Learn to identify stock for beginners

I am a beginner to value investing and had been a avid reader of Valuepickr forums. I want to learn from Seniors on how to identify a lead and do further investigation of stocks. What confuses me is the sheer number of industries and numerous stock each industry has…Gone through arbitrary stocks without much learning or value addition. A start guidance from seniors from guide me and many newbies like me.

Thanks in advance,

3 Likes

start with the industry you are most familar with…i am in construction so i follow infra companies and related stocks like, cement, paints, tiles, wires ETC.

1 Like

first Rule is don’t loose your money. So if the odds of loosing your money is high don’t even consider that stock.

Separate your research in 3 parts:

• Fundamentals of the company
  • Valuations of the company
  • Current trend (includes news flow)

Fundamentals of the company

Find companies with consistent revenue growth and consistent net profit growth. Make sure that profit margins are now low. Stay away from companies that have made a loss even in 1 qtr. Stay away from companies that are paying too much interest at finance cost.

If a profit loss statement confuses you then find one with a cleaner PL statement.

Valuations of the company

Simplest thing to check is the company’s PE is less than or near its peers in the sector. Check if the company has a good dividend yield record wit DY greater than 1%.

Current trend (includes news flow)

Check for news about a company. Make sure there is no negative news flow. Check if the sector is having a positive news flow. See what kind of price move a company has made recently. Check if the company trading above or below its 30 or 50 DMA.

These are some basic things anyone can quickly check for a given company. Thing is you might have to do this for many many companies for find your favorite one. Just keep digging … one company at a time.

3 Likes