Kamdhenu Limited

So I hold this company in my portfolio, and was also writing a report on it. No better way to start my first post on this forum I guess. I saw a post on it when it was demerging its paints business, but nothing more on the remaining business in the listed company, so here goes.

Kamdhenu Limited is a Delhi NCR based manufacturer of long steel products and construction material. They have been in this business for more than 30 years now. They manufacture Thermo-Mechanically-Treated (TMT) Bars, Structural Steel products (like Angles, Channels, Beams, Flats, Round/Square/Rectangle Pipes) and Color-coated sheets. These are typical products that go into construction. Majority of the business for the company comes from TMT bars only. Company is promoted by brothers Satish and Sunil Kumar Agarwal - with promoter group holding about 49% stake in it.

Now why i like the business (Disc. I am invested in this co.) is because the promoters managed to create a branded, franchisee business out of a pure play commodity business. Since 2004, they have been onboarding independent TMT bar manufacturers as Franchisee Partners, who then manufacture goods under “Kamdhenu” brand name and sell using Kamdhenu’s dealer network. For all this, Kamdhenu in turns receives a royalty based on tonnage of material sold.

Franchisees are happy as they get better capacity utilization and more demand by leverage Kamdhenu brand name and dealer network. Co. also claims that they get a better realization by selling under their brand name. Kamdhenu Limited is happy because it gets to keep the Royalty income, which is pure fee income, with no associated investment in capex/working capital!

Look at the growing royalty income as %age of sales:

Particulars – INR Crs FY19 FY20 FY21 FY22 FY23 FY24 FY25 CAGR
Royalty Income 86 97 88 93 114 129 139 8.3%
Royatly income/Total Steel business revenue 9.0% 13.2% 20.7% 15.4% 15.6% 17.8% 18.6%

Overall, the co. claims ~3.5mn MTPA qty of TMT bars sold through this method by the 80+ franchisee partners under Kamdhenu brand name. Co. has a share of ~20% in the small residential TMT bar market (as per co.)

The effect of this unique business model is that the business is capex light, WC light, high ROE and has been throwing out cash.

A few caveats though. Management recently went in for equity issuance (through convertible warrants) to raise ~97 crs (of this, 45 crs already raised upto FY25). Now the company is already sitting on a cash+investment pile of ~206 crs as of FY25 (i.e. ~161 crs pre-fund raise), so it didnt really need to dilute at this stage. More so, when its business doesnt require any major investments. So this is kind of a puzzler for me :thinking:. In the past co. had tried entering into other businesses related to construction (including the Paints business, which got demerged into Kamdhenu Ventures) so i hope they are not planning anything new again. But let’s see.

Also, there had been some aggressive accounting tactics in 2020 leading to Qualified Opinion by auditors (basically booked income from insurance claim of 42 crs pending approval from insurance co., and reported lower expense on ESOPs of ~8 crs - thereby inflated 2020 profit by 50 crs).

Despite the same, there have been no overt leakage of cash, or loans/advances to fund any other related party businesses. And i like the business model, which is a slow and steady compounder as you can see from growth in Royalty income.

Would love to hear any thoughts from other members, and if someone else has studied this business.

REG NEW TOPIC CREATION
Please read forum guidelines properly before initiating a thread.
https://forum.valuepickr.com/faq

To nurture a vibrant community ValuePickr does not restrict anyone from starting a thread on a stock of his/her choice. Only Caveat is if you are going to introduce a discussion on a stock, we expect you to do your homework and start the thread with some basic info-set, and 1st level analysis such as growth drivers, a few positives & negatives, immediate triggers if any, and enumerate some RISKS. Nothing very heavy is required, but enough to set the tone for 2nd level of discussions.

