profits early and kept losers. Overall no gains and it definitely took a toll on my health. I realize that future is uncertain and it is difficult to predict any outcome. However based on the track record / strong brands or moat / consumer mind share and opportunity to grow, could you provide your valuable feedback on the fairly long term (10 to 15 years) portfolio consisting of the below businesses. I hope many of these companies will sustain for a given period.

• I would like to invest 30% of amount at one go (slightly higher % to large caps)
  • Remaining amount I would like to invest over a period of one year through SIP
  • I go hibernate for few years. It’s difficult in this noisy world and I may wake-up on extreme pessimism / optimism and hope to have the courage, apply the skills and re-balance the portfolio.

Here is the portfolio:

1. ITC
  2. HDFC Bank
  3. Page Industries
  4. Asian Paints
  5. Pidilite
  6. Balmer Lawrie
  7. Yes&IndusInd Bank
  8. Astral Poly
  9. Cera
  10. Amara raja / Bosch
  11. Ashiana Housing
  12. Hawkins
  13. Bata

I ignored many of these companies based on the PE previously. Had I bought them, I would have been extremely satisfied with the result now. Please share your views. Thanks.

hi R Reddy,