Kalyan Kapse Portfolio

Hi All,

I am new to valuepickr but tracking since last year. This is my first post. I want to share my portfolio here

Bank of Baroda
Panjab National Bank
Muthut finiance
Indraprastha Gas
Wockhardt
Jagran Prakashan

Like to here from you guys. Any changes required?

Kalyan Kapse

Hello Kalyan,

It would be more helpful if you can share the % of allocation to each stock, your investment thesis for each stock and buying price for each stock.

Get some solid names like hdfc bank gruh finance cadila finance pi industries. remove pnb Wockardt muthut.

1 Like

PSU banks are a tricky lot. One doesnt know how much write off and bad news are going to keep coming in them.

I think you can do better by incorporating some better quality stocks.

1 Like

@kalyankapse @hitesh2710 Agree with Hitesh! the quality of the portfolio could improve

a. Valuations for a lot of good companies are expensive now so be careful if you decide to add them
b. PSU banks have huge capital infusions staring at them and also NPA’s on their balance sheet. Would advise looking carefully before investing (read this http://getpocket.com/redirect?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.moneycontrol.com%2Fnews%2Fbusiness%2Funited-bank-tops-listhighest-bad-loans-among-psu-lenders_1688421.html)

Hope that helps

Balaji

Thanks for your input. Here is my conviction about PSU about why it is part of my portfolio

Bank of Baroda

Major focus on Maharashtra,Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh.
Strong fee based income compared other peers in PSU Banks
NPA is among the best in PSU banks.
Clearly focused in its strategy of increasing the quality of its asset and not focusing on asset growth
With the current performance it will take at least 5 years to decrease their Gross NPAs back to 1.4% levels
Next 2-3 quarters will have weak earnings due to bad assets and this provides opportunity

Dear All,
Based on the valuable inputs i have modified my portfolio as below

Kalyan

@kalyankapse