ValuePickr Forum is visited today both by novices and wannabe stock pickers, as well as very sophisticated investors. Some of us have made the transition from novices, to learners, to stock pickers to now being reasonable capital allocators. To know the difference visit [Capital Allocation thread] (https://forum.valuepickr.com/t/initiating-a-new-stock-idea-discussion-thread). Its our dream to create a natural vibrant eco-system of learners, individual investors, industry professionals and Institutional investors in a…

Thread initiators are usually alerted to edit their post, and make necessary changes before thread is opened up again. So you/colleague and look to edit the post in order to meet prescribed guidelines. We have the responsibility - especially the thread initiator (assumption is he/she is a savvy investor) - to cater to bringing everyone on same page - quickly - if you know what we mean.

As highlighted by Manish, let me add some more details about the company so people can have a more comprehensive discussion.

Co. details: Manufacturer of Long products (like TMT Bars/ Structural Steel) and Color Coated Sheets. Long products such as TMT bars are used in construction projects in foundations to provide re-inforcement to concrete, while color coated sheets can be used as roofing sheets in sheds/houses etc. Main product is TMT bar, which co. sells under its own brand name of “Kamdhenu saria”.

Own Manufacturing Capacity: Kamdhenu has own manufacturing capacity of 1.2 Lakh Metric Tonne at Bhiwadi, from where it does own manufacturing sales of ~610 crs annually. On this it earns gross margins of ~14-15% as it needs to buy raw material (steel billets) from primary steel producers, which crimps its own margin as compared to primary producers of TMT from iron ore itself.

Franchise Manufacturing: Here, the company appoints franchise partners (~80+ at last count) who are authorized to manufacture and sell “Kamdhenu” branded TMT bars under strict quality control. For this privelege, the company charges these partners a royalty of ~400-450 Rs per tonne of material sold (final price of TMT bar would be currently 52-53,000 Rs per tonne. Now this is what I alluded to in my original post, that the royalty income from this segment has now grown to almost 19% of sales. With this arrangement, all capex is offloaded onto the balance sheet of franchisees (~100-140 crs capex needed to set up 2Lakh MTPA TMT bar plant). Co. has been able to sell almost 35 Lakh MTPA bars (or ~22,000 Crs) under “Kamdhenu” brand under this model. The nominal sale amount is booked as income by the franchisee, while Kamdhenu only books royalty income on its P&L. Now this is pure fee income, so it accrues directly to the bottomline.

It sells all of these products through its own distribution network of more than 10,000 dealers and 250 distributors across India.

Financials: Its financials look something like this:

Notice the bump up in Gross margins upto 30% in FY25, just due to the royalty income.

Overall, even though the co. needs to spend almost 20% of topline on employee costs, sales, marketing and distribution etc. it still comes out with 7-8% PAT margins.

Now here is the cool part - as it has already offloaded capex requirements onto the Franchise partners, its own balance sheet is not burdened by any major fixed assets or WC requirement:

Investment in Fixed assets plus money stuck in Working Capital is only 21% of total balance sheet size, which is kinda cool for a co. in manufacturing sector.

All of this translates into a high ROE and ROCE that i was talking about:
Picture5

So there you go.
Positives: All the above that I mentioned.
Negatives: Competitive intensity in the segment. Kamdhenu targets the residential construction segment in Tier-2/3 cities, where it is able to leverage its brand name, as after all saria to saria hi hota hai . It faces competition from other celebrity endorsed brands such as SEL Tiger (Salman Khan), Gallant Ispat (Ajay Devgn), Rungta Steel (Ranbir-Alia-Shahrukh!!). It has admittedly lost some market share as per its own confession, down from 27-28% 4-5 yrs back to ~20% now.
Immediate Triggers: I dont know. Seems like a decent cash generating business to me, with the promoters having nurtured it over past 2 decades plus. Should continue to be on auto-pilot is my hope.
Risks: Hyper activity by management! While attempts to diversify are welcome, temptation to enter into value destructive segments seems top seductive even for the most conservative of us. Now the company is sitting on a neat cash pile of almost 200 crs cash:
Picture6
They are also awaiting conversion of warrants (issued in FY24) from which additional 52 crs to be realized this year. What they want to do with all that cash is beyond me! More so when the co. will also generate another 40-50 crs cash this year.

So that’s all the details about the co. from my side. Hope this suffices for now.